We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devils Thumb Ranch Rocks!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Aspen, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Devils Thumb Ranch Rocks!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our family stay was incredible!! We had our three girls (and each had a friend with them) - needless to say we were a big, unwieldy group. The DTR team gracefully accommodated all our needs, including a wonderful stay at the Blue Sky Cabin. Every meal at hechts was fantastic, service was top shelf, and the nordic & fitness facilities are second to none. A special shout out of deep gratitude to the sales group led by Julie Branstrom!

This stay was a true memory maker for our family - and we most definitely will return soon.

Top rating to the team at DTR - many, many thanks for a wonderful experience. We highly recommend DTR Ranch & Spa!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    54
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
137
147
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I've been a regular visitor to Devils Thumb resort over the past 10 years and always loved visiting in the winter for Nordic skiing activity. I recently went up for a night and was curious to see the new expansion to the hotel.
When booking no one told me that skiing was out for half of Saturday due to a ski race. Only after checking in were we told this by another guest in the bar. So I was paying $400 a night for a venue that closed the ski trails for half of the day I was planning to ski. After complaining to management they gave me a $150 discount. I had to go ski at snow mt ranch the next morning, so I wasn't too happy with the situation.

As for the new expansion. Well I must say I feel like the resort has lost its soul. It feels more like just another major resort with tons of rooms, elevators and maps to enable one to find the distant rooms. The new rooms are luxurious and well decorated, but getting to our room was a chore and navigation challenge at first. The construction was not even complete on the building and parking between dumpsters was a challenge.

Growth can be good, but in the case of Devils Thumb, something has been lost in the expansion and for me personally it has sold its soul to the Devil. Try snow mountain ranch for a more tranquil and genuine CO ski experience.


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
via98, General Manager at Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We regret that your recent experience at Devil’s Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa was disappointing. Although our guests received an email letting them know that our trails would be closed for half of the day and that trail passes would be half price, we realize that electronic communication is not always received. I personally apologize that you were not informed at the time of reservation. The temporary closing of our trails was a change that occurred only a few days prior when registration numbers for the Stagecoach Classic race to Winter Park were growing rapidly and we became concerned about our lodging guests’ safety on the trails. Now that construction is complete I hope you’ll visit the Ranch again at a time without an event happening. I believe you’ll find the peaceful respite you’ve appreciated for the past decade still exists on our 6000 acres and 150km of groomed trails. I look forward to welcoming you if you do.

Sincerely,
Sean Damery
VP/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My stay was amazing. Attended a meeting for two nights three days not long enough. The lodge was first class. The main restaurant Hecks, was great, food and beverages options were superior. The rooms above what I expected, staff was knowledgeable, pleasant, and professional. The more fine dining The Ranch House, was very nice sat at the bar and enjoyed that menu and the bar menu. The bartender Topher was very knowledgeable and creative. The architecture has a rich history too much to go into here. The layout was perfect, the amenities oh boy so many, over 80 miles of cross country skiing, two ski areas nearby, great game room, there's more, tired of typing.
You must go.

Room Tip: Some have fire places, good options
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Waxwing with fresh snow on the trees was one of the top 5 trails we've skied in 30 years of skiing. The grooming was top notch and they had it almost perfect by 9am after fresh snow. We didn't ski all 110 Ks in 2 days, but gave it our best shot. The overall experience is excellent. The only complaint was the service in Heck's Restaurant: the host was either clueless or thought we were blind when she told us we would have to wait for a table to be cleared when we counted no fewer than 12 empty tables. Restaurant prices a bit steep, but not unexpected.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Devil's Thumb is one of my favourite places to stay in Colorado. I grew up in Colorado but now live in London and make a point of trying to visit this resort whenever I visit home. It is the perfect balance between 5 star luxury and Colorado relaxation. The rooms, lobby, and general decor around the facilities are stunning. There is so much to do that you'll wish you had booked to stay longer. And to top it off, I felt 100% comfortable hanging out in Hex's restaurant in my favourite heels or in my ski-gear. The staff cater for everything you could wish for without feeling pretentious. This resort is truly a Colorado hidden gem that I plan to visit whenever I'm home.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the facilities of the resort, stay in the lodge. If you want seclusion, book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Definitely a first class resort.The lodge rooms are truly a wonderful experience, you won't want to leave, with down comforters and fireplaces and warmed bathroom floors for those cold mornings. The x country skiing is unbelievable, but they need to have a more flexible ski pass for their guests. To pay $20 for an hour of skiing is ridiculous. The Heck restaurant 's food is exceptional with a gorgeous setting, but beware when this place gets busy, it is a server's nightmare. The issue is one bar and a full restaurant and full bar seating equals disaster when busy. They need to have another bar or one upstairs for when this place gets packed. The hosts were pretty useless. Also beware of the coffee shop, check your drinks, they forgot to put chocolate in our hot chocolates 4 times.

Room Tip: Get a room not by hallway that goes to the game room if you want more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our children invited us to spend our 50th wedding anniversary at the Devil's Thumb Ranch. We have a place in the Winter Park area but to spend our anniversary in luxury was a real treat. There were 15 of us for dinner that night and Devil's Thumb went all out to make it an extra special dining experience and a very special weekend. We love this place... In the winter it is the best Xcountry skiing in Colorado and in the summer it is full of fun and mountain activities.

Room Tip: Room with a mountain view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa

Address: 3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Tabernash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tabernash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devil’s Thumb Ranch is an environmentally friendly year-round Ranch resort and spa offering rustically upscale accommodations, fine dining and an array of winter and summer outdoor and wilderness recreation activities including Nordic skiing, flyfishing and horseback riding. Located in the Colorado Rocky Mountains, 65 miles west of Denver, 10 minutes from Winter Park. Our Ranch encompasses 6000 acres at the foot of the Continental Divide in the beautiful Ranch Creek Valley of Grand County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devil`s Thumb Ranch Hotel Tabernash

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.