We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Steamboat Grand

Save Saved
You added The Steamboat Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Steamboat Springs
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable. Seems like a high quality build with the room doors and built-ins being made of solid wood, granite countertops, etc. The service every where is excellent (except for The Cabin restaurant where service went from just okay to really good; and the food was also hit or miss there). Special thanks to Ryan at the front desk who treated us well! The pool and hot tubs are a nice size. The free shuttle to downtown is awesome!!! Ran every 15 minutes even in early summer. Easy to bike to downtown which is a few miles away; the trail mostly runs along the river, which is beautiful.

Room Tip: The king size deluxe rooms are comfortable and have a fireplace, jetted tub and balcony, but have ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review of The Steamboat Grand! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    93
    32
    17
    12
See reviews for
124
77
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We came for a Memorial Day weekend getaway from our home in Golden about 3 hours drive away. We have two boys 2 and 5 years old. There was a lacrosse tournament in town and it made for a fun day trip to go watch the event and our family had a blast. The kids at the hotel were not annoying and the pool was full but not overly packed. We had a king room attached to a big room with a pull-out sofa for the kids. Very nicely decorated and a fully equipped kitchen was included. We really enjoyed the great drink service at the pool as well as the food/service at The Cabin. The food there was excellent and the bartender was really nice (order the lobster mac and the kobe burger - both were five stars!. We enjoyed our trip so much we decided to make it a annual routine to make our memorial day getaway to lovely Steamboat Springs and the awesome Steamboat Grand. Other notes: Highly recommend Freshies for breakfast, my 5 year old loved the arcade with the old school hockey game, very attentive staff (we complained about a buzzing tv with bad color and a guy immediately showed up to correct some switched wires and the tv was fixed).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience while at The Grand. We are honored you and your family enjoyed your trip so much you decided to make it an annual one! We look forward to seeing you next May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nestled at 6,900 feet above sea level, this was my first visit to the famous ski resort made famous, since 1970, for its crystalline powder slopes by alpine ski racer Billy Kidd. But despite an absence of substantial snow to ski (it was May), Billy not being seen this Memorial Day weekend, and the threat of a very crowded town our visit was as pleasurable as can be. Following an easy 3 hour drive from Denver, Steamboat Springs offered a getaway that dreams are made of.

The Steamboat Grand is a large, modern and well maintained ski resort. It is located within 5 minutes of downtown with convenient free shuttle bus service. Staffed by well groomed quasi college age ski bums, the staff was incredibly accommodating, pleasant, and efficient. Our suite consisted of a two bedroom -two bath which comfortably slept 6 but could have easily had 8. The master bedroom was a king and had a small porch facing the mountain. It could have used some black out curtains so we didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn but we did want to get an early start to the day. Our bathroom was just outside the bedroom and served as the common bathroom for the suite. The space within the room was cramped with a tight squeeze to get into the master closet, but we were travelling light for the weekend so no biggie. A flat screen TV, ample drawer space, and a comfortable chair with ottoman rounded out the room. The second bedroom had a queen bed with it own bathroom, closet with a safe, and flat screen TV. This was commandeered by our 9 year old. (Guess we were just a little too slow at making our selection!)

The main living area boasted 2 built in day beds and a queen pull out sofa bed. At the suggestion of the front desk staff, they added an extra foam crate to each of these beds to make it more comfortable. When we arrived in the room, a staff of 3 came up immediately to fix the room just as we wanted, repaired 2 of the three telephones, and provide an extra outlet strip for our electronics. The staff couldn't have been nicer. A dining room table for 6 and a good size kitchen with a full size refrigerator topped off the suite. More than we needed...but felt like home for the weekend.

There are two eateries on site: one is the "Grand Cafe" a casual fast food "take and go" and the other a standard restaurant "The Cabin". The Take and go actually had well prepared food and was more of a snack bar. My breakfast favs were the bacon frittata and the bagel and lox. Other options included a delicious yogurt parfait, breakfast pizza, and biscuits and gravy among many other choices. Lattes, capuccinos , and baked goods rounded at my breakfast experience. The main restaurant had a breakfast buffet which was reasonably priced but somewhat disappointing as it was placed in the back hallway from the restaurant. Despite the omelet station, the rest of the fare was somewhat uninspiring and blah. We were not around for lunch or dinner but I was told that the food and service at 'The Cabin" was incredibly good.

