We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service, blah food,Would not go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rex's American Grill & Bar

Rex's American Grill & Bar
3190 South Lincoln Avenue, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-870-0438
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rex's American Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Walton Creek Rd.
Transit: The Steamboat Springs Free Bus stops right in front of Rex's. Get on the main line travel to the "la quinta" stop.
denver, co
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Slow service, blah food,Would not go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Referred by its sister property which was excellent. This place was mediocre overpriced food. Service was slow. Decor old hotel cafeteria. Apparently the bar outside was the local draw, definitely not the food. Disappointed, will not go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Rex's American Grill & Bar, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We're sorry to hear that you didn't care for Rex's as much as our sister restaurants. We take our reviews very seriously and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    85
    26
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food & Service Questionable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our group adults went here for an evening meal because it was relatively highly rated by tripadvisor. Three of us split a pizza, which was good. But another ordered a chicken salad, which was large and looked good, but the taste was "off". She ate a bite or two but couldn't stomach any more. She did not want to say anything to the waiter, even though we advised her to. The waiter, hostess, and manager all walked by our table and it was obvious (to us at least - and the waiter did for sure) that they noticed the still full plate while everyone else had finished theirs. None of them asked about it. She should have said something, but so should they. Otherwise, Rex's is a typical hotel bar/restaurant. When it's full it's noisy and the food is just average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Rex's American Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
So sorry to read this. Our servers are generally very attentive so I'm disappointed to read that they weren't in this case. Your feedback will be used to remind them all how important their job is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Located in the Holiday Inn. Nice outdoor seating area, plenty of umbrellas and view of the mountain. Prompt friendly service. Varied menu with ample portions. Great food, especially the Greench pizza. Just delicious and excellent crust. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Rex's American Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the review. So happy to read that you enjoyed the food... and the view!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent facility.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Rib eye steak the best! Service outstanding. Outdoor lounge excellent Really enjoyed ourselves. Food great

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Rex's American Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Awesome.... thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We had soup, but the pork green chili came with quesadillas and my tomato basil bisque came with good mini grilled cheese sandwiches. We finished sharing a yummy chocolate brownie sundae. All were well prepared and tasty! It is in a Holiday Inn and usually we avoid hotel restaurants, but this was recommended by the desk person at the next door hotel... So must be good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Rex's American Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We get that a lot. Most hotel restaurants aren't worth their salt but we strive to break that mold. Thanks for giving us a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rex's American Grill & Bar also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Rex's American Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rex's American Grill & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.