We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer service, maintenance issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   725 South Lincoln Avenue, Steamboat Springs, CO 80488   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Steamboat Springs
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good customer service, maintenance issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here on a recent ski trip. The hotel is located on the main highway, a few short blocks from downtown and about a 10 minute drive to the gondola. There is a free shuttle service that takes you to the gondola and also took my daughter and me to the ice castle on request. When you just want a room to stay in an otherwise expensive town, this hotel fit the bill. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros -- great customer service. Friendly, helpful hotel staff, shuttle drivers are pleasant and prompt, rooms are well sized and offer a wet bar with mini fridge and microwave. Warm cookies apres ski.

Cons -- free breakfast was not very good, maintenance issues...our first night, we stayed in a room with an older heating unit and it was so loud and came on every 30 seconds making it really difficult to sleep. The staff moved us to a new room, which was much quieter, and they gave us a voucher for a free night at any other Hampton (which was really great). New room was better, but neither room had hot water for the first two days. Someone did come out and look at our shower in the second room, and they did replace the water handle, but there was still no hot water. Finally got some on the 3rd day. Also, the foldout couch cushions were SO thin...our kids slept on it, so it wasn't bad for them, but an adult could not comfortably sleep there.

If you're looking for a budget-friendly hotel in Steamboat, this is a good choice, but we probably wouldn't choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: There is a railroad track that runs along the back of the hotel, so if you have an option, choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. I understand there were a few issues while you stayed with us and I am truly sorry you encountered these issues. I have sent your review to our Chief Engineer to make sure all of these issues have been corrected. It is our goal to exceed your expectations and I hope you would give us another opportunity to reach that goal. If you choose to visit Steamboat Springs again, please contact me personally. We have over 15 different room types and I would be more than happy to reserve a room that better fits your family. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    84
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
153
131
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. It's not a luxury hotel, but I felt like I got more than I paid for. For the reasons below I feel it is a 3.5 star hotel (but had to round up to 4).

Pros: (1) Free breakfast from 6-10 (waffles, cereal, bacon, eggs, bagels, yogurt), (2) Free hot apple cider coffee, tea and warm cookies in the lobby throughout the day, (3) Exceptionally friendly staff, after we checked in they called our room to make sure it was to our liking, (4) Free shuttle to ski mountain, (5) The free Steamboat bus stops right in front of the hotel every 10 minutes and runs from downtown to the ski mountain, (6) Our room was a king with a fireplace, it was a bit small but clean and nice furnishings.

Cons: (1) The fireplace in our room was on a 15 minute timer so we had to keep turning it on, (2) There could be more tables or places to eat breakfast at in the lobby, (3) The rooms on the third floor have individual stairs right above rooms on the second floor. Because of this I heard our upstairs neighbors running up and down the stairs in ski boots. Very annoying, but not much the hotel can do about that.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the fantastic review!! It was a delight hearing how you enjoyed your stay. The staff takes pride in exceeding your expectations and they were delighted to hear such kind comments. We have taken you list of Cons to see what we can do to make them into Pro’s. Our Chief Engineer is working on the fireplace to make sure it is correctly set in place. The fireplace should stay on for over an hour. Our hotel’s layout is a little different from any others and that is what makes us so unique. However, I do understand there are times when the stairs next to the second floor rooms can be a little louder. The next time you visit Steamboat Springs, please contact me personally and I would be more than happy to reserve a room for you on the top floor. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We needed a room for our family for a Saturday night. I booked in advance through HotWire (which was a very easy process). The room was handicapped accessible, although we did not require or request it. Everything seemed very clean. There was initially a very strong air-freshener/perfume smell, but my senses quickly acclimated and I didn't really notice it unless we left and returned. The facility has a 24-hour fitness room, although we didn't use it. It has outdoor hotubs (3) and an outdoor heated pool, which we did enjoy in the evening, even after the temps dropped to below zero. The complimentary breakfast was standard fare: passable, but nothing special. My only complaint was that although the beds were soft, I didn't sleep very well. I suspect because the bed was pretty bouncy and my husband and I probably woke each other up each time we moved. The pillows were soft, but small.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us. I have shared your comments with the entire staff and they were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I understand there were a few issues with the room and I have made sure our Chief Engineer and Rooms Division Manager are correcting that issue. If you choose to visit us again, please contact me personally and I would be more than happy to reserve a room for you that is not handicapped accessible. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed here several times for soccer tournaments in the summer and this was my first winter stay. We were supposed to stay at a different hotel (see my review on Quality Inn and Suites, Steamboat) but were able to secure a room here, fortunately. Jon helped us out so much, I appreciate his willingness. Our room smelled clean. It was so refreshing and big! Breakfast was convenient and decent. The overall appearance of the hotel was great. Looked clean and comforting. I thought it was funny to see people going to breakfast in bare feet or socks. Obviously they felt right at home. I loved being able to get a hot drink any time of the day. Thank you, thank you, thank you. You saved us from a horrible vacation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Wow!! Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I have shared your comments with the entire staff and they were delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. John is a great front desk agent and it is wonderful knowing he was able to help you. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My girls and I were upgraded to a King Suite upon arrival. The room was HUGE, the beds were soft and the bathrooms were spotless! I would recommend this hotel to any and all travelers staying in Steamboat Springs!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!! It is always a delight to hear such kind words. I have passed along your review to the rest of the staff and they were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I truely enjoyed are stay here.The train was a little surprizing but wasn't a big deal.The breakfast was very nice with a good variety.We had a small problem with the room,but maintenance had it fixed within an hour.Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review!! We always appreciate the kind words. I have passed along your comments with the rest of the staff. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Co-workers and I really enjoyed our recent stay(s) at the end of October, early November. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The converted ski-lodge layout was a bit confusing, but my room was cozy and clean. There is a railway on the west side of the parking lot, but I had an east side room and never heard the train. The HOT cider and donuts were a welcome addition to our cold mornings!

Room Tip: East side (train on west). Some of the double king rooms are HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane W, General Manager at Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! It is always a delight to hear when you have enjoyed your stay. We will continue to work hard to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs

Address: 725 South Lincoln Avenue, Steamboat Springs, CO 80488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#3 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the greatest of the great outdoors… Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Steamboat Springs.Don't be surprised if you see folks racing down the slopes in cowboy hats when you visit Steamboat Springs. While we offer world-class snow skiing, our city still has its roots in cowboy culture. So much so that our town's signature store still sells Western wear! When you visit our comfortable hotel in Steamboat Springs, you'll be close to it all, including great dining, shopping and entertainment, as well as year-round outdoor activities.After a busy day of meetings or outdoor adventures, you'll want a hotel in Steamboat Springs where you can relax and unwind. And that's just what you'll find at the Hampton Inn & Suites® Steamboat Springs hotel. We're conveniently located just half a mile from historic downtown and just over a mile from the popular Steamboat Ski Resort.Get a bird's-eye view of the Rocky Mountains from a hot-air balloon... Soak away all your troubles in our incredible hot springs... Enjoy a hike to scenic Fish Creek Falls... Or see future stars of the rodeo circuit at one of our popular rodeos. All this and much more is here for you when you visit our friendly hotel in Steamboat Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs Hotel Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.