We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff, breakfast and ski valet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumiere Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lumiere Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lumiere Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off summer, but hurry
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Telluride
Bermuda
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super staff, breakfast and ski valet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Thanks to Bas and the rest of the staff for top notch service and really making our stay enjoyable. We stayed for a week over the very busy New Years holiday period.

Things we liked best about Lumiere: very helpful and attentive staff; clean room with nice bathroom; The Little Bar for breakfast and sushi; just a few steps to the slopes where you can ski down to the lift; in the end its about skiing and the ski valet rocks.

Not so great: for couples be prepared to be surrounded by children and and a few bed-headed, pyjama clad parents at breakfast; while the larger rooms are spectacular the smallest rooms are small and dark.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    11
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
49
97
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

First, we want to thank all the staff at Hotel Lumiere, they were wonderful. Every member of staff was genuinely friendly and overly accomodating. Special thanks for setting up Thanksgiving dinner in our room. Also the breakfasts were wonderful and the chef's enthusiasm perked us up as much as the coffee.

The room was great, felt like home. The hotel only has a few rooms which makes it feel more personal.

While in Telluride, we also ate a few resturants and would highly recommend Siam for Thai (great, large menu), and Bloody Mary's at Floradora where the best we have had outside of New Orleans (our original home).

Finally, would like to thank everyone at Telluride ski school. Our daughter age 6, had two great days of instruction from Janet. My wife also had two days from Bill Davis. They were the best !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visited for 3 very enjoyable off-season nights, and accommodations and staff were all superb -- GM Clare, Asst Mgr Bas, Laina, Kristina, Brittany, Emily and Jose all professional, attentive, friendly and (so important for us) completely unpretentious. Housekeepers also personable and efficient, regretfully didn't get their names as we bypassed some of our daily maid service in favor of relaxing in our room.

I'm sure we benefitted from some additional attention given few guests in-house during our mid-week dates, and at first we tippy-toed around a bit so staff didn't feel compelled to jump up for us everytime we rounded a corner. But we quickly overcame that and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful common spaces the hotel offers, such as the cozy Little Bar and colorful patio and hot tub areas. The Little Bar had just closed for shoulder season the day prior to our arrival, so no chance to try their famous sushi, we'll have to come a little earlier next year. :-)

Great stay in lovely surroundings, with a great location close to the gondolas down to Telluride proper (best way to get around in 50 states!)

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: 46 if you can swing it, corner suite with one full balcony and one Juliet balcony = two times the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great Sushi with great service. We did not stay at the hotel, but we may consider the next time we are in town. Awesome location in Mountain Village and a very professional staff. Great outdoor seating and the hotel is as cozy as it gets without loosing charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have made several trips to Telluride; this was our first visit to Lumiere and what a fantastic experience! We were fortunate to arrive at Aspen peak and a fresh fall of snow capping the San Juans', and our top shelf one-bedroom residence provided an incomparable view of one of natures most beautiful displays. To add to this we were blessed with the most accommodating staff and warm, cozy surroundings making our one week stay a truly special life experience.

My life's profession required extensive travel and exposure to countless stays away from home both for business and for pleasure so it is no light matter for me to rate the Lumiere as one of the top hotels in this part of the world. Special kudos to Clare, the General Manager and her staff, Brittni, Shiana, Hali, Bas, Christine and Jose for going above and beyond to ensure our every need was met.

Don,t miss this opportunity if you plan to visit Telluride.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have stayed in the Lumiere (as well as several other Hotels in Telluride. There is no better choice. The rooms are fabulous (opt for the one bedroom) and the service is outstanding. Take the gondola to town if you must or better yet, walk down boomerang trail. Even the food in the little bar is better than most places in Telluride.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We have been to the Lumiere several times over the last four years - winter, summer & fall - and have always enjoyed our stays. The staff (Clare, Leyna, Christine and the others) are friendly and very attentive to making sure you have what you need to have a great stay. This year we brought our dog and could 't have been happier with phe staff helping us out, Leyna even watched him while we went to dinner one night, Great place to hang out while in Telluride, Dal & Maggie L.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lumiere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumiere Hotel

Address: 118 Lost Creek Lane, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#2 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#3 Family Hotel in Telluride
#6 Business Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lumiere Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lumiere offers chic slope side lodging entirely pet friendly in the heart of Mountain Village Telluride, with ski-in/ski-out access and a full suite of services and amenities. Accommodations range from guest hotel rooms to four bedroom residences and five bedroom penthouses that are consistently designer furnished to the highest standards with hardwood hickory floors, hand-blown glass fixtures, and original artwork. All accommodations are well appointed with seven layer beds, Egyptian cotton linens, plush bathrobes and slippers. Each guest hotel room offers a large, luxury bathroom, flat panel television, mini Subzero Refrigerator, microwave and sink. All one-bedroom and larger residences and penthouses feature gourmet kitchens with Wolf and Subzero appliances, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, flat panel televisions, and oversized luxury baths with separate steam shower and tub. The little bar at lumiere offers the perfect place to unwind with signature cocktails and freshly prepared tapas and sushi. A Hot tub and soaking pools line the patio of the Little Bar, perfect for star gazing and taking in the alpenglow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Lumiere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumiere Hotel Telluride

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumiere Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.