We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winona's

Winona's
617 Lincoln Avenue, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-879-2483
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great breakfast, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Family of 5 had a great breakfast. We all shared one of the big cinnamon rolls. Omlets were great. Kids liked the eggs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    106
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not sure what all the fuss is about. Nice location, good service, sandwich was okay. Maybe breakfast is better, but missed it by 10 minutes. If I can get there for breakfast, will try again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best breakfast menu ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were in Steamboat Springs for six days and had breakfast here twice. Both
times we were large parties of 9 and 11 respectively and the restaurant was very busy.
Every one raved about the quality and wonderful tastes. I had the granola blueberry pancakes the first time and they simply delicious. Since they are also a bakery that bakes cinnamon rolls I had the cinnamon roll French toast at the second breakfast; it was the best French toast that I have ever eaten.
The service is extraordinary; no matter how busy they seem to be it appears that no one waits over ten to fifteen minutes to be seated and everyone is served quickly. the restaurant has extraordinary management and staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not for Groups, Unfriendly experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

During a recent visit with my extended family, the quality of the food could not overcome the disappointment of our experience. In a town that welcomes large groups with open arms, it is a shame that Winona's does not.

Upon our arrival, I was very impressed that they could seat our at group of ten right away. As our server arrived to take our order, we informed her that we would like three separate checks. She curtly informed us that they are unable to do this because they don't have a computer. During our meal, I overheard another server tell ours how to split a check. So I was hopeful that she would take the initiative to do it for us. During our meal, service was timely but not very courteous or attentive. Understandably, there was a lunch rush, but all the interactions I witnessed with our server and others were disingenuous. She also told my wife that she would personally never order the fish and chips.

After our meal, she brought the check with a single total. Fortunately I can do math and was able to quickly split the check for our three families. While doing so, I discovered that the 18% gratuity for parties over 6 was added on top of the tax, which is not the norm and certainly more than I would have paid.

After manually calculating our totals, I approached the counter to pay. The cashier was unable to adequately explain why they are unable to split checks. Further, she had difficulty handling the three separate payments and told me she couldn't accept the tip at the register but when I asked If I could tip less than the 18% she told me I had no choice.

I was so upset with the exchange and the ridiculousness of the experience that I had to walk away before causing a scene. My father-in-law overheard her tell another employee that I was rude. Fortunately he was able to briefly explain that I was just trying to resolve the situation for them.

Overall, if going in a group, they appear to accommodate you, but in the end they are unable to fully serve you while charging a mandatory gratuity so that you can do the calculation and be berated in the process. Very disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best breakfast around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in to have breakfast and it is so good it had a wait time if about 30 min but this was on a Saturday. The waitstaff was amazing and the good was awesome. I had the lox and bagel and my husband had one if the scrambles. The fruit was fresh as well. You will love it and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winona's also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Winona's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winona's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.