We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tanya at the front desk was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
The Ptarmigan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2304 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tanya at the front desk was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed for Memorial Day weekend. Tanya was there all weekend and she was always smiling and helpful and just completely friendly. The place is outdated, but it is the best value in steamboat springs. We had a great time and will be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
31
35
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The staff at the hotel were very nice and welcoming which certainly helps to make any stay a better one. The continental breakfast was basic but complete and was a nice way to start your morning. We stayed in the summer but the location is right at the base of the gondola which would be incredible during the winter but still a great location during the summer. They have a very friendly pet policy which was really great for us as we like to go to the mountains with our dogs. Additionally, the price was very reasonable compared to the other hotels in the area. All of that being said, the hotel is in desperate need of updating. I can handle outdated furnishings but what I struggled with was the thin walls and creaky floors. The people that were above us started their mornings promptly at 4 AM both nights that we were there and every step that they took above us was so loud that it would wake us up. But beyond that, we had a nice stay and would recommend this place for anyone that is looking for basic accommodations at a reasonable price in Steamboat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

They were great. They even let our dog stay there too for a small fee which i think was refundable. A nice area and very nice staff. Parking is a bit tight but we always had a place to park. Bathrooms are clean and up to date. Prices were not too bad. being there on Memorial weeekend we got a discount the 2nd day. Nice! Right in the heart of all the ski lifts too if you want to board or ski.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed a week at the Inn. Ben made us very welcome. He was friendly, accommodating to all of us. We were a group of 38. They had a welcome party for us on our arrival day where everything was outlined and explained. The Happy Hour menu drinks were great. We also had a group dinner on our last night in Steamboat Springs. The menu of items offered to us was wonderful.
I would definitely go back to stay there as well as recommend it to others going to Steamboat Springs for a ski holiday. It is literally the best ski in/out place to stay.
Thanks for a great week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, TN
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved everything about our 5 night stay at Ptarmigan with a couple exceptions. Took shuttle from Hayden airport. Dropped off right at front door. Check in was easy and fast. Room was just down hallway from lobby which was nice. Room was very basic. Older style TV box set with a VCR (no DVD). Decent channel selection at least. Furniture was dated but clean and comfortable. Slopeside view was great from room 420. Even had a small balcony to go outside. Ski in was very easy, but ski out required a short walk to Gondola. No big deal only a couple minutes. Access to Gondola Base area village was awesome. Food drinks shops etc. all right there. Now the exceptions: Room 420 did not have wifi access. When we asked what was wrong we were told the wifi did not extend all the way to that side of hotel. Why didn't they tell us that before we got in the room and unpacked? We had to walk to lobby if we wanted wifi. Thankfully Verizon has great signal there. The Snowbird restaurant is right next to the lobby and offers drinks and basic meals. Decent food. Fair price. Lots of locals eat there. That's a good sign. The hotel ran out of coffee packs for the little pot in the rooms. They did offer free cups from the restaurant though. Just a little inconvenient. Overall totally satisfied with the stay and I would stay there again because of the great location and great price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn multiple times for multiple reasons. The location is the best reason. It is a ski-in/out and makes skiing at Steamboat Springs worth the trip. They allow you to park your car on-site when you arrive and also the day you leave. This is so convenient. The cost of the hotel is on the low side for its location. It is a little out dated, but very clean! Walls are pretty thin, but I bring a noise-maker so I don't hear all the activity. We walked to the base of Steamboat to find a restaurant, and there were a few to choose from. The bus to downtown is also within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel for ski season!!!

Room Tip: I always ask for the top floor to remove noise from footsteps above, or the restaurant/pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewood, co
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've stayed in the highest end hotels and resorts in Steamboat Springs over the years, but when traveling with our two sons (7 and 4) this winter, The Ptarmigan Inn provided EXACTLY what we needed. Our goals... to have EASY ACCESS to the ski school and gondola, outdoor pool and hot tub, plus space for our family of four. Our LOFT ROOM, immediately off the lobby, was very convenient to ski storage, the restaurant, and pool area. Our windows overlooked the ski area and a hill which provided a ton of snow play for our kids where we could watch them from inside our room Just outside our room was a comfortable lobby sitting area and gas fireplace which we all enjoyed throughout our stay. The kids enjoyed the ladder accessible loft area, with twin beds. Were the linens luxurious? Was the décor modern? Certainly not. But the front desk staff, restaurant and bar crew and fellow guests all contributed to the warm, cozy feeling that only a small hotel can offer. The restaurant was quite a pleasant surprise. Never crowded, during the day or evening, but we were treated to EXCELLENT dining. Private ski instructors frequented the restaurant during the day with their students; quite an endorsement for sure. SKI IN/ SKI OUT for under $250/nt during Christmas week... this trip, the Ptarmigan Inn delivered what we paid for and more.

Room Tip: The family/ loft rooms look over the ski hill, providing two twin beds in the loft which is accessib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 2304 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ptarmigan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Steamboat hotel with ski-in, ski-out access. The Ptarmigan Inn is the premier Steamboat lodging option for your Steamboat ski vacation, offering Steamboat’s only affordable ski-in ski-out access to the Steamboat Ski Resort. Start your Steamboat vacation planning now by letting us help you with all your needs while you’re here in Steamboat Springs. Check room availability and book now or contact a Steamboat lodging concierge. You’ll be glad you did. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your The Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ptarmigan Hotel Steamboat Springs
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel
Best Western Steamboat Springs
Ptarmigan Inn Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.