We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Western Lodge

Save Saved
You added Western Lodge to your Saves list
Western Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Western Lodge
1122 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
ST THOMAS
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Renovated. Right on the main street. Next to restaurants and shops. Shuttle bus accross the street. Clean. Excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    4
    2
    16
See reviews for
4
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

This property has really gone downhill since last year. I stayed here this year for a couple of days to extend my Steamboat stay and take advantage of more powder.

The powder was great but the room was filthy and the guy at the front desk was rude, emerges from the office in a cloud of smoke and just says the room is fine deal with it.

The walls are also a bit thin a fact that we got to know the way I still can't get out of my head.

  • Disliked — The bugs
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

If you feel like sleeping in a disgusting place that will smell and deal with an owner who will everything in his power to rip you off then this is the place for you. After being forced to stay in a smoking room after booking a non-smoking room and took one look at the room, I immediately asked for a refund. He changed the agreement, yet still tried to keep my full payment. After speaking with the local police, this apparently is not the first time it's happened either, happens frequently the police officer said. Moral of the story...DON'T STAY HERE!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything! Especially the prejudice owner!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

The owners have not made any efforts to update furnishings or interiors but everything (showers, outlets, lights, tv, minifridge) worked just fine. It was clean and reasonably quiet and the bed was comfortable. On the good side, it's within walking distance to downtown for dining and shopping. Although odd, the owner was helpful.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

All i can say do not stay here.The rooms are run down and nasty.The old guy that check us in was rude and tried to double bills us. What really buged me was he acted like he was doing us a favor.There are alot nicer places to stay in "The Boat"

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Western Lodge over Labor Day 2005. It's nothing fancy, but if you're looking for clean, and cheap this is the place. It's at the edge of downtown and within walking distance of many restaurants. Plus, Steamboat has a free bus system, so you can get around quite easily.
Our hotel room was quite spacious and had a small refrigerator in it. It worked well for us.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2005

My boyfriend and I decided to try to find a good deal for a hotel in Steamboat springs for Presidents day weekend. I had contacted the Western Lodge that Wednesday before and the lady quoted me 42.00 a night and the room avaliable (which was the only room available) was a two queen bed room. I called around to different hotels, and when I called back to make a reservation the next day, the "owner" said that the price just went up to 84.00. I explained that I had talked to someone the day before and they quoted me of 42.00 a night, and asked him if he would honor the price I was given the day before. He said no because the person I talked to the day before was wrong on the pricing. I also mentioned that when I checked on his website it also mentioned 42.00 a night. He said because there were two queen beds, he is charging 42.00 a bed a night. I explained that it was only my boyfriend and I (we will obviously be sharing a bed), and he said he understood that, but there are two beds in the room and he charged by the bed not the room. Needless to say we did not stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Lodge

Address: 1122 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Western Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Steamboat Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.