We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice ranch-resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
544 reviews 544 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
“Very nice ranch-resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Gorgeous property. Impressed with front desk staff (Molly) and Hecks killer breakfast. Cassidy was our great server. Little things are done well here. Coffee is Lavazza! Horses, hiking, spa, gym. Nothing was forgotten. I was scouting cabins for a larger group and was disappointed in tiny 3 ft refrigerators and no grilling allowed. I live in Marriotts and Ruths Chris all year so on vacation i dont want to eat out every meal. Having said that, the cabins were among the best ever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    58
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
151
161
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife last month for my birthday. The staff were so kind during our entire stay and made us feel so special! The entire property is so beautiful and we managed to get a great tour of some of it by going on a horseback ride! I highly recommend eating on the property as there really wasn't much choice in town. Besides, Heck's Restraunt was amazing!!! Some of the best food I have ever had! All in all, this property is great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a wonderful place. My husband and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here. The staff was fantastic and the place was beyond wonderful. We had a lovely fireplace room with a nice sitting area. Our lovely balcony overlooked the field and we could see the "devil's thumb" to our right. The bathroom is one of those places you want to stay in for a long time, big huge soaking tub (looks like it's right out of a Western movie scene) with a shower that is very large. The shower is made out of river rocks so you get a bit of a foot massage while taking a shower. We had a very nice King size bed, very very comfortable. We stayed for a blissful 4 days and 3 nights. The pool area and hot tub were very welcome after hiking or fishing during the day. We did not check out the stable area, but I have heard from others that it was terrific. We did take a 2 hour fly fishing lesson and Kevin was very fun and knowledgeable, we did not catch any fish, but it was great to be on the pond.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our family recently enjoyed an amazing week at Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort to celebrate my parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary and we all highly recommend the cabins. We rented 4 cabins between us and were delighted with the unique charm and character that greeted us with each. The service, amenities, housekeeping, food and views were outstanding. We enjoyed horseback riding, zip lining, hiking, yoga, swimming, hot tubbin', the game room and exceptional meals together. Then back to the clean and cozy cabins at night for healthy euchre competitions. Devil's Thumb Ranch brings together the ideal blend of rustic Colorado charm with the exceptional amenities you'd expect for the perfect resort vacation. We can't wait to stay there again to enjoy a family wedding in 2 weeks!

Room Tip: Definitely take advantage of the cabins for the perfect family resort getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I can't begin to explain my amazing experience at Devil's Thumb Ranch. Driving into the ranch set the scene for a wonderful weekend.Upon arriving at the Lodge we were greeted and treated with the utmost friendliness. After being checked in and going to our cabin we decided to check out Heck's restaurant for happy hour. The mussels and calamari were divine and the house wine was a great deal. We were even visited by the food and beverage manager to make sure we had everything we needed.
The cabin we stayed in was well appointed and incredibly clean. We contacted housekeeping for additional towels and glasses and they were brought promptly and with a smile. They made sure we had everything we needed.
As usual with any vacation you never want to leave but we have already made another reservation to stay again. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We recently returned from a week-long stay at Devil’s Thumb Ranch, and had a fantastic time. There was plenty to do for our 3 kids (ranging from 4th grade to high school), and the setting is so beautiful. We particularly enjoyed our family horseback ride, led by a really friendly and informative guide (but whose name I forgot!). Staying in a cabin worked out very well, since we had lots of room to spread out and a great area to get together for games, etc. with my siblings who were in other cabins. The housekeeping staff was friendly and attentive, and were very good about working around the fair amount of clutter we had in the cabin. We’re looking forward to returning there again soon!

Room Tip: We had 7 in our group (my family of 5 and my parents), so we stayed in the very roomy Caroga large c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivet, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I brought my daughter's and sister here for a surprise birthday present for my daughter. We stayed in one if the cabins and it was great. The staff knew it was my daughter's surprise birthday and housekeeping made sure our flower/balloon arrangement was in the room. This was our second time staying in the cabins.
The cabins were cleaned daily and when we asked for additional towels they were delivered with a smile.
As we walked through the facility we were greeted by staff and asked if we needed help. The gentleman at the store was very helpful.
We've had great meals and I make a point when I'm in Colorado to eat at the Ranch-house restaurant.
Rave reviews as all was cleanly, friendly,and good food. Will definitely go again. .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa

Address: 3530 County Road 83, Tabernash, CO 80478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Tabernash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tabernash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devil’s Thumb Ranch is an environmentally friendly year-round Ranch resort and spa offering rustically upscale accommodations, fine dining and an array of winter and summer outdoor and wilderness recreation activities including Nordic skiing, flyfishing and horseback riding. Located in the Colorado Rocky Mountains, 65 miles west of Denver, 10 minutes from Winter Park. Our Ranch encompasses 6000 acres at the foot of the Continental Divide in the beautiful Ranch Creek Valley of Grand County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devil`s Thumb Ranch Hotel Tabernash

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Thumb Ranch Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.