We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Steamboat Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Steamboat Hotel to your Saves list
The Steamboat Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3195 S Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
spruce grove
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The price advertised lured us in to this hotel..$69/night. Decor resembles a ski lodge which I suppose in the winter time would be great. Our room was located on the bottom floor...in the basement. It was very small with adequate amenities except for an ironing board. Found one later in the laundry room. Housekeeping needs some improving as our coffee cup was still dirty from a previous guest and the bathroom could have used some more attention. TV reception was a bit sketchy at first but eventually got better.
No complimentary breakfast.. small microwaveable items offered for $1.00 Good restaurant located across the hwy.
Outdoor pool which we did not use looked nice.
Check in/out procedures were fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level than the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    22
    6
    8
See reviews for
11
37
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was just an overnight stop on our way from Ohio to Calif, not a destination visit to a resort area. This motel was perfect.
It is out of town and you do need to drive to restaurant.., etc.
This is not a new build and starting to show it's age. The grounds were well kept and the room and lobby cleanliness were a 4.5. We found no evidence of bugs under the mattress or behind the headboard.
The room was normal size and had ref/micro.Sink was outside bathroom
The young lady at check exceeded normal friendliness expected for a front desk clerk and was very welcoming. She also was helpful in suggesting a restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great value for the money. Had the usual amenities and was a clean comfortable place to stay. The staff was very friendly and check-in/out was a breeze. If you're looking for luxury, this may not be the place for you. If you're looking for just a clean comfortable place to stay, then this place is for you. Will gladly return again.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided three days before Labor Day weekend that we'd like to do a short road trip to Steamboat Springs - if we could find a hotel room without it costing an arm and a leg. We found a room for Saturday night at the Steamboat Hotel for $99. From the pictures and reviews on another third party booking site, it sounded clean and adequate so we booked it right away. We were pleased to check in and find no surprises. It is clean and the bed was comfortable and it even had a mini-fridge. The only negatives were the rough towels and the in-room coffee was horrible (but isn't it always!).

Room Tip: Third floor is quieter. There is no elevator so it depends on your ability to do the stairs and amo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Fl
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, well appointed rooms with friendly helpful staff. This hotel is well located as long as you have a car, it is on I40 but set back from the road and therefore quiet. Safeway, the Ski Slopes are close by and downtown Steamboat is just a few miles away

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parachute, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We moved to The Steamboat Hotel after a terrible time at a different hotel. I won't mention the name but it starts with a "Q". Upon our arrival, the girl at the front desk was a real people person. She was very welcoming. They accepted our dogs with only a $15.00 pet fee. The room was good sized with a refridgerator and microwave. It was very clean and comfortable. Much nicer then the hotel we checked out of and the staff was much friendlier and the rate was the same. We requested an extra blanket and it was promptly delivered to our room. The remote was missing and again a new one was promptly given to us. The next morning they had coffee in the lobby. No free breakfast but for the price that was ok. They did sell breakfast burritos for only $1.00. We went to Johnny B's for breakfast, it was so good. The morning desk clerk was just as friendly as the lady that checked us in. I recomend this hotel over any other budget hotel in Steamboat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This doesn't look like your typical hotel. Instead it resembles a ski lodge which it probably is in the winter. The interesting architecture certainly lends a somewhat unusual flavor to the hotel. The room was spacious and clean and the one I had came with a nice view of the surrounding area. There is also a small swimming pool in the front and about 1/2 mile behind the hotel is a creek.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Steamboat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Hotel

Address: 3195 S Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Steamboat Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Expedia so you can book your The Steamboat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Steamboat Springs
Super Eight Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Super 8
Steamboat Springs Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steamboat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.