We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Colorado Mountain Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“True Colorado Mountain Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My stay was amazing. Attended a meeting for two nights three days not long enough. The lodge was first class. The main restaurant Hecks, was great, food and beverages options were superior. The rooms above what I expected, staff was knowledgeable, pleasant, and professional. The more fine dining The Ranch House, was very nice sat at the bar and enjoyed that menu and the bar menu. The bartender Topher was very knowledgeable and creative. The architecture has a rich history too much to go into here. The layout was perfect, the amenities oh boy so many, over 80 miles of cross country skiing, two ski areas nearby, great game room, there's more, tired of typing.
You must go.

Room Tip: Some have fire places, good options
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    45
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
125
139
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Waxwing with fresh snow on the trees was one of the top 5 trails we've skied in 30 years of skiing. The grooming was top notch and they had it almost perfect by 9am after fresh snow. We didn't ski all 110 Ks in 2 days, but gave it our best shot. The overall experience is excellent. The only complaint was the service in Heck's Restaurant: the host was either clueless or thought we were blind when she told us we would have to wait for a table to be cleared when we counted no fewer than 12 empty tables. Restaurant prices a bit steep, but not unexpected.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Devil's Thumb is one of my favourite places to stay in Colorado. I grew up in Colorado but now live in London and make a point of trying to visit this resort whenever I visit home. It is the perfect balance between 5 star luxury and Colorado relaxation. The rooms, lobby, and general decor around the facilities are stunning. There is so much to do that you'll wish you had booked to stay longer. And to top it off, I felt 100% comfortable hanging out in Hex's restaurant in my favourite heels or in my ski-gear. The staff cater for everything you could wish for without feeling pretentious. This resort is truly a Colorado hidden gem that I plan to visit whenever I'm home.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the facilities of the resort, stay in the lodge. If you want seclusion, book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Definitely a first class resort.The lodge rooms are truly a wonderful experience, you won't want to leave, with down comforters and fireplaces and warmed bathroom floors for those cold mornings. The x country skiing is unbelievable, but they need to have a more flexible ski pass for their guests. To pay $20 for an hour of skiing is ridiculous. The Heck restaurant 's food is exceptional with a gorgeous setting, but beware when this place gets busy, it is a server's nightmare. The issue is one bar and a full restaurant and full bar seating equals disaster when busy. They need to have another bar or one upstairs for when this place gets packed. The hosts were pretty useless. Also beware of the coffee shop, check your drinks, they forgot to put chocolate in our hot chocolates 4 times.

Room Tip: Get a room not by hallway that goes to the game room if you want more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our children invited us to spend our 50th wedding anniversary at the Devil's Thumb Ranch. We have a place in the Winter Park area but to spend our anniversary in luxury was a real treat. There were 15 of us for dinner that night and Devil's Thumb went all out to make it an extra special dining experience and a very special weekend. We love this place... In the winter it is the best Xcountry skiing in Colorado and in the summer it is full of fun and mountain activities.

Room Tip: Room with a mountain view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Had a great long weekend at DTR. The place is really just a slice of heaven. Everything is perfect from the food to the service and the views. We cross country skied, spent time in the jacuzzi, sat by the fire, and even played a little pool. Fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at DTR two weeks ago and highly recommend this place! It's a beautiful resort outside of Fraser that is great for a weekend away.

The wine and cheese hour was a pleasant surprise at check-in and there are also great hh specials. There are two restaurants with a third place being constructed. Make sure to grab a Irish coffee or another spiked warm drink before taking advantage of the Xc-skiing.

The ski-shop is also top notch, I didn't bring the right jacket so I was glad they had a good selection of Patagonia and marmot to choose from and the staff was very knowledgeable.

*There is practically no AT&T/t-mobile service on the resort so you will need to rely on wi-fi during your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort

Address: 3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Tabernash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Tabernash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devil’s Thumb Ranch is an environmentally friendly year-round Ranch resort and spa offering rustically upscale accommodations, fine dining and an array of winter and summer outdoor and wilderness recreation activities including Nordic skiing, flyfishing and horseback riding. Located in the Colorado Rocky Mountains, 65 miles west of Denver, 10 minutes from Winter Park. Our Ranch encompasses 6000 acres at the foot of the Continental Divide in the beautiful Ranch Creek Valley of Grand County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and getaroom.com so you can book your Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devil`s Thumb Ranch Hotel Tabernash

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.