We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close To Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rabbit Ears Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rabbit Ears Motel to your Saves list
Rabbit Ears Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   201 Lincoln Ave., Steamboat Springs, CO 80477   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Dillon, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Close To Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The rooms are pretty basic but clean. The hotel is walking distance to popular restaurants and local bars plus many shops. The continental breakfast was great with good variety. The service was friendly and helpful. This hotel is definitely the choice for a budget-wise person/family that want to spend their money on doing things in the area!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    69
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
63
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manning, Iowa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The price is right, the room was clean, the location (to the downtown not the slopes) is very good, ergo, it depends on who you are or who you think you are. If you are in hurry and planning on only an afternoon in Steamboat do your wallet a favor and check out the Ears.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Pros
- Our room was clean and everything was in good condition.
- Great location on the edge of downtown across from the Old Town Hot Springs pool.
- Rooms on the back building have balconies/decks that face the Yampa River.
- The hotel sells pool passes that are significantly cheaper than even using a coupon across the street at the pool.
Cons
- Front desk staff was somewhat indifferent.
- Non-smoking in and around non-smoking rooms isn't enforced. We were in a non-smoking room and people near us smoked on their balconies and right outside their front doors, stinking up our room. Towels smelled like smoke, too, so I assume the cleaning people smoke.
Pro/Con
- The continental breakfast was very limited, but it's free.

I would've given the hotel a higher rating if the hotel staff was friendlier (to be fair, one lady at the front desk was really nice) and there hadn't been so many issues with cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the river, ask for a room in one of the two buildings along the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregkoe, General Manager at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We obviously weren't at our best in this situation. Our front desk staff is always helpful and friendly just maybe you caught us in an off moment. I am sorry we didn't do better for you. I wish we would have been informed of people smoking on the balcony as we could of mediated the situation for you. Towels and linen are done in a smoke free area.
Greg Koehler GM/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I loved this place! Thank you so much for the upgrade at no cost. Really made our stay that much better. Our California King was so comfy I couldn't keep my eyes open. Thank you for free samples at the front desk and all the information. We enjoyed our stay for the night.
One thing I do wish if we were able to have another hour to check out. Steamboat has a great nightlife and when you go out for a birthday celebration, you need to sleep it off so your energized for all the daytime activities. We asked if we could have an extra hour (noon) and we were rudely denied.
Love the location and were able to walk wherever we wanted in town. Having the trail and river put in right out the door was also pretty sweet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregkoe, General Manager at Rabbit Ears Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our property and in Steamboat. We try to make sure your stay is enjoyable and relaxing. I'm sorry we didn't do a later check out as we sometimes can do a later check out depending on the next day advance reservations. My front desk person sometimes gets several requests for late check outs and it is frustrating when we can't do a request.
Thanks for your business and comments.
Greg Koehler
GM/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Friendly small motel convenient to downtown Steamboat and right on the bike path. Free town bus right outside the front door. Large, clean rooms with patios. Free breakfast is adequate but not great. Overall a good value and location for Steamboat.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtngirlie
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was the most affordable place we could find the night before our triathlon, and for $144/night we definitely expected more than we got. The room was small and old. The bed was uncomfortable as well as the pillows. We weren't on the river, but the building attached to the lobby. The front desk lady was not friendly or helpful. We did have a microwave and mini-fridge, and close to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is located on the Yampa River just on the south side of town. Our room was right on the river with a balcony facing the river. FANTASTIC!. Two king size beds, two sleeping couches. Large flat screen TV, mico wave, fridge, coffee pot. Nice A/C and cool breez off the river. Easy acess to town, just a couple of blocks to all the toursit areas downtown. Super for a bigger family, but we enjoyed it just the two of us. I would definetly stay there again. There is no pool, but the hot springs are just across the road and the hotel offers discounts. I just loved sitting out on the deck watching the tubbers float by and watching the people ride by in the park on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rabbit Ears Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabbit Ears Motel

Address: 201 Lincoln Ave., Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rabbit Ears Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury night's sleep minus the luxury price The Rabbit Ears Motel, located in beautiful Steamboat Springs, Colorado, is your choice for comfortable, affordable lodging right in the center of downtown. Either they built Steamboat around our motel, or our motel was conveniently built in the center of all the action. So, both ways, you know that all the activities and nightlife the valley provides are in close proximity. Choose a weekend get-away for the family, or stay with us the whole week. World-class skiing with slope-side ski-in, ski-out convenience is expensive and overrated. Our motel is right on the main street and just a 5 minutes' bus ride to the gondola and the base of the ski area. Oh, and the bus is free. Lastly, all our guests are welcome to get reduced-priced Old Town Hot Springs passes for our recreation center, just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rabbit Ears Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabbit Ears Hotel Steamboat Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rabbit Ears Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.