We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steamboat Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Steamboat Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3155 South Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 (Formerly Bunkhouse Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ski oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice rustic ski lodge off the main highway only minutes to Steamboat slopes via a free shuttle. Spacious room, but pack a hair dryer! Hot tub overlooking the mountains - great place to meet guests frm all over the world. Free continental breakfast in cozy living room with fireplace. You feel at home in this affordable 2-story lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
27
36
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Last February, I wrote a review for The Steamboat Mountain Lodge, said we were going back in 2013, and we did. This the the BEST place and best value in Steamboat Springs, hands down. I just love it, it's warm, convenient, comfortable and has an awesome staff that is attentive to detail. Absolutely love the beds and bedding in this hotel, the comforters are amazing.
In last year's review, I mentioned that the only downside was the tiny pillows, which are now much larger, and I was told there are more improvements to come in the future. I love that attention to detail. We will be back again in 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Very basic. Old beds, thin scratchy towels. $290 if you are smoking in room, between $20-$50 for items missing (extensive list in bathroom). We didn't try the breakfast, typical muffins, bagels, waffles and the coffee didn't smell appealing so we went out. Probably wouldn't stay at this one again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalat, Vietnam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was a great place to sleep the room was big enough for 3 , it was cheap, the staff were really nice and helpful, and there was a free shuttle!
I honestly don't understand why people said they didn't like it!
You get what you pay for and you never needed a car because a bus could take you everywhere!
I will def be coming back
Plus you got awsome waffles in the morning!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Steamboat Mountain Lodge in February 2012 for the Winter Carnival and plan to go back February 2013 for the Carnival 100th anniversary. This hotel was , for us, easy to find, well priced, comfortable and clean. Our only issue was the pillows, which were far too small for comfort. This problem was easily solved with a quick trip to Walmart up the road for larger pillows, which we will bring with us when we go back next year. The hotel is on the bus line and a few minutes drive to town. Great value and we highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

These folks were nice enough to shift a prepaid (online booking) reservation by one night to accommodate a change in our travel plans, which was great. The place isn't easy to find because the Lodge is behind a hotel with a similar name and a different address. A little frustrating. Fortunately we stopped at the wildlife ranger station nearby (worth a visit for info on local wildlife and maps), and someone there was able to point us in the right direction. Our room was spacious and clean, on the first floor with a view out the back (not a view of a parking lot). The breakfast room was just down the hall, an attractive room with a gas fireplace.
The biggest "pro" was the price.
The "cons" included 1) pool and hot tub closed with no prior notice
2) absolutely lousy excuse for a breakfast -- not even toast, just coffee, juice, dry cereal and instant oatmeal packages.
3) when we tried to rest on the Sunday afternoon when we were there, contractors were literally tearing apart the room above us and nobody could or would make them stop. It was ridiculous. Why renovate in an area where rooms are occupied when most of the place was empty? We made several calls to the front desk to no avail. For that, I would have to rate customer service "poor."

Room Tip: ask if they're renovating and stay away if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were worried because the price was amazing, not sure what we would end up with. It ended up being a really great deal for the season. The lodge was behind the hotel and we were basically the only ones in the building. Really like the look and atmosphere in the common areas, with a grill outside and hot tub. We enjoyed the hot tub all to ourselves. It had a breakfast for us in the morning but never seen anyone around. One of the best deals was that it had a free washer and dryer. Couldn't have come any sooner since we had 1 1/2 weeks worth of wash and was heading to Jackson Hole/Yellowstone next.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ptarmigan Inn
The Ptarmigan Inn
#18 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Mountain Lodge

Address: 3155 South Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 (Formerly Bunkhouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Steamboat Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Steamboat Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunkhouse Hotel Steamboat Springs
Bunkhouse Steamboat Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steamboat Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.