There were several options for parking all of which were reasonably priced and easy to access. Bell men were always available to help move luggage, which is not always the case in many of the mountain resorts, especially in the off season. The downtown area was modern, well kept, and had numerous dining options from simple to elegant. You couldn't go wrong. The pool and spa were comfortable, had 2 hot tubs, and a bar and "Pool Side Bistro" within 20 feet of the pool. The pool was packed with families and well attended by some hard working wait staff.

Overall, a great lodging choice especially at a ski resort. I would highly recommend the Steamboat for its value, convenience, and services.

Room Tip: The hallways are very long so if you are travelling with someone with a mobility issue, request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the awesome and thorough review of The Steamboat Grand! We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and all the amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a quite mountain escape from the city but the suburbs decided to ruin our plans. I figured since it is the mud season it would be quiet. I did not get the memo that there was a pre teen lacrosse function going on this weekend in Steamboat. The hotel was full of little twerps running around with their sticks while their parents were sipping wine. The kids were running down the hallway after 10pm and before 8am. The pool and hot tubs were as crowded as a public facility on a 100 degree day. I bet they had an awesome weekend. I couldn't wait to get out of there.

The room was adequate and all the service was good and friendly. I was impressed with the servers at the pool under the circumstances they had to work with. I might of tried the restaurant but the only escape was to go into town. It probably would have been a nice stay on any other weekend.

I booked this place about a month and a half in advance. It would have been great of them to put us up at the Sheraton down the street after I complained. I understand that it's about making money but if they don't want the reputation of a Holiday Inn then they need to police the premises better to make it pleasant for all guest. We actually ate at Rex's, which was connected to the Holiday Inn and it seemed more chill than the Grand.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand. We are pleased you enjoyed the property and staff while you were here. However, I would like to apologize that you were not informed of the event taking place over the holiday weekend. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We returned to the Grand this weekend after a four year hiatus. We had such as terrible experience with the front desk and management 4 years ago that we thought we'd never return. However, a great rate, and several years later, we decided to give it another try.

The Grand is well located, has a great pool for the kids and is in a pretty setting. However, the front desk and management are so inexperienced and rude to guests, this will be our last visit.

When we first tried it we were with a large group. Upon checking in for our 2 bedroom condo, it took the front desk several people whispering to get us our keys, which we found odd until we realized they gave us 2 adjoining hotel bedrooms rather than a condo. Twenty minutes later of first laughter followed by arguing when the front desk would not admit their mistake, we finally got the condo after we showed them online what their condos were supposed to look like. The lack of admitting they made mistakes continued though out our entire stay. To top it off, on our last day, we learned from another member of our group that a full breakfast had been included in our rates. When we asked the front desk why they didn't give us the breakfast coupons, they said we had to ask.

Fast forward to this weekend, the front desk staff again were rude upon checking in and rude about responding to a late check out request. All I can say at this point, is thank you Grand for confirming why we have chosen all these years not to return. We travel to Steamboat about 5 times a year and it's a very friendly place. There are plenty of places that treat their guests as guests should be treated.

Don't stay at the Grand unless you have such a great deal, you can deal with their inexperience as hoteliers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I would like to apologize for your poor experience four years ago. After speaking with you at check out, I'm glad we were able to resolve this issue for you. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Steamboat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Well, early May was mud season and the slow month, but a great time for a conference. The Conference facilities were reasonable and the support staff worth the money. The food was great and everyone was really nice. The room was a 1 bedroom. I could not afford this in the regular season (we paid $129 per night). The room was clean and well kept. The rooms may be getting a little dated, but many are owned by people (I think). We were in room 635. The cleaning staff was great. We brought our own coffee, shampoo, etc. but they always checked to see if we needed anything. We ate out or at the conference, so we never got to eat at the Grande (except for pizza in the hospitality suite which was great). The pool and pool-hot tubs were fantastic. Again, this is a great place to stay and they do not try to charge for every amenity.

Room Tip: I liked the ones that looked south (pool was to the right).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Grand. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at our property and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the off season so the value for money was incredible. We were in room 653, a HUGE two bedroom condo (each with king beds) apparently this room can cater up to 8 people. Great aspect / view. Comfortable beds which is important!! Short drive to Downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for the superb review of The Steamboat Grand! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#8 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steamboat Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.