We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, beautiful condo, friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trailhead Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trailhead Lodge to your Saves list
Trailhead Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1175 Bangtail Lane, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)   |  
Hotel amenities
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
“Wonderful stay, beautiful condo, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am very particular about where I stay and this condo met or exceeded all of our expectations. We had a lovely 3 BR/3 Bath with everything we needed and a wonderful balcony with gorgeous views. The furnishings were very nice and comfortable, the pool and grounds were beautiful, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. It is a bit expensive, but this is a true case of getting what you pay for so it was well worth it! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that our property met or exceeded your expectations. It is our goal at Steamboat Resorts by Wyndham Vacation Rentals to deliver a great experience to each and every one of our guests, and the staff will be pleased to see that we hit the mark with your visit. We look forward to having you with us at the Trailhead Lodge again soon.

Todd Siefken
General Manager - Trailhead Lodge
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    27
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
96
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We spent our 2012 Spring Break at the Trailhead Lodge and loved it! We had a beautiful 2 bedroom/2 bath with a full kitchen and everything we could ask for (and then some). The resort was at capacity, yet it was extraordinarily quiet...we couldn't hear a single sound from the neighboring units (unless we happened to be on our deck). The resort was spotless/very clean and the staff was very professional and extremely helpful. We didn't rent a car, so we relied on the hotel/resort shuttle to take us where we wanted to go...and they gladly obliged. I had originally planned on staying at a "ski-in/ski-out" resort...but at the last minute we gave this place a try....and we were so glad we did! This was even better than a ski-in/ski-out due to the gondola that takes you directly from your front door (about 30 feet from the front door) to the base of the ski hill. The location was superb, the staff was wonderful and the physical unit was quiet, clean, plush, and well-appointed. This was a class act, to say the least.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time post a review of your recent experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased you chose us for your spring break destination and that you loved your visit. I will let the staff know that you found them to be professional and helpful and that you found us to be a class act. That is great! Come back and see us again soon!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our family of four stayed at Trailhead Lodge over spring break. Our stay was first rate. The property is clean, new, beautiful and conveniently located. The rooms have plenty of space, beautiful kitchens with top of the line appliances and a washer and dryer in your unit. The bathrooms are huge and spacious, double sinks and plenty of cabinet space. I wish all hotels/condos had this much space. Staff was helpful and curteous. Had one problem and the manager/staff took care of it instantly. Gondola on the property. I could go on and on. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time post a review of your recent experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased you found our property to be first rate. I remember the problem you mentioned and although I am again very sorry it occurred, I am happy to see that we took care of the matter to your satisfaction. We hope to have you and your family with us again for a future stay.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This was our first time traveling to Colorado for a ski vacation. We loved our stay at Trailhead Lodge! From the accommodations in the room (we had a studio), the ski boot room, the hot tubs, the gondola, the shuttle service into town and the extremely helpful staff, it was all outstanding. We traveled with another family who stayed in a 1 bedroom unit. We used the kitchen in the 1 bedroom unit and found that the kitchens had everything we needed. We also used the BBQ which worked well. We had decided not to rent a car while we were staying at Trailhead Lodge because of the free shuttle offered. We rarely had to wait more than a few minutes for a shuttle. It was such a pleasure not to have to drive. Each morning when we were skiing, we would go to the boot room and put on our warm ski boots, go up stairs to retrieve our skis off the rack then walk a short distance to the gondola. What an efficient and fabulous way to start off ski day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time post a review of your recent experience at the Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you selected Trailhead Lodge for your first visit to Colorado and Steamboat Springs, and that you loved your visit. I will certainly forward your comments to the staff and hope to see you again in the future.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We came up for a couples vacation and wanted to check out the area before dragging the kids up. We usually ski in the NE and were concerned about altitude so we picked steamboat because it's one of the lower altitude resorts. We stayed 5 nights (2/26-3/1) in a 1 bedroom. Loved it! Roomy, clean, comfortable, and high end. We have never had better service. The staff was outstanding and so helpful. Skis were ready and out front every morning. Boot warmer room was a good place to get gear on. Short walk to gondola which was just steps outside front lobby. Loved the relaxing gondola ride. Only a 5 minute walk to base lifts. Skiing was good but not great. Not many groomed trails, had to rent powder skis (very heavy!), Signs on mtn are confusing so beware. Midweek wasn't crowded at all. Mtn food was good. Loved Mahogany Ridge Brewery downtown. Shuttle into town was a breeze. (Don't bother renting a car) Hot tubs were great after a day on the slopes. After getting the lay of the land, we realized there are not many true ski in ski outs that are reasonably priced. Do not fear the gondola, it is definitely the way to go. Trailhead was just what we expected! We wouldn't stay anywhere else at Steamboat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This property was even better than we expected. The quality and luxury of the rooms were exceptional. The staff was attentive and helpful and you will be spoiled by the private on-call shuttle service that will get you where you want to go quickly and with a smile on their face. The gondola service to the base of the mountain is an added bonus that rivals ski-in/ski-out accomodations. We will mark this property as a "go back again" place.

Room Tip: The upper floors have a great view. We were in 5106 and overlooked the mountains to the west of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased you found our property to be better than you expected and that quality of the rooms was exceptional, the staff was attentive, and that you would come back to stay with us again. Come back sooner rather than later!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatreorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Trailhead Lodge during Spring Break, a family of 4 (two small kids).
This was the perfect location for a ski vacation with kids:
Room includes a well equipped kitchen for breakfasts (with complementary doughnuts in the lobby), with dryer and washing machine in the room.
Ski services were perfect - storage room for boots and equipment, and a private gondola that takes you straight to the base of the ski resort.
The kids loved the 3 hot tubs, the big pool and the nice playing room.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I specifically want to mention the hotel's shuttle service - always available to drop us around town with an average of 4min wait!
One minor comment is the house keeping - they attend your room every second day and can improve.
Overall it was a great family ski vacation and we will definitely come back next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased you found our property to be well equipped, that the staff took good care of you and your kids enjoyed their visit. I value your input regarding our housekeeping services and will address this matter with our housekeeping manager. We look forward to your visit the next time you are in Steamboat!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanger@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trailhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Lodge

Address: 1175 Bangtail Lane, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trailhead Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Lodge is a fully furnished suite lodge located in the heart of Wildhorse Meadows, Steamboat's only master planned community. Guests will enjoy the peace and quiet of coming home to a residential resort neighborhood, while benefiting from convenient access to Steamboat's many activities and adventures. Trailhead Lodge offers many options in lodging including: studio, 1 bedroom with optional den, 2 bedrooms with optional den, or a 3 bedroom condo. Each unit comes with wireless internet, bath robes, Aveda bath products in bathrooms, and an in-unit washer & dryer. Enjoy all of Trailhead Lodge amenities including a pool, 3 hot tubs, fitness center, game room, and access to the Wildhorse Gondola which goes from the property up to Gondola Square. Trailhead Lodge also offers underground parking, Bar-B-Que area, and a shuttle service during the winter months ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Trailhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailhead Lodge By Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trailhead Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.