We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, a real steak house back in Steamboat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of E3 Chophouse

E3 Chophouse
701 Yampa Avenue, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
+1 970-879-7167
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
E3 Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Created by the LaRoche family, E3 is Steamboat’s newest dining experience. Located on the beautiful Yampa River in an amazing setting – downtown Steamboat Springs.E3 features the best seasonal, all-natural products available. Enjoy daily specials, fresh fish 24 hours sea-to-table, amazing desserts from our pastry chef, wild game cooked to perfection and, of course, our steaks and chops.Our “ranch-to-table concept “ starts with cattle being raised humanly, in an all-natural environment. We own our ranch, making this truly a family business. Our steaks and chops are cut daily in house and prepared the only way we know how: to perfection. Our steaks are cooked using an overfired char broiler that will leave you wanting more.Our menus change weekly, allowing us to provide only the best, all natural meals to our guests. Vegetarian – no problem; gluten-free – no problem. Our chef will create a memorable experience for any dietary need.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Finally, a real steak house back in Steamboat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The folks at E3 Chophouse have done an excellent job converting a premier location on the Yampa River into the right combination of rustic and comfortable dining. This time of year, with the doors open to the west, you feel like you're dining outside while still being covered - and if you don't mind a little breeze, there is patio dining as well.

The steaks were excellent, and overall a very nice menu. Prices are not cheap, but similar to what you would expect in a real steakhouse - and at least the quality here is consistent for the price.

Several of our friends have tried their happy hour or weekly specials and commented very favorably on those as well.

The service is still a little slow and uncoordinated at times, but I would guess that's partially a function of getting to know the new restaurant and crowd. The manager stopped by several times to make sure things were ok.

Still not a true 5 star, but has chances of getting there. Not a cheap night out, but nice for special occasions and that one in a while splurge.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E3Chophouse, Public Relations Manager at E3 Chophouse, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Corky,
Thank you for the review! Very glad you enjoyed your steak, and that you've heard good things too. If you'd care to share anything further, our general manger welcomes feedback. You can speak with him directly via email, david@e3chophouse.com, or directly on his cell 307.690.3116.

Cheers!
E3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    14
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food-Awful service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We enjoyed our food and loved the fact it was next to the river. Unfortunately we finished our entrees and it took 20 minutes for our server to make her way back to our table, all the while I watched here go back and forth to her other tables. We finally had to ask one of the guys serving water to let her know we would like our bill. Finally she came over and barely acknowledged that she had been gone. Needless to say that we left an appropriate tip, we will not return since we come to Steamboat often, and let the Resort which recommended E3 of the lack of service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E3Chophouse, Public Relations Manager at E3 Chophouse, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Thomas,
So sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your service at E3. We have the highest expectations at E3, both for our service and our food, so if you would like to let us know what night you were here, we might better determine which staff we may need to speak to. Please feel free to contact our general manager, Dave Eliason, at david@e3chophouse.com or directly on his cell 307.690.3116.

Thank you,
E3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Continued disappointment...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We've tried E3 Chophouse 3 times now. Each time we are hoping that they finally have it together. Each time the menu has changed. We like to sit at the bar so we can watch the big screens. The bartenders seem to "share' the bar patrons-it's confusing to know who your server is, but that aside, they are generally friendly. The draft beer selection is extremely weak. These selections also continue to change so you never know what you are going to get. We went in last night for the 2 for 1 dinner special. My husband ordered the least expensive steak on the menu-$34 I think- ordered it to be cooked rare, it arrived medium. I ordered the short rib and we shared a market salad. The salad was wonderful. Large, fresh spinach, tasty dressing. The short rib arrived soon afterwards with a huge bone on the plate alongside the meat part. It appeared to be a separate bone that was placed on the plate for decoration.?? Anyway-I cut into the rib and it was 90% FAT. Yes I said 90%. I dug around for a few bites of actual meat and gave up. I don't know what kind of rib meal the cooks were hoping this to be, but it was not edible. The vegies and potatoes were fine but I did not get a good fill of the meat portion of my dinner at all. I should have sent it back, but I was simply exhausted and didn't really have the fight in me to even say anything. As the server took my plate, she saw that I hardly ate my dinner, but said nothing. I will not return for food in this establishment. The atmosphere is nice, rustic and interesting. Beer is beer, but I won't waste my money on a joke of a meal again. Our previous visits to this restaurant were alright, nothing to brag about and this visit sealed the deal for us. One more thing...what kind of steakhouse doesn't offer a big ol' burger on the dinner menu?? The sliders on the happy hour menu were tasty enough, but not offered for dinner. Plates are overpriced, wine is overpriced. Food is marginal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E3Chophouse, Public Relations Manager at E3 Chophouse, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi 2libras,
We are very sorry to hear that your experience with E3 was disappointing. Our general manager would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. If you would like, please contact him at david@e3chophouse.com or directly on his cell 307.690.3116.

Thank you,
E3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Exceptional food and service. Wonderful Happy Hour and outside dinning area. Happy Hour food even enough for early dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E3Chophouse, Public Relations Manager at E3 Chophouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Hi Valzimmer_123,
Glad you were able to enjoy the new E3 patio! Come back again soon!

Cheers,
E3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We waited for several months to try E3 since it had very mixed reviews at the opening. Unfortunately we were still disappointed. We went on a Sunday night for BBQ night and the food was not good. The chicken was so dry you could hardly cut it. It really tasted like it had been cooked another day and reheated. The pork was decent, the beef was a little dry but edible. The presentation of the food was not appetizing either. They took a large plate and slopped six dollops of different items on the plate with a piece of cornbread. The service and all the wait staff were very friendly so I give them high ratings. Obviously the kitchen is the issue with this place. We had high hopes for E3 but we are very glad we tried it during mud season as we would be very disappointed to spend $200 on a mediocre meal during regular season. Somebody really needs to look and taste the food leaving the kitchen. A great wait staff will not cut it at these prices. For $200 and a good meal I will stick with Café Diva and Three Peaks for now.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E3Chophouse, Public Relations Manager at E3 Chophouse, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Kim,
We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your BBQ night meal. Our general manager would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. If you would like, please contact him at david@e3chophouse.com or directly on his cell 307.690.3116.

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Best,
E3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed E3 Chophouse also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to E3 Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage E3 Chophouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.