We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service ok seems to be improving...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laundry Restaurant

Laundry Restaurant
127 11th, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
970-870-0681
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Laundry Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Laundry is the latest endeavor from the Steamboat Restaurant Group. Located in the historic Soda Creek building, the home of the Steamboat Laundry from 1910 until 1977. Laundry's delightful blend of rustic charm and contemporary urban atmosphere are complimented by an eclectic beer and wine selection.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food, service ok seems to be improving...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Firstly, the food is DELICIOUS!!!! The service seems to be improving but beware don't bring anything to the attention of JJ (the tall guy) he doesn't care, doesn't listen & walks away while your talking!! I'm surprised to see that he's still here & running the place - BAD choice!!! He needs to remain behind the bar making drinks doing what he's good at. Managing a restaurant is not his forte!! They seemed to have listened to our suggestion about getting orders in quickly & promptly one right after another otherwise you'd be waiting upwards of 30 minutes in between plates. More about the food; if it wasn't so good we would not return due to Jj the manager but the food is wonderful!! Try the corn fritters, fall veggies & brisket philly (our favs)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Laundry Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Not knowing the full story I can't honestly agree or disagree with your thoughts about JJ. I do know that he is passionate about the food and genuinely works to put Laundry on the front line of quality in Steamboat. Sounds like the food didn't disappoint. We hope you decide to visit us again. Yes... we are always working to improve. I'll share this with JJ and see what can be done. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    50
    20
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California, United States
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Eat at the Laundry and enjoy the terrific laundry list (menu)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wow, what a great menu of tapas inspired items. Having eaten at the Laundry with a party of 6 was the perfect way to try lots of menu items shared by all. Starting with the Everything Board, Sturgeon Pastrami, Virgina Proscuitto, Elk Chorizo, Lamb Tasso, Nootka Sound Lox, Cherry Smoked Provolone, Funky Oaxaca, Pistachio Crusted Chèvre, Laundry Burrata, and Hot House Chocolate Cheddar served on a wood plank with flavorful crackers. We ordered the house made pickles, the Brussel Sprout Hash, Rock Shrimp Pow Pow, Fried Chicken & Waffles, and Hot Carmel Ribs (2 orders each). The ribs sweet and spicy and fall off the bone goodness. The Brussel sprout hash a must to be ordered. The chicken and waffles with the rosemary whipped cream a divine combination. Hopefully you get the idea, Rex, has created a wonderful addition to the Steamboat dining scene. Come prepared to order and share for terrific food and fun, the items add up quickly and with drinks the total although high definitely worth a trip to the Laundry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Laundry Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks Ken... sounds like you really took the concept to heart. Great to read that you tried so many different items and enjoyed them all. We love reading reviews from folks that appreciate the pleasure that comes from tasting, savoring and sharing a meal. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The Laundry Burns Bright, Cozy and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The foundry-type steel & wood coziness of Steamboat Spring’s The Laundry is the ideal example of this quaint pre-industrial theme so many eating establishments strive for in America’s hippest cities. This type of setting comes from old commercial buildings that have been adapted for use by a savvy chef seeking to define his/her culinary greatness against a memorable backdrop of genuine age: genuine wood, real structural metal, original window glass aged and bleary (think The Forge Public House in Fort Collins). In designing the restaurant, they change as little as possible, leaving original equipment 19th or early 20th century structural elements, especially wood and brickwork. It’s a charming environment, when done properly, as at The Laundry. The aged worn wood and black steel beams of what once was an actual commercial laundry facility have lent a perfect coloration to provide warmth and coziness to the room. The place is a dark invitation to whiskey drinks and, perhaps, a romantic meal. Indeed, the dining area even feels sturdy, with a comfortable and quiet solidity. It’s a pleasure to sit and enjoy, but an absolute thrill to sample the bar and the menu, with the assistance of the bartender. The gentleman was full of suggestions, and advised me the menu changes weekly. The top shelf liquor array was diverse and luxurious, with old standards and some interesting surprises.
Caramel glazed ribs were deliciously tender, in a big heaping pile on a fancy rectangular plate, all the rage. The sauce was very rich, sticky and sweet, and this would have made a great appetizer to share because after rib #3 the sweetness became overbearing. The side dish was an inspired slaw featuring brussel sprouts (who knew their ideal destination was aside cabbage in a fancy version of a picnic standard?). While the brussel sprouts stole the show from the cabbage, the ribs really deserved a salty counterpoint to the sweet brown barbecue sauce adjacent, rather than more sweetness. And what seemed like smart pairing initially, a delicious smoky Colorado bourbon on the rocks, ended up smothering the experience. The bourbon alone was an ideal drink for the restaurant, which I hope to visit again in the winter months, because its coziness should be irresistible then.
Sadly I missed the lamb belly and the shrimp and one of a handful of carefully engineered salad options, but still barely got out for $40. I recommend this establishment for a few reasons: first, the atmosphere is a flawless example of this type of hip cuisine/cocktail establishment. Secondly, the menu looks to be a dynamic challenge of top notch preparation that I’m eager to undertake. Thirdly, because I wonder if this place is making enough money to exist. These trendy restaurants so often fail, and this one is so lavish and expensive. Either The Laundry succeeds smashingly, or it fails the same way. As I arrived before the busy hours, the staff hung around pervasively behind me, dressed in black and looking very much like a security detail. They should relax a little. Visit The Laundry in the next year so that you can enjoy this experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Laundry Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Quick question... are you interested in a job as our copywriter??? I couldn't have written a more enjoyable description of our establishment if I tried. THANK YOU! Typically I attempt to respond to our reviews with some meaningful prose of my own but in this instance I think I'll leave well enough alone. Nice work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Where the Lambo driver's eat with their boy toys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

