We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, going back in 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steamboat Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Steamboat Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3155 South Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 (Formerly Bunkhouse Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place, going back in 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Steamboat Mountain Lodge in February 2012 for the Winter Carnival and plan to go back February 2013 for the Carnival 100th anniversary. This hotel was , for us, easy to find, well priced, comfortable and clean. Our only issue was the pillows, which were far too small for comfort. This problem was easily solved with a quick trip to Walmart up the road for larger pillows, which we will bring with us when we go back next year. The hotel is on the bus line and a few minutes drive to town. Great value and we highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    36
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

These folks were nice enough to shift a prepaid (online booking) reservation by one night to accommodate a change in our travel plans, which was great. The place isn't easy to find because the Lodge is behind a hotel with a similar name and a different address. A little frustrating. Fortunately we stopped at the wildlife ranger station nearby (worth a visit for info on local wildlife and maps), and someone there was able to point us in the right direction. Our room was spacious and clean, on the first floor with a view out the back (not a view of a parking lot). The breakfast room was just down the hall, an attractive room with a gas fireplace.
The biggest "pro" was the price.
The "cons" included 1) pool and hot tub closed with no prior notice
2) absolutely lousy excuse for a breakfast -- not even toast, just coffee, juice, dry cereal and instant oatmeal packages.
3) when we tried to rest on the Sunday afternoon when we were there, contractors were literally tearing apart the room above us and nobody could or would make them stop. It was ridiculous. Why renovate in an area where rooms are occupied when most of the place was empty? We made several calls to the front desk to no avail. For that, I would have to rate customer service "poor."

Room Tip: ask if they're renovating and stay away if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were worried because the price was amazing, not sure what we would end up with. It ended up being a really great deal for the season. The lodge was behind the hotel and we were basically the only ones in the building. Really like the look and atmosphere in the common areas, with a grill outside and hot tub. We enjoyed the hot tub all to ourselves. It had a breakfast for us in the morning but never seen anyone around. One of the best deals was that it had a free washer and dryer. Couldn't have come any sooner since we had 1 1/2 weeks worth of wash and was heading to Jackson Hole/Yellowstone next.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for a week in the winter season, it was very quiet and clean! We had a fantastic stay! We didn't find it far from town at all although we were in a car! Walking would've been a bit far but there was a bus stop right out the front, which we did use on new years night and it was cheap and easy!!
The spa was great very clean and very warm!
The breakfast's every morning were great, nice and easy and they had everything we needed!
they had a washing machine and dryer free to use, which was fantastic!
The staff were very nice and they cleaned the room every morning!
We loved this place it was very cheap and we would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Mountain Lodge which is located directly behind the Steamboat Mountain Hotel - same owners. It is not "in town," but only a 5 minute drive. There are restaurants, shops, gas stations etc. in the immediate vacinity. The bike/pedestrian trail is easily accessed which was a plus for us. Routt National Forest Headquarters is conveniently next door.
The exterior resembles a mountain lodge - complete with hanging baskets filled with colorful flowers.
Our Queen room was large and very clean. We had a refrigerator which is always a plus. Furnishings looked updated. The continental breakfast is served in a large room overlooking the mountains. A comfortable patio is accessed from this room and made for a peaceful place to read.
One negative was the young woman at the reception desk. She wasn't rude, but certainly didn't go out of her way to be friendly.
Compared to prices in town, this was a bargain. Rates are cheapest Sunday-Wednesday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

CROOKS!
They charged me $250 for smoking in the room, in which, we did not do such a thing.
I have called several times and NO CALLS BACK! Horrible customer service.
RIP OFF!
This place is far from town, don't stay here, cheaper and closer places to stay at, and they won't rip you off like this place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

Would stay here again. Had a clean, comfortable room. It was quiet and half the price of other chain hotels. Breakfast pretty basic. Again, good valuew

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steamboat Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Mountain Lodge

Address: 3155 South Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 (Formerly Bunkhouse Lodge)
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Steamboat Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steamboat Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunkhouse Hotel Steamboat Springs
Bunkhouse Steamboat Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steamboat Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.