We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sundowner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sundowner to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sundowner
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Overland Trail Street, Route 1, Sterling, CO 80751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toledo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Driving through from Wyoming on our way home. Was lucky to take the last room available. A bit pricey but Hotel is well maintained, like new. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Very clean. Wished we could have stayed and enjoyed the amenities. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We understand how important it is to offer great customer service and clean, updated rooms. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    74
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
80
53
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

There is a large correctional facility just a mile from this hotel. The hotel is fine, they work hard to create a comfortable environment, but the design of the building is the problem. The rooms either face the parking lot or the back of other rooms that open to patio seating, so that you hear every word the other guests say while they sit outside their rooms and drink beer. Nice...not.

There is nothing is Sterling...it's in the middle of nowhere, existing only perhaps to support the correctional facility. At a nearby restaurant, the patrons talked loudly and used profanity throughout their conversations.

If you are heading west, I suggest driving a little farther to be closer to Denver. Don't stop in Sterling unless you are falling asleep at the wheel or visiting someone in the prison.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasant one. Many of our first floor rooms offer both interior and exterior access for convenience to the parking lot and outdoor pool. I apologize that this caused noise issues during your stay. While Sterling may not have as much as larger cities such as Denver, there is a variety of dining options ranging from a small town café with home-style cooking to restaurants that give you the feel of fine dining. If you are ever in this area again, I hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations and show you what Sterling can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

For people traveling with pets, this hotel offers a park-like setting for dog walking and for their owners a quiet location near the interstate. While we were there, the desk clerks called the guest rooms to warn of an approaching tornado and advised of the safest area to take shelter inside the building. On the other hand, they were unable to provide driving directions to a nearby town.
But based on two stays here with our dog, this hotel qualifies as a comfortable haven worth coming back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I understand that traveling with a pet opens up different needs and concerns. We want to make sure that you, our guest, as well as your best friend enjoy the experience! We hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were in town to attend friends' 60th Wedding Anniversary. The motel was clean, the staff were friendly, and the room was very comfortable. The two door interior/exterior access was very convenient. Would be quite good for the winter season in avoiding having to go outside to get to the pool or the breakfast room. Would definitely recommend for a stay in Sterling, Colorado.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you had a great time at the wedding anniversary that you attended. The inside and outside access is very convenient and most of our ground floor rooms have this feature. Be sure to ask for this feature on your next visit and we will do our very best to make sure you are in a similar room. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarcoxie, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This motel is very clean. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room had 1 entrance from an inside hall and another through sliding glass doors outside to where we parked the car. It made i very easy to unload our suitcases. The breakfast was good and we enjoyed the cheese omelets. They had free cookies in the evening along with coffee, tea and hot chocolate packages. Very quiet area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad you found our hotel convenient and friendly. A quiet stay for the night and a great breakfast in the morning is what we offer to all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, Usa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last month. This place has it together. You can feel the sense of pride and ownership the management has. I will be back. The pool is small, but just right for my you g kids. The 24 hour coffee was a great touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences. I am glad that we were able to provide you with two exceptional stays in the last month. We understand how important it is to have coffee 24 hours as everyone sleeps and wakes up at different times. I hope your kids enjoyed the pool, it will be waiting for them on your next trip out here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night without a reservation and were very pleased with our choice. The room was clean and we liked the exterior door as well as interior door arrangement. It made it very easy to unload the car and move into the room. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast was the usual motel fare. The most outstanding service was received when I left my phone in the room. I called and they already had the phone secured and were happy to arrange to overnight it to me.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad that we were able to accommodate you when you arrived late at night. We strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests. I was also very glad to know that you received your phone back safe and sound – it’s hard to be without your phone, even for a day! Thank you again for your wonderful comments, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sundowner

Address: 125 Overland Trail Street, Route 1, Sterling, CO 80751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Sterling
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sundowner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sundowner Hotel Sterling
Best Western Sterling
Sterling Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sundowner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.