We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible. Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Western Lodge

Western Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Western Lodge to your Saves list
Western Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1122 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horrible. Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The rooms smell awful. The owner with the accent is an amazingly horrible, mean, and bigoted individual. he denied my disabled partner's entry into the room because he uses a service dog--we had papers-- and refused to return our deposit. We ended up having to call the cops to get our money back. Absolutely ridiculous.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    4
    2
    17
See reviews for
4
6
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pahrump, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here two nights in July, 2012. Reserved the room because it was cheap. We weren't expecting much but when we walked into the room, I began to relive motel stays from the 60's and 70's, only everything was from that time at present time! Old, old, smelly, dirty...it became humerous for us. Immediately, I pulled back the covers on the bed and inspected. Sheets were yard-sale quality and worse. Long black hair in the bed, sheets stained, blanket had stains. The quilt was old with a pattern that didn't show stain until we turned it over....gross yellow-ringed stains. The bathroom was dirty, toilet had not been cleaned (yellow dried drops on edge of bowl. Dried drops of whatever at base of bowl on floor, hair in bathtub. TV was from the 70's, attached to bracket on wall and the screen was layered with dust. Two old vinyl-covered chairs from the 70's. Carpet was old, needed a shampooing.

I called the owner and asked for clean bedding. She did come and change the bed sheets. She told me that the original sheets were clean but sometimes the hair doesn't get washed off! She assured me the quilt and blanket were clean. Oh, I forgot to mention the pillows! We had two pillows. Now, picture yourself back in 1970 with new solid foam pillows (the yellow foam and crumbled with time). Oh yes, we had pillows that were so old, the foam was crumbled and lumpy. And the pillow covers also had stains (I know for sure Salvation Army would not accept these pillows if donated).
We drove to WalMart, bought new cheap pillows, a couple of pillow cases, spray disinfectant, towels and paper towels.

I have stayed at motels that used old things from the 70's before. Loved the experience. Rooms were clean, smelled clean. But this room was the absolute worse experience I had ever had. Amazingly, at night, it was quiet. The air conditioner ran but the temperature was outside temperature....thermostat was broken.

The man was crude, thought himself as funny. I complained to the woman working at the desk about his lucid remarks he made when I made the reservation over the phone, that he was a creepy pervert with a strange sense of humor. She informed me the man was her husband. Oops....
The laundry room was filthy, just filled with big balls of dust in the corners. Unbelievable!
And finally, one cool thing? The vending Coke machine was from the 70's...I was surprised it hadn't been stolen. Had to be worth something...lol.

Room Tip: If you are traveling by car, bring your own bedding, cleaner and you should be fine for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

This is the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. The bathroom is moldy and grose. Everything in the room dates back to the 70's. Way out dated! Dusty. Smells awful. Scared to even sleep in the bed. Do NOT stay here unless you are stranded in a snow storm and its the only place vacant. AWFUL!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

This place should be condemned. No amenities. Absolutely filthy and smells terrible. I'm seriously considering just taking the loss and renting another room or sleeping in the car. Yes its really that bad!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Owner Peter was friendly, was helpful about things to do while in Steamboat and where to go. Room was nice and warm and very clean, bed was comfortable, room came with a firdge ( bonus), Grat Value for a expensive town in the middle of winter. Thanks for the stay Peter

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

A very nice no frills motel with ample parking on main street at the west side of town within easy walking distance of all amenities, center maximum 5 minute walk.
We had a large clean 2nd floor room and stayed 2 nights, would stay again on our next trip to Steamboat Springs.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST THOMAS
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Renovated. Right on the main street. Next to restaurants and shops. Shuttle bus accross the street. Clean. Excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Lodge

Address: 1122 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Western Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel Steamboat Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.