We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure at Altitude” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Steamboat Grand

Save Saved
You added The Steamboat Grand to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Steamboat Grand
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasure at Altitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nestled at 6,900 feet above sea level, this was my first visit to the famous ski resort made famous, since 1970, for its crystalline powder slopes by alpine ski racer Billy Kidd. But despite an absence of substantial snow to ski (it was May), Billy not being seen this Memorial Day weekend, and the threat of a very crowded town our visit was as pleasurable as can be. Following an easy 3 hour drive from Denver, Steamboat Springs offered a getaway that dreams are made of.

The Steamboat Grand is a large, modern and well maintained ski resort. It is located within 5 minutes of downtown with convenient free shuttle bus service. Staffed by well groomed quasi college age ski bums, the staff was incredibly accommodating, pleasant, and efficient. Our suite consisted of a two bedroom -two bath which comfortably slept 6 but could have easily had 8. The master bedroom was a king and had a small porch facing the mountain. It could have used some black out curtains so we didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn but we did want to get an early start to the day. Our bathroom was just outside the bedroom and served as the common bathroom for the suite. The space within the room was cramped with a tight squeeze to get into the master closet, but we were travelling light for the weekend so no biggie. A flat screen TV, ample drawer space, and a comfortable chair with ottoman rounded out the room. The second bedroom had a queen bed with it own bathroom, closet with a safe, and flat screen TV. This was commandeered by our 9 year old. (Guess we were just a little too slow at making our selection!)

The main living area boasted 2 built in day beds and a queen pull out sofa bed. At the suggestion of the front desk staff, they added an extra foam crate to each of these beds to make it more comfortable. When we arrived in the room, a staff of 3 came up immediately to fix the room just as we wanted, repaired 2 of the three telephones, and provide an extra outlet strip for our electronics. The staff couldn't have been nicer. A dining room table for 6 and a good size kitchen with a full size refrigerator topped off the suite. More than we needed...but felt like home for the weekend.

There are two eateries on site: one is the "Grand Cafe" a casual fast food "take and go" and the other a standard restaurant "The Cabin". The Take and go actually had well prepared food and was more of a snack bar. My breakfast favs were the bacon frittata and the bagel and lox. Other options included a delicious yogurt parfait, breakfast pizza, and biscuits and gravy among many other choices. Lattes, capuccinos , and baked goods rounded at my breakfast experience. The main restaurant had a breakfast buffet which was reasonably priced but somewhat disappointing as it was placed in the back hallway from the restaurant. Despite the omelet station, the rest of the fare was somewhat uninspiring and blah. We were not around for lunch or dinner but I was told that the food and service at 'The Cabin" was incredibly good.

There were several options for parking all of which were reasonably priced and easy to access. Bell men were always available to help move luggage, which is not always the case in many of the mountain resorts, especially in the off season. The downtown area was modern, well kept, and had numerous dining options from simple to elegant. You couldn't go wrong. The pool and spa were comfortable, had 2 hot tubs, and a bar and "Pool Side Bistro" within 20 feet of the pool. The pool was packed with families and well attended by some hard working wait staff.

Overall, a great lodging choice especially at a ski resort. I would highly recommend the Steamboat for its value, convenience, and services.

Room Tip: The hallways are very long so if you are travelling with someone with a mobility issue, request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the awesome and thorough review of The Steamboat Grand! We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and all the amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    96
    33
    19
    12
See reviews for
129
78
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a quite mountain escape from the city but the suburbs decided to ruin our plans. I figured since it is the mud season it would be quiet. I did not get the memo that there was a pre teen lacrosse function going on this weekend in Steamboat. The hotel was full of little twerps running around with their sticks while their parents were sipping wine. The kids were running down the hallway after 10pm and before 8am. The pool and hot tubs were as crowded as a public facility on a 100 degree day. I bet they had an awesome weekend. I couldn't wait to get out of there.

The room was adequate and all the service was good and friendly. I was impressed with the servers at the pool under the circumstances they had to work with. I might of tried the restaurant but the only escape was to go into town. It probably would have been a nice stay on any other weekend.

