We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, very friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakery

The Bakery
2432 Downhill Drive Unit F, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
+1 970-734-7069
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Description: Fresh baked breads, pies, cakes, croissants, scones, muffins, cookies... Birthday cakes and special event cakes wholesale breads and baked goods
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, very friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The food was wonderful, their outdoor seating area was very comfortable, and they were sweet enough to offer free water and biscuits to my dog. Excellent place. I will definitely be back the next time I am in town.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome light breakfast/lunch option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Sweet little cafe on north end of town. Limited menu but everything is fresh, creative and wonderful. Super-friendly and courteous staff. Go there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

First of all, great bread. Every loaf I've tried has been flavorful and just as chewy or soft as it should be. The cookies and sweets are also delicious. The prices seemed quite fair, especially for a resort town. In general, it's a nice low-key place to grab a healthy lunch and some bread to bring home. It's great to have a bakery in town and I'll be going back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Not Really Local Prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

though the baked goods here are delicious, they are VERY expensive and it doesn't feel like a value at all ie you don't get much for what you (over)pay for.

we were drawn in by the article in the Steamboat Pilot where the owner was quoted as saying he was proud to offer baked goods at 'local's prices'.

we bought two quiches and they were delicious, but they were quite literally 4 bites a piece at the steep price of $3.50 plus tax.

Long story short- I don't think locals would ever want to pay a dollar a bite for something as inexpensive to make as a quiche!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug M, Owner at The Bakery, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hi- I'm sorry that you felt that the price of the quiche was too high at $3.50. My quiches contain the following: a puff pastry crust, cheese, usually 3 other fillings (today we had Bleu cheese, mushroom, leek, and spinach) and two eggs-worth of my quiche recipe. After reading your review, I checked another popular breakfast place downtown, and they had a side of two plain eggs on their menu for $3.55. I stand by being reasonably priced, and always try to be affordable. Again, I'm sorry you didn't feel you receive value for your money. Please come in again and give us another try? I would be happy to answer any questions you may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Delicious breads, cookies and lots more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Bakery and cafe just opened February 2012. It is a small cafe with 10 tables, attractively decorated and well-lighted. At this time they offer only coffee and baked goods, but they will be expanding their menu quickly to include other breakfast items. The baker has decades of experience. The manager was extremely friendly and also has many years of experience, including a very successful Aspen cafe. There were negatives. There are a limited number of items at this time, but the plans to expand the menu should be successful.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to The Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.