We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hike, Great Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Creek Falls

Fish Creek Falls
Fish Creek Falls Road, County Road 32, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hike, Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Not a terribly long or arduous hike, and the views were pretty. (Ages/fitness levels in our group ranged from relatively un-fit mid-50s to fit mid-70's.) The falls are pretty. I would not recommend getting off the path for most people except the young (late teens+) and fairly nimble - the rocks at the bottom of the falls and in/along the creek are slippery.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    119
    16
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blanco, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The short walk down to these falls (1/4 mile) was well worth it. The falls were beautiful and the sound of the water rushing downstream was very soothing! Just remember, it is 1/4 mile down hill, which means 1/4 mile uphill! If you are not use to the higher elevations, it will take alittle out of you as it did me!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Day Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We didn't have a lot of time and heard that Fish Creek Falls would give us the quick hike and beautiful view we were looking for. It did not disappoint. There is a paved trail for people that don't want to hike very far or have difficulty hiking that rewards the walker with a beautiful view of the falls in minutes. You can also choose a longer hike that takes you to the falls and beyond. Plenty of parking is available and rest rooms at the entrance to the trails is a wonderful bonus to families and the elderly. (They are not the nasty smelly type you find in some locations!) ENJOY YOUR HIKE! I hope that you will find this review helpful!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, OK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best photos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a very scenic site. A lot of people here taking pictures. Start at the scenic overlook and work your way down to the bottom. More great pictures than you can imagine.

There is poison ivy and poison oak in the area. So be wary of that. I wasn't.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Easy walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The falls used to be on Coors Beer cans. There are several trails and at least two of them are paved and fairly flat. Beautiful nature tails with the forest surounding you, clean fresh air and a beautiful drive up to it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Creek Falls also viewed

 

Been to Fish Creek Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Creek Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.