We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks at Harwig's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Apogee Restaurant & Harwigs Grill

L'Apogee Restaurant & Harwigs Grill
911 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-879-1980
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Apogee Restaurant & Harwigs Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 9th
Transit: Free bus and shuttle service available throughout Steamboat Springs.
Description: Relax in the charming, casual elegance of L'Apogee/Harwigs, family owned since 1979. Sit and savor culinary delights prepared from the freshest ingredients possible. When available, we harvest locally grown herbs and vegetables from our greenhouse and Steamboat's botanic gardens. Ask to see our comfortably priced Wine Bar Menu that features delicious tidbits to snack on while you ponder a glass of wine from a list of over 30 wines by the glass or opt for a bottle from our award winning wine list. Our list features over 800 selections from the greatest growing regions of the world. Desserts are made daily, in house, by our pastry chef Kelly Yepello...don’t miss trying one!
Raleigh
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Drinks at Harwig's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We popped in here after dinner for drinks as this was next to our hotel. Camille was our waitress and was excellent. I had the Kim-tini - a martini made with assorted orange liquors that was to die for. My husband had the Perfect Manhattan. It was made with rye which can be a little harsh, depending on your preference. We were treated to a tour of the wine cellar which has a wine cork ceiling. Now I know what to do with all the wine corks I collect! Looking forward to a return visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    9
    5
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Meal, Wonderful Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We enjoyed a private dinner at Harwigs in the cellar and it was AMAZING. We were there to celebrate my parent's 50th wedding anniversary and it was worth every penny. The food was outstanding and my parents (and everyone else) enjoyed every bite. I'd recommend this restaurant to anyone. JJ was wonderful and our server was outstanding (he even brought down his fleece for my 3-year old niece who fell asleep at the table :) ).
We'll certainly be back! Thank you for making the evening special!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is one of Steamboat's nicest restaurants. Our group was very casually dressed after a day outdoors, but we asked for an outdoor street-side table and were made to feel very welcome. There was a nice selection of wines by the glass and we snacked off the appetizer/bar food menus. Grilled dates were delicious, as was the lamb chop, onion soup, artisan cheese plate and creme brulee. The waiter was attentive and charming despite our casual appearance and despite the fact that we did not order expensive entrees. Will definitely return!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk City, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sometimes returning can be as good as you remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have not been in Steamboat for almost 20 years. L'Apogee used to be one of our favorites. We are traveling with friends who had never been there. On our first night in town we had to return. The best way to describe the meal was it was as good s we remembered. Our friends both said maybe one of the best meals of their lives. The service ,food, and atmosphere were all great.

If you want to experience one of the best anywhere, not just in Steamboat go to L'Apogee!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Service! EXCELLENT food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

One thing I want to feature about this restaurant is its pure consistency. I have eaten here over a dozen times in the past year. It is where I choose to celebrate my birthday annually and I simply love the service. The food; it speaks for itself. Truly a work of art.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Apogee Restaurant & Harwigs Grill also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to L'Apogee Restaurant & Harwigs Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Apogee Restaurant & Harwigs Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.