We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, so so service and ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cantina

The Cantina
818 Lincoln Ave., Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-879-0826
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 8th Street
Transit: Lincoln Avenue between 8th and 9th Street.
Description: Fun, casual dining in historic downtown Steamboat Springs, Colorado. The Cantina is one of Steamboat’s oldest dining establishments and serves creative Mexican cuisine and award winning fresh squeezed margaritas for lunch and dinner daily.The highly acclaimed fresh-squeezed margaritas are made with fresh lemons and limes — no sour mix here. Signature items include tequila-fired fajitas served flaming table side; Chimi Cozumel filled with shrimp, mushrooms & spinach topped with jalapeno pesto cream sauce; Carne Asada made with tender buffalo steak; and homemade cinnamon fried ice cream.The Cantina in Steamboat offers a children’s menu, a gluten free menu, a large variety of vegetarian options and plenty of fresh salads and soups.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good food, so so service and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

In downtown, can be hard to find a car park. Food was plentiful and enjoyable. Service was average given it was not busy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L17efty17, Owner at The Cantina, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello,

Im glad you enjoyed your experiance and yes, the parking behind the building does make it easier to access Cantina. If you could elaborate on the date and time you were here so that I can address the service issues it would be greatly helpful. I take these reviews very seriously and I strive to have the best service in Routt County. Sometimes servers have an off day but that is no excuse and we try to mitigate that the best that we can.. Again thank you for the review and if you could take the time to elaborate on your service at Cantina it would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Jeff LaRoche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    75
    35
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not great but not bad either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We randomly stopped into cantina for some food and drinks. It was kind of late on a Sunday so our options were very limited. The chips were definitely not good, in my opinion a total waste of calories. The food was pretty good, no real complaints but it just didn't blow me away or anything. Meat was kind of on the bland side and most importantly the margaritas were nothing special. The service was good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaforth, NSW
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great if you like corn chips and puff pastry bowls.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We went there as we were told that the "happy hour" was great. It was okay nothing special. Husband had nachos which was massive, daughter had chicken and fries off the kids menu and I had a salad which was served in a puff pastry basket. Why does this happen? I'm ordering a salad because I don't want the calories and yet they serve it in a puff pastry basket? Needless to say I didn't eat it and would have much preferred my salad to have come in a bowl than puff pastry. Had the raspberry margarita which was highly recommended but to me tasted like raspberry cordial. At $7.50 a pop (happy hour prices) I wouldn't recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

You can't go wrong here. This place has a great atmosphere right in the middle of downtown. You can walk to all the shops and then drop in for some great margaritas. I have had margaritas in hundreds of places and I would rank this place in the top 25 easily for margaritas. The food was great and reasonable for a ski town. Service was great too. No complaints here. If you want yummy fun food when walking in downtown steamboat, this is the place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere and good food and drinks! Walked in right off the street and the staff was very friendly and helpful! Food was great too!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cantina also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to The Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.