We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Steamboat Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Steamboat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Steamboat Hotel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3195 S Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Dillon, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you looking for a "no-frills" hotel this is it. Rooms are clean, but fairly basic.
It is a little ways out of the town, but not far if you have a car. It's closer to the ski resort if that's why you are there!
Quiet room, friendly staff and it was well-maintained.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced towards back parking lot rather than the highway and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
32
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the kind of place that gets the job done, when that's all you need. Rooms are basic, but clean. No closet, and amenities are few (toiletries, etc.). Didn't bother with breakfast, so can't comment on that. But it's a great deal pretty much all the time compared to other options in the area- several of the branded competitors are a good bit more, for essentially the same room and service. Especially when considering it's pet-friendly, hard to beat the price. You get what you pay for, but that's just fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights so I could be close to the mountain to get some awesome snowboarding in this season. You're allowed to bring your dogs for $15/pet/night. I had 2 dogs with me so that was super convenient. The lobby is always stocked with coffee, tea, and energy bars which was great, and all the people working at the desk were really nice and helpful. There's a nice hot tub which is so relaxing after a day of skiing. Although the amenities are pretty basic, it's a great rate for a one star hotel and they really do take care of this place. I will definitely stay here again if I make it up to Steamboat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalton, ga
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had no complaints about this hotel. Room was cleaned to my satisfaction everyday, the bed was very comfortable and staff was nice. Convenient location, close to everything I needed. Great price. Could not ask for anything more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Three of my girlfriends and I stayed here for one night. We had little plans of being in the hotel except for sleep and showers, so it served it's purpose AND the price was right. We got two double beds for $140. Cheapest I could find. If you're looking for a good nights sleep this is not the hotel for that. The beds are uncomfortable and being only 5'7" my toes were hanging off the end of the bed. The pillows were pretty awful too so if you were going to Steamboat for more than two nights I would recommend elsewhere. They didn't have breakfast like they mentioned but they did have burritos and such that you had to microwave. We wanted to eat breakfast out so that wasn't an issue for us. If it had been I would have been very disappointed! The room was clean enough and if you get back to the hotel after 10:00pm like we did there is nowhere but illegal places to park. No one got towed I noticed including us.
The front desk girls were very friendly, efficient and helpful.

Room Tip: This hotel is on the outskirts of Steamboat. If you don't have a car it wouldn't be an ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We came here for a snowboarding trip & all I can say is this hotel is a dump!! When I booked this it was based on reviews & the person I spoke to said it wasn't bad & decent. First lack of parking for guests. When we checked in the front desk person didn't know a thing about the hotel. I had read & was told when I booked that their was a breakfast, nope just frozen burritos you could buy (no thanks). The room was terrible smelling. Not taken care of at all. The bed was very uncomfortable & pillows were even worse. There were hard crusty things in one that we didn't even want to know what it was. Chipping paint, pretty sure I saw mold in the bath room, shower head broken, etc. The hot tub is very small but prob the best & nicest part. Oh & no view of a Mt like someone had mentioned. Also no one was available for me to check out in the early am.
If you want cheap & uncomfortable then stay here otherwise try a different hotel!!!

Room Tip: Go some place else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had stayed at this Hotel last year and we noticed it was less clean and in less condition than it was before. For example the plugs in the wall were all broken. Bathrooms could use some new work on them. Also breakfast is advertised in Hotels.com, but they do not offer breakfast! last year they did. So, maybe next time we will stay in another Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Steamboat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Hotel

Address: 3195 S Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Steamboat Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Steamboat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Steamboat Springs
Super Eight Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Super 8
Steamboat Springs Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steamboat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.