We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trailhead Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trailhead Lodge to your Saves list
Trailhead Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1175 Bangtail Lane, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
wilmington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Our family stayed at Trailhead Lodge last week. We could not have been happier with our choice! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly-from dining recommendations (thanks, Cat!) to delivering our luggage the airline lost and shuttling us to dinner (thanks, Chris!) they made us feel so at home. The facilities are extremely clean as well. The game room was lots of fun for the kids and the pool and hot tubs were a big hit as well. I enjoyed the workout room and we all loved the convenience of our skis on racks right by the gondola. Finally, the property is perfectly situated for incredible views. Our last day we watched a hot air balloon landing nearby in front of those beautiful mountains. We will be back and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. It means a lot to us that you decided on our property and that you were happy with your choice. I will pass along your comments to the staff (especially Cat and Chris) and we will hope to have you with us again in the future.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    30
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
106
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is the right place for a couple or a family. Depending on your mood, you can have a relaxed or a live night. The staff are great and extremely helpful. The manger can not be any better. The rooms and the living room are spacious with top notch furniture and appliances.
Two things that can make this unbeatable in Steamboat are daily housekeeping instead of every other day, and a nice cozy place for breakfast. Having said that, I still give this place 5 starts. They were amazing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased you found our property to be the right place for your family vacation and that the staff was helpful and the units were spacious and top notch. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you with us again the next time you are in Steamboat.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spent five nights at Trailhead Lodge in February. The accommodations were very comfortable and it was so easy to step out of the lodge, board the gondola and step out into Streamboat Village.

The staff at Trailhead Lodge is fantastic (particularly Caryn and Kate, but everyone was nice)! Very nice and they will help you with anything you need. The shuttle will take to restaurants, spas, the grocery store, etc. We never waited long and enjoyed the friendly shuttle drivers!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the slopes. They may cost a little more, but the view was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased to see that you found our accommodations comfortable and that the staff took such good care of you. We hope to see you for a return visit!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ellyn, il
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Just plain outstanding. We just finished a week in one of the two-bedroom units, and cannot wait to go back. Quiet, quiet, quiet. Outdoor hot tubs, pool, exercise room for those who did not get enough on the slopes. And the little gondola is worth it by itself at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. I am pleased you found the property to be quiet and that you enjoyed the amenities and the overall experience so much that you are looking forward to a return visit. We certainly look forward to having you back!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Staff is very helpful and friendly. Accommodations are beautiful. Location is excellent with the private gondola. Would not consider staying anywhere else. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time post a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. We try to remain focused on providing exemplary customer service and I am pleased to see we met that mark during your visit. I look forward to greeting you when you come back!

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week in March (I'm actually still here as I type this). We came for skiing, which was great, but our stay at the Trailhead Lodge was highlighted by the good and the bad.

Pros:
- well appointed rooms
- extremely helpful staff
- quick and always available shuttle
- excellent system for ski/ski boot storage
- on site gondola to take you to the base of the mountain

Cons:
- housekeeping left a used tissue in the middle of our floor...nice
- soundproofing is lacking; the people above us sounded like they had a nightly track meet
- one of the hot tubs was no better than lukewarm bath water
- the unit had plenty of televisions but surprisingly no dvd player...after a long day of skiing the option to watch a movie in the unit would have been nice (or at least some sort of channel list to know what's on tv)
- the unit seems to run fairly warm; had to keep the AC on all the time to keep it a reasonable temperature inside
- the boiler pipes in the den closet have the constant sound of running water that pervades the living area
- the unit was right across from the elevator and thus somewhat noisy with folks getting on and off

I really like the property but would have to have some things change before staying here again. I would ask for a unit away from the elevator and on the top floor. I enjoy my quiet and I believe that may be the only place to find some here. There also seem to be quiet a number of families that stay here. That's fine of course but one needs to be prepared for the inevitable group of unattended children running/screaming up and down the hall.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time post a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. I appreciate your positive comments and I value your honest feedback about the issues you mentioned. There are no excuses for the items you listed and I can assure you that they will be addressed with the staff. If we do have the opportunity to have you with us again in the future, please call me directly to book your reservation. I would be happy to offer you a unit that would suit your needs on the top floor away from the elevators, and would have a DVD player in your unit prior to your arrival as we do offer a limited number of them upon request.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, wv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Spent the first week of March here. We had a 1 bedroom condo and were very comfortable. We cooked several nights and were pleased with kitchen and utensils. The hot tubs were great.
The gondola to the ski area is literally 25 steps from the door. It was a treat. I can also recommend Christy sports for ski rentals. It is steps from gondola and they store skis overnight at no addl charge. We engaged in no lugging of equipment at all.
Love Steamboat!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteamboatResorts, General Manager at Trailhead Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time post a review of your experience at Trailhead Lodge. We appreciate your comments and hope to have you with us again for a future visit.

Todd Siefken
General Manager
generalmanager@steamboatresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trailhead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Lodge

Address: 1175 Bangtail Lane, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487 (Formerly Trailhead Lodge by Steamboat Resorts)
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trailhead Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trailhead Lodge is a fully furnished suite lodge located in the heart of Wildhorse Meadows, Steamboat's only master planned community. Guests will enjoy the peace and quiet of coming home to a residential resort neighborhood, while benefiting from convenient access to Steamboat's many activities and adventures. Trailhead Lodge offers many options in lodging including: studio, 1 bedroom with optional den, 2 bedrooms with optional den, or a 3 bedroom condo. Each unit comes with wireless internet, bath robes, Aveda bath products in bathrooms, and an in-unit washer & dryer. Enjoy all of Trailhead Lodge amenities including a pool, 3 hot tubs, fitness center, game room, and access to the Wildhorse Gondola which goes from the property up to Gondola Square. Trailhead Lodge also offers underground parking, Bar-B-Que area, and a shuttle service during the winter months ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Trailhead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailhead Lodge By Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trailhead Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.