We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View with Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hazie's

Hazie's
2305 Mt. Werner Circle, Thunderhead Lodge, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
9708715150
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hazie's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
virginia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great View with Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We ate here for lunch while skiing for the day. Great view of the slopes and good service. We ordered arugula salads with grilled chicken and marinated steak and a cheeseburger with garlic/parmesan fries which were well prepared but a bit costly. Portions of griiled chicken and steak on the salads were on the small side considering the cost ($18-19).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    16
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a yearly trip to dine near the top of Mt Werner. I have never been disappointed. Visiting friends are impressed and delighted by the whole experience. In any weather, snow, full moon and clear skies, or riding in the clouds this is a trip you don't want to miss. Last week six of us enjoyed the elk (done to perfection) and the pork shank - excellent!!

The Gondola ride up/down at night gives you a spectacular view of the quaint town of Steamboat below. The sleigh ride takes you from Thunderhead past some of the mountain's ski slopes along Duster to Ragnar's. Dress warmly as the ride can be on the cool side - ok, cold side if you are not bundled up. The staff is great and the cowpoke (be sure to tip him) singing adds to the magical atmosphere. I'll be back next year for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful View, Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We rode up to Hazies for lunch on our last day in Steamboat. The food was mediocre and over-priced but the view was fantastic!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Chance to Slow Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I ate here after a guided snowshoe tour of the mountain. Just outside Hazie's door is the normal hustle and bustle of the mountain. Once indoors, it was quiet and relaxed.
The food was excellent. I had a roasted chicken breast with brussels sprouts, cranberries, and mashed potatoes. All, perfectly cooked. For dessert, I had the molten chocolate cake.
Service was impeccable. Helpful, but never in the way.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsZiggy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, great mountain ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Make sure you understand what you are signing up for though! The gondola ride up at night is fun, and then you grab some hot chocolate or cider and get on your snow-cat pulled "sleigh" that fits about 50 people. Dress for the cold!!! They give you blankets which are great for bundling up, but its about a 20 minute sleigh ride each way and that's long enough to get cold if you don't have the right layers on!

The restaurant is not fancy, but its very nice mountain style. Our waitstaff was friendly and attentive and the guy playing the guitar was really impressive! Out of the 6 of us, 5 were thrilled with out dinner choices, and the 6th was so so (seafood pasta maybe? - I don't know, my steak was fantastic!).

We enjoyed a few free warm adult drinks at the end (get their house special mulled wine... i forgot what its called but it was tasty and the perfect amount of alcohol to keep just warm on the sleigh ride back!!) because of the underwhelming 6th dish and then it was back on the sleigh for a beautiful and peaceful quiet ride back (well, except for the snow-cat).

Would I do this regularly? No. Is this the best fancy dinner money can buy? No. Is it a good cheap option? Nope. But it is fun and a great experience with good food and something we'll do every time we go to steamboat (which unfortunately are trips with years in between) and I do recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hazie's also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Hazie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.