We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! Excellent Bartenders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carl's Tavern

Carl's Tavern
700 Yampa Street, Steamboat Springs, CO
970.761.2060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carl's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th
Description: A place for the hungry. The thirsty. The legendary.Some people actually think the Wright Brothers perfected human flight. Around here, we all know better. Carl Howelsen turned Steamboat into a playground, skis into wings, and mustaches into an art form. His adventurous spirit is our inspiration - and Carl’s Tavern is a place for adventurous spirits to call home. Here, the hospitality is genuine, the beer is cold, and the food is made from scratch. So come as you are, make yourself at home, and share a few of your own legendary stories. Just don’t try to one-up Carl; you’ll hurt yourself.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious! Excellent Bartenders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Food amazing, wings - perfection with just seasoning! They had crispy artichokes and a huge variety of delicious food I hadn't seen around the skiiing spots. The place has to be for locals, it was just too perfect. Delicious Bloody Mary bar and $9 for an endless glass of mimosas. I had the bloodymary bar however there were two burly men having the mimosas so they must be delicious! Excellent place to watch football also.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    103
    75
    20
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss Carl's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This has to be the best chicken salad sandwich ever! Made with rotisserie chicken, grapes, pecans, avocados and a pesto aeoli dressing. The hand cut fries are delicious. They have a fantastic menu and service was superb. I will be back tomorrow for lunch too!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
“Great Food and Service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First thing they are so popular that you need to make reservations especially during the Hollidays!!! My family of 6 had a wonderful experience at Carl's!! From the front greeter to the wait staff was Awsome and the atmosphere was fun and family friendly. The Food was let's just say we left without desert because we had 3 different kind of appetizers that were so good that we could have stooped there but the main entree for all of us was FANTASTIC we could not do desert!! Price average for a nice meal well worth the money. Yes we will be back to eat on our next trip! The Carter Family

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We happened on this place late on a Friday night after arriving in Steamboat. It's not on the main street in Steamboat, just off of, but well worth the short detour. The place is hopping and the bar offers a wide variety of drinks. The prices are very reasonable. We were seated immediately. The menu totes in-house creations; from the pickles to the sandwiches. The food was delicious, portions were bountiful. Service was great!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited this restaurant with our boys (6 & 9); the service was very nice, but she was busy & not very attentive. However, the wings were great! From 4-6 p.m. wings are $0.50 each. Me and the boys ate 32. Wife ordered the meatloaf, she wasn't crazy about it. I'm sure there were better things on the menu. We'll visit again, very comfortable place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carl's Tavern also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Carl's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carl's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.