We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Relaxation in Steamboat Offseason...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Steamboat Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Steamboat Grand to your Saves list
The Steamboat Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ultimate Relaxation in Steamboat Offseason...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Pros:
*AWESOME pool. They best I've seen at any hotel. Perfect temp, two stellar whirlpools (huge, by the way). Perfect for singles and families alike. In addition they offer a bar service waitstaff while you're swimming.
*Clean rooms with huge bathrooms. Very new facility with nice bathroom fixtures, good lighting, etc.
*Lobby was beatiful, complete with a waterfall.

Cons:
*According to my travel guides and online resources this facility is supposed to have an onsite daycare. However, no one at the hotel (front desk, concierge) knew anything about this and said there is no nanny/daycare facility either in offseason or peak season. No one could explain the indiscrection.
*Supposed to come with in room bathrobes- this was not the case.
*In room wi-fi is a total pain. The hotel's server automatically logs you out after a certain time and it is password specific, so you have to call the front desk to get the password and re-log in.
*Room service menu is extremely limited and the other restaurants in the facility aren't always open. This may be different during peak season, I'm not sure. In addition, the prices were kind of high, even for Steamboat, and the food wasn't anything spectacular.
*Rooms are kind of small, so be prepared for that. But they are still really nice rooms. If you can, try to get a room with a balcony- that was a really nice bonus.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. It had a great vibe. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    111
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
155
92
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

Steamboat Grand was very nice, front counter staff really helpful and check in was easy and informative. We had a studio room which was very nice & modern but we felt it needed bedside cabinets & a full length mirror (which could have easily been attached to one of the walls). Really liked the area, both around Gondola Square & down town Steamboat. Plenty of restaurants and things to do made easier by the free bus which runs regularly.
There is lots to do in the summer - the gondola is running & it is great to go to the top and see the view, we went quad biking & river rafting, also there is the rodeo (we didn't go to this particular one as we had been elsewhere the week before). There was a lot of work going on in Gondola Square & we heard through the grapevine that some shops & bars are being knocked down & relocated, so that will mean more disruption. It didn't spoil our week though - don't suppose they can get much done in winter when all the skiers are there !!!

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — No bedside cabinets or full length mirror
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

This year, my daughter and granddaughter stayed in a Studio unit while my wife and I stayed in our Condo.

The unit has a full kitchen will full size appliances (Fridge, Range and Sink but with no disposal). There is a table with four chairs for eat in.

The bath has a double sink and full tub and shower. It is quite large for a Studio and more like one in a one or two bedroom.

The bed has been recently updated from a Murphy style to a regular queen size unit and is quite comfortable. There is also a hide a bed sofa so the unit can accommodate 4 people but with privacy for only two.

The Hotel is located right across the street about 100 yards from the Gondola for the Steamboat Ski Area. Guests and owners has access to a ski and boot storage location near the base of the area and the bell staff will transport all your ski and snowboard gear to that location when you check in and retrieve it at check out. Lift tickets and rental equipment can be obtained at the Hotel and they will be waiting at the Ski Storage facility.

The Spa and Health Club facilities are well equipped and well maintained. The Spa draws from other properties as well as the Hotel Guests so the service must be pretty good, an opinion concurred in by my daughter who had a facial while staying there.

The large pool is heated and has two very large whirlpools / hot tubs. Towels are provided at the pool while robes are hanging in the room for use at the Spa or pool.

The Hotel has two restaurants, The Cabin, a high-end dining room and Chaps, a more informal location. Both had very good food and excellent service. There is also a small coffee shop (Starbucks products) open in the morning and afternoon.

If you want a great ski vacation, I really recommend the Steamboat Grand as a base for enjoying Steamboat Springs. With the very extensive Free City bus service coupled with a Free Grand shuttle to town, no car is necessary provided you make prior arrangements for a ride from the airport, about 30 minutes away.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester_NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Steamboat Grand the last week of March for a ski getaway. This was our fuirst trip to the resort. We chose the Grand based on its rating and proximity to the slopes and for the most part were very pleased with our stay. We booked through the hotel's website which had some very good package options and I highly recommend considering it as an option to a travel agent or travel website.

The Hotel is across the street from Gondola Square, the main access point for the mountain. Depending on your room location you're about 200-300 yards from the gondola entrance. The base area also has quite a few dining and shopping options so a trip into the town of Steamboat is not a daily necessity.

As I said, overall we had a very nice stay. The restaurants in the property were very good. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds very comfortable. Nicely for those of us from the lower altitudes all rooms come with humidifiers. MOst room also come with firplaces. My main word of warning concerns the standard hotel rooms. Although they are billed as 650 sq feet they are SMALL! If you think the photos on the hotel website make them look small, trust me its' even smaller in person. Maybe not a problem outside of a ski vacation but not if you're equiped to hit the slopes. After seeing the room we asked if we could upgrade to a one bedroom. The desk clerk was kind enough to offer it at a discount after we expressed disappointment in the space (we inquired about a one bedroom when we checked in but the clerk said it would be an extra $200 a night! no thank you!). Other things that detracted from a higher rating were problems with the cable TV (the fix for losing the signal was to turn the dvd/vcr player on then off!) and the lack of sundries shop in the lobby. There's a Starbucks coffee counter that alos sells magazines but if you need any toiletries or drugs you have to go across the street to Gondola Square.

Bottom line is yes, this is a very nice hotel but not on par with a Fairmont or a Ritz-Carleton which seems to be where they are pricing themselves.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel room size
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Stayed at the Grand with a group for 3 nights. This is an upscale hotel with great access to the Steamboat Spring lifts. Overall, I liked the hotel but was disappointed with the on-site restaurants. Here's the details:

Staff: Friendly, professional, helpful.

Room: Clean, quiet, comfortable beds, complimentary broadband access views of valley or mountain available.

Gym: Plenty of treadmills, weights etc.

Pools/Jacuzzi: Large, heated pool and jacuzzi. Expect to see lots of kids/families.

Location: Great location. Skis can be rented right at the hotel, or for a better deal, across the street at a place called Ski Stalker. Regular shuttles are available to access downtown Steamboat Springs. Lifts are a short, scenic walk, literally across the street!

Food: Below average. Since we were with a group, we had daily brunch and some dinners in a private dining area/conference room. Some food, such as dinner salads were poor, with limp, lettuce. Breakfast eggs tasted powdery. The coffee shop is a better choice with good toasted bagels, daily Wall Street Journals/NY Times and Starbucks coffee available.

Service: Restaurant service at Chaps was adequate. Group service in private dining rooms was acceptable.

Housekeeping: Good, but only changes sheets once every four days, or upon request.

  • Liked — Accessable to Steamboat Ski Resort
  • Disliked — Hotel food
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aledo, tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

Stayed here on a girl's trip... hotel is very clean and nice....staff is great....am planning another trip this February! it is a short walk to the slopes, but no big deal

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — walk to the slopes
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

We stayed at the Steamboat Grand Resort on our honeymoon. Everything was wonderful! The room was modest in size, but very clean and quaint--decor suggest that of a ski chalet obviously. Nice view from the small balcony. Very modern. Great parking setup under the resort. Very nice, well-equipped, and quite spacious bathroom. Very good value for the money! I would recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Liked — Very clean and modern.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Tips/Secrets — Great off season rates!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steamboat Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.