We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Front Desk, Average Rooms, Below Average Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ptarmigan Inn to your Saves list
The Ptarmigan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2304 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Location and Front Desk, Average Rooms, Below Average Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fantastic location just across from the gandola (which we took up the mountain for brunch), very helpful front desk personnel. The rest was average or less than average. The Inn is quite outdated, can use a good renovation.

Breakfast was much less than average and serviced by a man who did not appear to know what he was doing. There was only regular coffee, no decaf or no tea. When I asked for decaf (for my mother) he gave me a caraf of hot water and a packet of decaf coffee, same kind you use in the room with the coffee maker. He insisted it was instant coffee like Sanka; when he finally 'got' that it wasn't instant he said I could go back to the room to make this decaf coffee in the room coffee maker (which I did). He said it was not worth making a whole 'batch' of decaf coffee for just one person. We also wanted hot water for tea, we still had the carafe of hot water which he said I could use for the tea. However, the water in the carafe tasted of stale coffee-water, so there was no tea that morning. The rest of the selections were pretty meager.

I don't plan to go back to Steamboat Springs, don't know if I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    48
    18
    8
    10
See reviews for
35
36
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Old and tired hotel building in a superb location next to the gondola in steamboat ski area. Rooms are fine for the price, good and soundproof with a decent bathroom. Air con works. Breakfast is poor, with the usual trays of something sticky, donuts and bagels. I guess I was just unlucky to get sour milk. But it makes for a real easy start to the day. Great location for a mornings hike up thunderhead trial to mount Werner.

Definitely going to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a Groupon, so had a great deal on our stay. It's completely outdated, which added a bit of fun to the experience. We laughed a lot noticing things that have been there as long as we've been alive. It is right at the bottom on the hill and an incredibly easy walk to the Gondola. Our daughter was in ski school, which is also located at the foot of the Gondola, so the hotel was incredibly convenient. Breakfast was decent, but nothing to rave about. Consider The Ptarmigan Inn if you don't need 5 star service and just want friendly people around. Oh, there is also a Christy's in the basement, so if you need to rent you don't have to go far!

Room Tip: Floor one is easy to get in and out of, but far from the restaurant and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you like to ski hard all day and have a clean, ski in, ski out place to stay at night - this is it. If you need to be pampered, this is not the hotel for you. For my family of 4 it was awesome. We booked using our Rocky Mountain Super Pass privileges, making the cost super affordable. Yes, yes, you feel like you've walked back into the 1970s when you arrive, but the place is clean and in good repair. The staff is nice and the restaurant/bar in the hotel is also good. But what's great is the ski in, ski out location - right next to the gondola!!!! You can walk to everything in the village or if you want to go Downtown, there's a shuttle if you don't want to drive. One warning, when I booked it said that the room came with a microwave. I brought breakfast burritos but there was no microwave. When I called the front desk, they said - oh yes, it comes with a microwave, it's just here at the front desk. So that's how we heated up our burritos- walking down to the front desk. Also, the pool towels are more like dish rags - super small and thin. Everyone in the hot tub and pool was laughing hard about this - but if you think it might bug you, bring your own towel. My family will stay here again for sure. I like the price and location and it serves us just fine.

Room Tip: I don't think paying for a "slope view" room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is the best value we found that is walking distance to the gondola. Yes - the place looks outdated, but it does have a retro charm. We were lucky to get a room on the 4th floor. It came with: FREE WIFI!, bath amenities, hairdryer, daily housekeeping service, alarm clock, fridge, and FREE WIFI! (have to repeat it). The inn offers ski/ snowboard storage, but we opted to put our boards on the small balcony. It was an easier access for us to grab our boards, take the elevator down, exit out back and walk to the gondola. Not sure about the other reviewers on the cleanliness of their rooms, but our room was cleaned every day by Liliana who did a terrific job.

Other info:
- Pool and hot tub are small.
- Walls are thin. You can hear the noisy kids running around the next room and in the hallways.
- Free parking.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th floor facing the Truffle Pig restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

you get what you pay for. we spent 7 nights at Ptarmigan Inn. It is an older place, not updated and we did not let our bare feet touch the carpet if you know what i mean. The staff was good, place was pretty clean (just old), breakfast downstairs was great each morning and so convenient. having Christy's ski rental there was very convenient too. I stayed there for the ski in and ski out convenience and it was great. I only paid $165 per night and when i was doing my research, i spoke to a private owner of some condos at the Rockies and she was a bit less than this but thought it was comical that she would put down the Ptarmigan Inn as a "knockdown waiting to happen" and the downtown Inns as over priced at $100 per night, when her little condos look very similar (built in the 70's), no restaurant, no ski in, ski out, no rental facility, no maid service, questionable on the clean sheets etc... other charges for "cleaning fees" and a long 3 block walk to the lift. And she "expected" me to be appreciative of her price... that's OK, i've stayed at the Rockies... no thanks. Her attitude alone kept me away. Can you spell Hustle?

Room Tip: pet friendly hotel, but 4th floor does not allow pets, so book a 4th floor room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just terrible...Let's start with the front desk. Not at all friendly, kind of felt like I was at a motor vehicles counter. Everyone single one of them. Our slopeside room was actually in the basement. When we asked for another room, they told us they didnt' have any. We didn't believe them, so called pretending to be a new customer and they had several rooms available. Next, the room. Not only could we hear everything going on in the hall, other rooms, the lobby, the pool, etc., but the sounds were amplified, probably due to the way the noise was echoing off the walls. The towels probably haven't been replaced since the 1970s, I wouldn't even line a gerbil cage with them. The toilet paper was the cheapest you could find. I am still undecided over which was rougher, the towels or the toilet paper. The toilet didn't flush, the bathroom floor was peeling away and from the foundation causing an uneven walking surface. What else...oh, the bed left us so sore, we almost had to skip skiing one day. Also, I think I saw blood stains on one of the walls. I'm still stunned that the Steamboat mountain would allow such an eyesore and horrible place to be in such a prime location. The worst.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#7 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Steamboat
The Inn at Steamboat
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#4 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 2304 Apres Ski Way, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ptarmigan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Steamboat hotel with ski-in, ski-out access. The Ptarmigan Inn is the premier Steamboat lodging option for your Steamboat ski vacation, offering Steamboat’s only affordable ski-in ski-out access to the Steamboat Ski Resort. Start your Steamboat vacation planning now by letting us help you with all your needs while you’re here in Steamboat Springs. Check room availability and book now or contact a Steamboat lodging concierge. You’ll be glad you did. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ptarmigan Hotel Steamboat Springs
Best Western Ptarmigan Hotel
Best Western Steamboat Springs
Ptarmigan Inn Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ptarmigan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.