We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sambi Cafe

Sambi Cafe
941 Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is relatively new. We visited in March 2011. We overheard the waiter mention to a patron that it has been open 4 months.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not the best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was not very impressed with the food nor the atmosphere. I do feel there are restaurants in Steamboat that are more affordable and better food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    32
    15
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, WI
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Only Thai in town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

New since we were there a year ago, we enjoyed the meal, but it was average at best, for Thai. can't vouch for the sushi, but who goes to Colorado for that? Atmosphere is so-so, and service is similar, but the shrimp rolls are very good, and the curry in a bowl with a large side of rice was ample and tasty with 5 levels of heat. If you like heat, go for nothing less than a 4. 5 is likely even better. Dessert offerings are sparse at best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mtns, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, Thai food, and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We are Steamboat locals and this is one of our favorite restaurants. Compared to other restaurants in town, it is NOT expensive. The sushi is always very fresh with generous portions and I agree with the other poster who says you have to try the Dougzilla roll -- it's definitely our favorite! We have tried many things on the menu without ever being disappointed and we always have fast, friendly service. Although there isn't a kids menu, they offered to make just plain noodles for our picky eater. We decided to get her the sesame chicken and she loved it! Sambi is a great place to go for weekday lunch as you get a generous entree portion along with soup and an eggroll. Thank you to Vicky who always provides fantastic service and keeps you laughing. Wonderful place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I love the rainbow roll. I usually have it for lunch, to get 8 pieces of sushi for $16 you can't go wrong, it is always fresh. Vicki our server knows how to treat her customers, my wife and I just love her. Thanks Sambi and all your staff!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a soup that was not good and the server replied that he would have ordered the other soup. So unprofessional. Food was just so so. Great place for a restaurant just not a good restaurant and expensive.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambi Cafe also viewed

Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to Sambi Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sambi Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.