We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the river views and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurum Food & Wine

Aurum Food & Wine
811 Yampa Street, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
+1 970-879-9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aurum Food & Wine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $12 - $42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A New Element in Dining Featuring seasonal new American cuisine, this refined yet relaxed, space features bar, dining room and spacious deck seating. Nestled along the Yampa River, this watershed has historically provided the lifeline for farming and ranching in the Yampa Valley. We are proud to build upon this rich heritage. Coming May 2014
Plano
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved the river views and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We tried Aurum for both a lunch and dinner. Very good both times. Large patio with umbrellas is an excellent location on the Yampa River with views of Howelsen Hill. For dinner we split a Tuscan Kale salad (lemon vinaigrette, candied cashews, apple), plenty for each of us and Server (Nick) split onto two plates, which was a nice touch. Service was attentive throughout. I had beef tenderloin, done perfectly, accompanied by garlic mash, asparagus, and a terrific tasting bourbon mustard jus. Spouse had the Colorado striped bass, cooked perfectly, which came with spinach and shallot confit. Wine list was reasonably priced. Brought the gas heaters out at about 7 to take the chill out. Enjoyed lunch /brunch there too watching the tubers float by. Wife enjoyed the chicken mac and cheese and I liked my BLAT. Next time will try the eggs Benedict.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil A, Owner at Aurum Food & Wine, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Good Evening,

Can 't thank you enough for your positive review of Aurum Food & Wine, it means a great deal to us to hear that you enjoyed your recent experience. We can't wait to have you as our guest again in the near future. If you are looking to sit outside, don't wait to long as we know our deck nights are numbered!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    7
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Steamboat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

What a find! Sleek, casual, right along the banks of the Yampa River, great food, great service - wonderful live music that was just the right volume so we could still talk. This place feels very upscale, with a lot of attention to the menu and wine lists. We went for an afternoon drink and stayed for dinner as we hated to leave. It's a real find - thanks to Trip Advisor reviews. Aurum had a large, happy crowd outdoors when we were there on a Saturday and they were turning people away as we were leaving. Get there early - not sure if they take reservations but it's well worth planning for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil A, Owner at Aurum Food & Wine, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good Afternoon,

What a compliment! Thank you so much for your review, and for your support of Aurum Food & Wine. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience and appreciate you sharing it with others. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CO
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Riverside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch there a cute fun place right on the Tampa River...the food is great loved the mac and cheese....great salads and good wine...you will not be disappointed

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil A, Owner at Aurum Food & Wine, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback of Aurum Food & Wine, we can't tell you how much we appreciate it. Glad you had a chance to enjoy the riverside dining as we too agree it is a very special place to enjoy a meal. Thank you again for giving us a try and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrific new restaurant at great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

If not familiar with SB it is very much a western town with traditional western restaurants. There are many great spots but Aurum is another new restaurant in an old location. And boy did they do it right. Sits right on the Yampa River and the outdoor seating is one of the best in SB. We have a condo here and spent time two different weeks in the boat. Had lunch there 4 times and it was outstanding. Service was great and food is excellent. What sets it apart is a very creative and different menu compared to most other SB restaurants. Somewhat limited choices but each we had was excellent. But what really set it apart for us what dinner last night. Great menu, beautiful setting along the river with heaters if needed. Great presentation and great service from Aaron. This is great for SB to have one more less traditional restaurant for locals and guests. Please give it a try We need to support our local restaurants. We will be back many times for sure.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil A, Owner at Aurum Food & Wine, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive review, we greatly appreciate you! We are so happy to hear that you found the experience to be enjoyable, and that you felt as if our menu was both creative and innovative. I will be certain to pass along your feedback to the culinary team, as well as to Aaron. Thank you again and we hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not only did we get to dine without the kids, but it was Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

From the sangria, to the fried pickles, to the scallop special - the food was tremendous; that didn't even account for the chocolate creme pot for dessert. The view was beautiful and our service excellent. Evenings out as a couple are rare and we so appreciate when it is money well spent.
Thanks, Aurum in Steamboat Springs!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil A, Owner at Aurum Food & Wine, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Good Afternoon,

I wanted to take a brief moment and sincerely thank you for your kind words and support of Aurum Food & Wine, we greatly appreciate you. I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy a nice night out as a couple, those are precious and I am so glad you chose Aurum. We hope the next time a date night opportunity presents itself you will think of us! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurum Food & Wine also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Aurum Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurum Food & Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.