We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for skiing in Steamboat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Storm Meadows Townhomes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Storm Meadows Townhomes to your Saves list
Storm Meadows Townhomes
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2415 Storm Meadows Drive, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487   |  
Hotel amenities
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best location for skiing in Steamboat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I travelled with the whole family (18 people!) and rented 2 adjoining town homes and they were worth every penny. The location is wonderful because it is truly Ski in/ Ski out, the view from every room is beautiful and accommodation is very comfortable. The living room is cozy and spadeful. Free and convenient easy parcking, and both the check in and check out process were a breeze. The units we stayed in are connected through a internal door and it was the perfect setting for a large family. I have travelled to other properties in Steamboat and highly recommend Storm Meadows as the best option for ski vacation.

Room Tip: The higher up the mountain, the quieter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed the mountain location, ambiance, cleanliness, ease of front door carport parking, balcony, fully equipped kitchen and laundry, 4-bedrooms and privacy of Storm Meadows Townhome unit #7 during our visit July 2-5, 2010! We would continue to use and highly recommend Mountain Resorts and the Storm Meadows Townhomes for future trips. Our previous stays in different units have been just as enjoyable. Staff at the check-in office was prompt, courteous and eager to help with information about local activities as well as confirm the services available through the property management office during our stay. A preprinted card in the unit gave us the opportunity to leave written comments regarding any maintenance concerns about the property which shows that the management firm is proactive in the care of the units. You will be pleased you chose Mountain Resorts and Storm Meadows Townhomes for your visit!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We stayed at the Trails at Storm Meadows 1/21 - 1/26/09. We've come to call it the Trials and for good reason. First, though, let me say that the condo itself was exceptional. It was comfortable, well decorated, had everything in the kitchen we needed to cook meals there, a private hot tub, a garage where we could store our gear, and was close to the slopes.

Upon choosing a resort we had criteria that needed to be met: 3 bedroom/3 bath with separate beds in one of the bedrooms as we had 2 single guys in our group, a washer/dryer, ski in/out, a fitness center, and on demand shuttle service. From the time the reservation was made over the phone, we felt mislead.

We were quoted $1600 for the Moraine and $2600 for the Trails. We were actually emailed the quote for the Moraine. When we decided on the Trails, we emailed back to request the quote given over the phone. We got an emailed response back 5 days later telling us that the higher quote given verbally was for the Moraine and that the Trails was sold out. Luckily we had spoken to someone in the meantime to reserve the Trails for the verbal quote given.

Check in was no problem and our condo was ready right away even though it was before the 4pm check in time. After arriving at the condo, all three bedrooms had king beds. There was a set of bunk beds in the downstairs living room, which one of the single guys slept in since there was no bedroom with the separate beds promised. When my husband called the desk to inquire about the twin beds, he was told, "We don't guarantee bedding." It shouldn't have been stated as such then for this particular unit when we made the reservation.

The access trails are okay for skiers who are experienced. From the condo, we walked from the downstairs bedroom, across a parking lot to get to the access trail. There are quite a few flat areas that were really tough for the snowboarders in our group. They opted for the shuttle service over the access trail. So much for ski in/out.

The shuttle service, as told to my husband when making the reservation, was not on demand. It's scheduled from 8am - 2:30pm every 15 minutes from shuttle stops throughout the Storm Meadows complexes to the base, except Storm Meadows at Christy Base. They have no shuttle service at all. Not real convenient hiking back with groceries for 4 people. After 2:30pm it's less frequent and only to the base. From 5pm til 10:30pm, the resort shuttle can take you to designated stops: downtown at certain streets, City Market, and the stop for the free city bus. So again, we were mislead about the "demand" shuttle.

My husband works out avidly and couldn't get information from anyone about where the fitness center was. There was no info about it in the guest info book, the answering service couldn't answer any questions and was unwilling to take a message about it. Once my husband was able to talk to someone at the front desk, he couldn't even give info about the hours.
When my husband finally found the fitness center on his own, it was about 3pm. There was an employee still there but the door was locked. Once my husband got his attention and he came to the door, the employee seemed put off that he had to do so. He told my husband, "The hot tub's not working so the boss is letting me go early." My husband told him he was there to use the fitness equipment. The employee repeated that he was being allowed to leave early. So much for customer service.

Transportation from/to the airport: We used Alpine Taxi. It's pretty much the only transportation from the airport and is perfect for those not renting a car. They're professional, courteous and on time. It's about $52/person round trip.

Ski rentals: Sports Authority is across the street from the Mountain Resorts check-in office. They're the cheapest for rentals we've found. So while you're waiting for your condo to be ready Sports Authority is right there and way easier to rent then than trying to get back to the store later.

Lift tickets: We booked ours through Mountain Resorts since they offered a discount if we bought them 10 days before our arrival.

As stated above, the condo was excellent, had plenty of room for everyone, the view was great, the hot tub was nice after a day on the slopes, and we were allowed to check out from the condo. Steamboat is a great place for skiing/snowboarding because of all the snow they get. Our vacation was really fun minus the minor frustrations. So before you decide to book with Mountain Resorts, consider all your criteria and ask specifically if those criteria are going to be met.

  • Liked — The condo was spacious, comfortable and very well appointed and decorated
  • Disliked — It wasn't a true ski in/out and the service provided needs much improvement
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2006

We just returned from renting a 4 br. condo at the Storm Meadows Townhomes. We have stayed in these units on our last 6 trips to Steamboat. Having been in Steamboat 20+ times, we know the area very well. These townhomes offer great ski in/out access and are on our favorite side of the mountain, less congestion and fewer people. The townhomes were built in the 70's so have some problems that come with the era in which they were built. They are smaller than many of the newer 4 br. units with only 3 baths and ski access from the lower bedroom. Our unit was redone several years ago, and seems to be upgraded slightly every year. The kitchen is in need of a redo and that is important to us as we cook during our stay. Friends stayed in another unit that was completely redone in a western theme with new kitchen (appliances and granite countertop), new master bath with air tub, and was very nice, although still small. This year all our bathrooms were remodeled with new fixtures and tiling. Some units, however, are in real need of updating, and unfortunately, you cannot find out which ones are very nice, OK or not so nice in advance. Units will not be guaranteed at time of booking, altho we did get the unit we requested. As lodging in this ski town goes, these units seem to be reasonably priced for the access they provide. We booked through Central Reservations as a package and were surprised to find they added a 1.5% placement fee on top of taxes, management fees, etc., which seemed to total nearly 20%. We will book next year throught Mountain Resorts and avoid the extra placement fee. Don't purchase gift cards through Central Reservations...they are very difficult to use anywhere but at resort owned venues.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Storm Meadows Townhomes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storm Meadows Townhomes

Address: 2415 Storm Meadows Drive, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Storm Meadows Townhomes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Storm Meadows Townhouses are located directly on the Right-O-Way ski trail giving guests the convenience of ski-in/ski-out. Storm Meadows Townhouses have long been one of the favorite ski-in/ski-out destinations in Steamboat. These three-level, three and four-bedroom townhouses offer exceptional privacy in a secluded, slope side location. Storm Meadows Townhouses offer guests the ability to ski to their lower level bedroom balcony. The ski trail is your backyard. Scheduled shuttle service to all of Steamboat is available to our winter guests with a short walk to the shuttle drop-off/pickup area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Storm Meadows Townhomes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm Meadows Townhomes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.