We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howelsen Ski Area

Howelsen Ski Area
845 Howelsen Parkway, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
+1 970-879-8499
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Howelsen Hill, Steamboat's best city park, has tubing, alpine and nordic skiing and ski jumping in the winter, and an alpine slide, hiking, biking, summer ski jumping, ball fields, tennis, and horseback riding in the summer. The Steamboat Pro Rodeo is at Howelsen Hill June through August on Friday and Saturday nights. Howelsen Hill is Colorado’s oldest continuously operated ski area, since 1915, and has the largest and most complete natural ski jumping complex in North America. Howelsen has been the training ground for more than 79 Olympians making over 130 Winter Olympic appearances, 15 members of the Colorado Ski Hall of Fame, and 6 members of the National Ski Hall of Fame.Howelsen Hill was recently acknowledged as a "Pioneer Ski Resort" by the International Skiing History Association and the Colorado Ski and Snowboard Museum and Hall of Fame.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great time!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We brought a group of 8 to tube after a day if skiing. It is centrally located, fairly inexpensive and so much fun! There are only two short runs which is the only reason I gave it 4 stars. However, we loved the kids who worked at the top of the hill including our buddy Charlie from Minnesota and really had a blast flying down the mountain! It was a very festive atmosphere chatting with other visitors from all over the country and just enjoying the beautiful Steamboat sunset!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Ski Area, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
There's no better place to catch the alpenglow and sunset in Steamboat than from the top of our tubing hill. We're thrilled you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great tubbing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Excellent place for tubbing with the family. The ramps are fast enough to enjoy, and not too fast to injure. Service excellent.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Ski Area, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We'll let our staff know to keep up with the good service. Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tubing at Howelsen Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Perhaps a little pricey but a great way to get acclimated to altitude and do something as a prelude skiing (the next day). People can go down (on individual inner tubes) in pretty much any configuration they want, but I noticed the real daredevils perch on their knees (and wipe out about 60% of the time). The hour-time limit is about as long as you'd want to stay because, after all, it consists of 2 "runs" side-by-side. Still, it was a fun hour. Dress warmly. Some wore helmets, but I do not think it is a necessity.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Ski Area, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Good to know you treated our tubing hill as your warm-up to Steamboat. Hopefully it set the tone for a great vacation. Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tubing was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Have been here a couple of times, best experience this time for tubing. Not crowded (although reservation needed), probably rode 10X over the course of an hour. Safe, fun, great for kids, with friendly people. Convenient to downtown.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Ski Area, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Good to read that the hill wasn't crowded this time. Thank you for coming back to have some fun with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Tubing was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband & I went here for adage. You have to make reservations ahead of time. We found coupons in town. It's right in the middle of town so it was easy to get to. The kids working there are friendly & made it more enjoyable. Sam & Connor were at the top of the hill and really made it fun. They would spin the tube as they let go or if you told them not to they wouldn't. My husband & I felt like teenagers on a date. It was so much fun. The hour flew by. They moving sidewalk made bringing the tube back to the top easy. The hardest thing about tubing was jumping off the moving sidewalk. You have to give this a try!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie D, Guest Relations Manager at Howelsen Ski Area, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
What a great review. Thank you. We're ecstatic to read we helped you feel like kids again. Woo-hoo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howelsen Ski Area also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Howelsen Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howelsen Ski Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.