We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Sundowner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Sundowner to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Sundowner
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Overland Trail Street, Route 1, Sterling, CO 80751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sarcoxie, Missouri
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very Good Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This motel is very clean. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room had 1 entrance from an inside hall and another through sliding glass doors outside to where we parked the car. It made i very easy to unload our suitcases. The breakfast was good and we enjoyed the cheese omelets. They had free cookies in the evening along with coffee, tea and hot chocolate packages. Very quiet area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad you found our hotel convenient and friendly. A quiet stay for the night and a great breakfast in the morning is what we offer to all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    74
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
80
53
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska, Usa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed here twice in the last month. This place has it together. You can feel the sense of pride and ownership the management has. I will be back. The pool is small, but just right for my you g kids. The 24 hour coffee was a great touch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences. I am glad that we were able to provide you with two exceptional stays in the last month. We understand how important it is to have coffee 24 hours as everyone sleeps and wakes up at different times. I hope your kids enjoyed the pool, it will be waiting for them on your next trip out here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night without a reservation and were very pleased with our choice. The room was clean and we liked the exterior door as well as interior door arrangement. It made it very easy to unload the car and move into the room. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast was the usual motel fare. The most outstanding service was received when I left my phone in the room. I called and they already had the phone secured and were happy to arrange to overnight it to me.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad that we were able to accommodate you when you arrived late at night. We strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests. I was also very glad to know that you received your phone back safe and sound – it’s hard to be without your phone, even for a day! Thank you again for your wonderful comments, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I usually stay in a Courtyard by Marriott's so this is the first Best Western I have stayed in many years. The room was spacious, cleans and nicely appointed. There is a full queue of satellite channels. The staff was friendly, helpful and ready to help. However, the breakfast was miserable. Eating at early at 630am, I have never seen scrambled egg patties which were tasteless and rubbery. I wasn't sure if there was egg in the patties or just yellow dye. The watered down orange juice, mushy potatoes, and tasteless half sausage patties completed the hot breakfast. Very disappointing. The hotel did offer many cold alternatives plus toasts, bagels, and cereals. Unfortunately, my appetite could go no further after the above. My recommendation, stay at the hotel but plan on breakfast elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Sundowner in Sterling, Colorado. Our first priority is to provide the best possible service and create a dependable environment where our guests can rely on our staff to go that extra mile. We strive to offer a great, hot breakfast to all of our guests and I sincerely apologize that this was not your experience. We hope you will give us another chance to exceed all of your expectations. Thank you for all of your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cloud, MN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We checked in late at night without a reservation, which was not a problem. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was very nicely furnished and was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the hot tub-the water temperature was perfect, and the jets were great. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was excellent! They had a wide variety of items available, including hot items. My boyfriend traveled to Sterling again in April with friends, and he made sure to bring them here to spend the night because of the great stay we had in December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad that we had a room for you when you arrived late at night. We welcome all travelers, with reservations or without, though reservations are recommended as we do often fill up. We appreciate your boyfriend coming back here and bringing his friends. I hope you come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Easy to find, right off the interstate. Nice and clean with a bonus small fridge. Wonderful breakfast selection. Just what we needed for a comfy one night stay to get back on the road again. However, found out Sterling has Uranium in the water and the hotel did not post anything about this. Also didn't realize they had a hot tub because it is in a separate area from the indoor pool--would have been nice to soak in from our travels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We take pride in providing a clean and comfortable hotel for our guests. We do have two water coolers with refreshing, cold Culligan water for everyone to enjoy. I apologize that we did not make you aware of our relaxing hot tub. We hope you will come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night of March 23rd. Front desk was very professional. Great clean pool for kids, large breakfast area and the room we were in had both outside access for loading/unloading and inside access for amenities. Clean rooms and a good selection of channels on the tv with local news and weather. Marking this one as one of my favorites.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundowner06108, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Sundowner, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to provide every traveler with a clean, convenient place to stay. Our clean pool is a great way for kids to unwind after a long day in the car. Come back and see us this summer when our outdoor pool is open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Sundowner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sundowner

Address: 125 Overland Trail Street, Route 1, Sterling, CO 80751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Sterling
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Sundowner 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sundowner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sundowner Hotel Sterling
Best Western Sterling
Sterling Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Sundowner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.