We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lunch Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ragnar's Sleigh Ride Dinner

Ragnar's Sleigh Ride Dinner
1475 Pine Grove Rd, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
9708715150
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
DALLAS TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

my wife and I ate here for lunch 2 days in a row. Some of the tastiest lunch meals that I've ever had.... and the view was to die for. Service was excellent the first day and average the next but the quality of the meals did not waver. The soups were delicious as was the ruben sandwich and the butternut squash was amazing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    15
    6
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not only a sleigh ride dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I recently had the opportunity to snowshoe to Ragnar's - not take the sleigh ride. We followed the snow shoe nature loop, across the saddle, and to the cat track which was a slight uphill grade to Ragnar's. This is a total of 2 miles. The only other way to access this restaurant is by skiing or with the sleigh ride.

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of food for lunch and the attention of the servers. The view of High Noon was remarkable. Since I don't ski this was a very pleasant way for me to see the mountain and enjoy the reward of a delicious lunch. The walk back to Thunderhead was a slight downhill and quite relaxing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great timely Gondalas up the mountain, given time to photograph and enjoy cocoa when we arrived at the top, followed by quick collection by the snow carts. Breathtaking views of steamboat springs, very delightful tour guide who doubled up as a barman in ragnars! Greeted by the staff delightfully with waving from the window. Made us feel very welcome. Great 5 courses lots of choice, bit disappointed by the chocolate fondue as just biscuits and a few strawberry s would have expected more strawberries marshmallows etc. but the steak was amazing, my mother even got the chef out to comment! Thanks ragnars for an amazing evening meal. We then had the breathtaking views of the sky and steamboat in the dark on our way back, lots of shooting stars!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch at Ragnars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stopped for lunch during skiing to take a break and decided to up our typical fare by having lunch at the sit down Ragnars. The service and food were good and it was a welcome break from the typical soup and pizza that you usually get at the lodges on the mountain. You will spend some money here as the prices are a bit high but worth it for a change of pace.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed a beautiful sunset on the gondola trip up to the sleigh ride. After a warm cup of hot chocolate we headed for the sleigh. The ride was about 15 minutes to the restaurant and the view was spectacular. Once at the restaurant we were greeted cheerfully by the staff and escorted to our table. The appetizers were waiting and very good. Dinner was good as well. The entertainment was a pleasant surprise throughout our dining experience. Dessert was off the charts. Service was fantastic. This is a must do!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragnar's Sleigh Ride Dinner also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Ragnar's Sleigh Ride Dinner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragnar's Sleigh Ride Dinner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.