I booked this place about a month and a half in advance. It would have been great of them to put us up at the Sheraton down the street after I complained. I understand that it's about making money but if they don't want the reputation of a Holiday Inn then they need to police the premises better to make it pleasant for all guest. We actually ate at Rex's, which was connected to the Holiday Inn and it seemed more chill than the Grand.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Grand. We are pleased you enjoyed the property and staff while you were here. However, I would like to apologize that you were not informed of the event taking place over the holiday weekend. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We returned to the Grand this weekend after a four year hiatus. We had such as terrible experience with the front desk and management 4 years ago that we thought we'd never return. However, a great rate, and several years later, we decided to give it another try.

The Grand is well located, has a great pool for the kids and is in a pretty setting. However, the front desk and management are so inexperienced and rude to guests, this will be our last visit.

When we first tried it we were with a large group. Upon checking in for our 2 bedroom condo, it took the front desk several people whispering to get us our keys, which we found odd until we realized they gave us 2 adjoining hotel bedrooms rather than a condo. Twenty minutes later of first laughter followed by arguing when the front desk would not admit their mistake, we finally got the condo after we showed them online what their condos were supposed to look like. The lack of admitting they made mistakes continued though out our entire stay. To top it off, on our last day, we learned from another member of our group that a full breakfast had been included in our rates. When we asked the front desk why they didn't give us the breakfast coupons, they said we had to ask.

Fast forward to this weekend, the front desk staff again were rude upon checking in and rude about responding to a late check out request. All I can say at this point, is thank you Grand for confirming why we have chosen all these years not to return. We travel to Steamboat about 5 times a year and it's a very friendly place. There are plenty of places that treat their guests as guests should be treated.

Don't stay at the Grand unless you have such a great deal, you can deal with their inexperience as hoteliers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
I would like to apologize for your poor experience four years ago. After speaking with you at check out, I'm glad we were able to resolve this issue for you. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Steamboat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Well, early May was mud season and the slow month, but a great time for a conference. The Conference facilities were reasonable and the support staff worth the money. The food was great and everyone was really nice. The room was a 1 bedroom. I could not afford this in the regular season (we paid $129 per night). The room was clean and well kept. The rooms may be getting a little dated, but many are owned by people (I think). We were in room 635. The cleaning staff was great. We brought our own coffee, shampoo, etc. but they always checked to see if we needed anything. We ate out or at the conference, so we never got to eat at the Grande (except for pizza in the hospitality suite which was great). The pool and pool-hot tubs were fantastic. Again, this is a great place to stay and they do not try to charge for every amenity.

Room Tip: I liked the ones that looked south (pool was to the right).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on The Grand. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at our property and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the off season so the value for money was incredible. We were in room 653, a HUGE two bedroom condo (each with king beds) apparently this room can cater up to 8 people. Great aspect / view. Comfortable beds which is important!! Short drive to Downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for the superb review of The Steamboat Grand! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had to go to Steamboat Springs on business. I stayed at the Steamboat Grand. I really enjoyed the place, and the staff was exceptional. They took care of every need I had, with courtesy and a smile. I know they are paid to do this, I just think they did it better. And the mountains are awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our hotel and staff! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Husband and I stayed with another couple at Steamboat Grand in February of 2013. We arrived via the airport and had a transfer straight to the hotel which was great. The moment we arrived, everyone was extremely lovely and super helpful. We had a 1 bedroom suite overlooking the hotel hot tub and pool and it was great. Would have preferred the single king bed as we ended up with 2 doubles which for my husband and who are both tall, were a little too small but unfortunately the hotel was full so we couldn't swap. Having said that when we started snowboarding, by the end of the day we were so tired we didn't notice the small beds.
We enjoyed the buffet breakfast only once as we ended up using our kitchens in our rooms but it was tasty and fully stocked.
The on snow concierge for your snow gear was fantastic and never too busy to help you.
I also visited the day spa in the hotel which was lovely. While always overpriced, it was still a good massage that made my tired body very relaxed.
The hotel provided a super convenient shuttle during the evenings which made it so easy to get downtown for dinner. We never waited more than 10 minutes.
They also had a great happy hour in the evening with half priced drinks and appetisers which was a great way to start your evening off!!
If you are looking for a great hotel thats super close to the snow and has lots of amenities, the Steamboat Grand is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keegan W, Guest Relations Manager at The Steamboat Grand, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us your experience at The Grand. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the property and all the amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Steamboat Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Steamboat Grand

Address: 2300 Mt. Werner Circle, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Steamboat Grand 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Steamboat Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Steamboat Grand Hotel Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Grand Springs
Steamboat Grand Hotel Springs
Steamboat Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Steamboat Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;