First rate food and service in a pleasantly renovated former laundry. Really. Presentation and taste superb. A bit pricey, and portions are large enough to share. Ask for tomatoes in the salad (which after all, w/o them is not a salad).

Surprised at how upscale were the women and their men, and admired the many fine automobiles parked nearby.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Laundry Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Not sure I can ever recall seeing a Lamborghini in Steamboat but it's nice to think that someone with that kind of ride would choose Laundry for their meal. We take it as the highest compliment and are extremely glad to read you enjoyed the experience. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WHAT A FIND!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were 3 friends from LA who enjoy good food, spending a few days at a friend's beautiful cabin in Steamboat relaxing, and we discovered The Laundry Restaurant by doing our own online research. Our instincts did not fail us. From the moment we walked into the historical building, we were enchanted. The building was actually a real laundry from 1910 to 1977, Steamboat Laundry. Our host, our waiter and our bartender welcomed us like we were regulars, they were all alot of fun. Because the menu is so interesting, the three of us ladies had so much fun deciding what we were going to order for dinner that we went through quite a few cocktails before we realized we should eat! The cocktails are as inventive as the food - many are from bartender's guides from the 50's and also some very modern infusion specials are offered daily. We tried the Kentucky Fall, Satan's Whiskers and the rosemary lemondrop, more than once. Simply delicious, and it's always fun to try something new. The food is small plates which meant we could order more plates and share. We tried the cheese board and ordered the extra cheese, Funky Oaxaca, because it's so unusual to see it on a menu. The homemade burrata melts in your mouth, really it does. We also started with the smoked trout "jar", which was delicious. Then we tried the caramel ribs, the fried chicken and waffles, the cream corn fritters (unbelievable) and the brussel sprout hash. We managed to share a dessert and the management sent over glasses of a dessert wine for us, compliments of the house. We all agreed the value was excellent and wished The Laundry Restaurant would open a branch in LA. I have never written an online review in my life, but this place is that good and I wish The Laundry Restaurant much success. Go to their website and check out the menu and the cocktails.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colomark, Guest Relations Manager at Laundry Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Sound the bell... it's a 5-Alarm Review!!! This is fantastic, and we're incredibly grateful for you describing the evening with such detail. Only 2 words can follow such a rave: THANK YOU (if I could bold and underline and highlight those words in yellow, I would :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laundry Restaurant also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Laundry Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laundry Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.