We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home cooking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shack Cafe

The Shack Cafe
740 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-879-9975
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch after shopping on the Main Street. Very cozy diner with counter seating. Menu pricing was more than fair. We had the club sandwich and the tuna melt with sweet potato fries. The food was delivered very quickly and very hot. The portion size was quite large and we left with a doggy bag. Great breakfast menu that is served thru lunch.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very frendly staff. Accomodated our group of 8. This is a great locals place with everyone enjoying their breakfast fare. I had the vegitarian benedict which was to die for. Will definitely go again the next time I am in town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We've eaten here for breakfast, brunch, and lunch. Great service and food. Seems to be a locals cozy coffee shop/restaurant. Wait staff called folks by name and knew what they wanted upon arrival.
Some of our party had breakfast and some lunch. The breakfast omelette, eggs, and the trimmings looked delicious and the tasters confirmed it!
I ordered a BLT and as advertised-I felt it was the "best bacon in town". The sourdough was delicious. My favorite!
I highly recommend this place right on the main drag in Steamboat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best breakfast...for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great little place,one of my best breakfast spot !
Rustic,caracteristic ,great Service,nice people,very attentive ,it does not get better than this!!!
I would love to go back and I recommend this to all of you to start the day in the best way!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“DELICIOUS Post Wedding Festivities Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We ate here after an open bar wedding the night before ;)
The service was fabulous and the food was just what we were in the mood for.
Really tasty American type breakfast fare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack Cafe also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to The Shack Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shack Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.