We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful room but not really accessible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Golden Prairie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Golden Prairie to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Golden Prairie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Colorado Ave., Stratton, CO 80836 (Formerly Golden Prairie Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratton
New Bern, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“delightful room but not really accessible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Room looks newly updated with carpet and paint and furniture. I had a terrible problem because the toilet was very low and none of the grab bars were in a position to be of help. I have weakness in my legs and I'm not sure that any grab bars could have helped. My husband had to help me up every time. For the room to be truly accessible, either install a taller toilet or have available an extension seat.

Loved having the restaurant in the parking lot so we didn't drive for supper or breakfast. Breakfast was free.

We appreciated a nice place to travel with our dog. We enjoyed conversations with the locals in the restaurant,

Room Tip: Our room was excellent except for the low toilet. Second floor rooms are accessed by inside steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was traveling east on I-70 and because of a dust storm I pulled over in a town I'd never heard of and didn't know if I was in Colorado or Kansas. I just had to get out of danger and I was tired. The Rodeway Inn was the first thing I saw and it looked pleasant from the outside so I decided to give it a try. The woman at the desk looked like she may have been the owner but was very friendly and efficient. I opened the door to my room and may have said out loud, "Oh, this is nice."
The room was large and nicely designed with two club chairs, an attractive king sized bed, console with mirror and a separate desk with executive chair. It felt inviting and cozy. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was the best I'd had at a motel. It was in a connected restaurant and there was an omelette station making omelettes with your own choice of filling and they were excellent! I'm so glad I found this place and would return in a minute!
This was very budget friendly as well. The only downside was that not all of the television stations were working and the tv was not updated to flat screen but these are minor concerns.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

From the exterior this is an old style motel but the room was updated and was clean and comfortable. The restaurant adjoining the inn was surprisingly adequate for dinner and the complimentary breakfast offered freshly made omelets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Staff is very professional and pleasant. The room was clean, bed very comfortable, there's a restaurant on site that has a great complementary breakfast and serves dinner. Which is great for a one horse town. If you like wine take a walk to the Claremont Inn. The make their own wine and have tastings. I left with 6 bottles.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a former Best Western. Our room was nicely updated with a fridge and microwave. Internet was excellent. It is well away from I 70 and quiet. We ate at the adjoining restaurant which is the only choice. Service was good. I got the last order of meat loaf which was dry. My buddy got a chicken fried steak, which was so large he shared it with me. Next morning we had an excellent complimentary breakfast--omelet and waffle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were late night. Had just come from previous exit in Burlington all except very low end was booked. Next exitup from burlington called Stanton. Great clean and nice room. Comfortable beds Internet access great. One of the best free handmade breakfast I have had. Ill stay here again. Give it excellant rating.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our stay was on July 3, 2013. The office staff was very accommodating with our late arrival. (I did call ahead and advised it would be late.) The room was probably the largest motel room I have ever stayed in. Very clean. The breakfast with the fresh made omelets was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Golden Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Golden Prairie

Address: 700 Colorado Ave., Stratton, CO 80836 (Formerly Golden Prairie Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Stratton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Golden Prairie 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive, you'll enjoy our hometown hospitality. With Denver and Mountain recreation only a short drive away, guests of the Colorado Rodeway Inn Golden Prairie enjoy beautifully appointed guest rooms with remote-controlled satellite television.For casual dining, our Coffee Shop opens at 6:00 a.m. everyday, featuring breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Enjoy dinner in our main dining room, or sit by the fire in our cozy Southwest Room. Guest laundry facilities are available, as well as a snack shop in the lobby.Free hot breakfast, kids stay free, pet friendly, and designated smoking rooms are available. Outdoor pool is available to all guests. The property has easy access guest rooms, along with king/queen style rooms. Adjoining double queen rooms are also available.Located across the street from the Claremont Inn & Winery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Golden Prairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Golden Prairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.