We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bear Grande Chalet - Spectacular for large groups

Spectacular lodging for large groups
Spectacular lodging for large groups
Spectacular lodging for large groups
Stone and custom wood finishes
King bedrooms can also be configured with twin beds
Granite and custom tile finshes
High thread count linens and Euro comforters
Steamboat Springs
|
Rental Home – 
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TBerven
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
“Plenty of room for 5 families.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We rented this property to celebrate my parents 50th Anniversary. The house had plenty of room for everyone and it was clean. The elevators were great for my 90 year old grandmother.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kara W
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Best Place for a Multi-Generational Family Celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We rented the Bear Grande Chalet (includes both Brown Bear and Black Bear properties) to gather extended family and close friends for my 40th Birthday. It was amazing! We had 22 total guests (ages ranged from 3 to 73) and everyone had comfortable, private accommodations. In fact, this property is perfect for anyone who may be mobility-challenged, since both sides of the home have elevators (I have two family members with disabilities).

As for activities, shuttle service and the like...those of us that ski/snowboard were whisked away to the lift via Moving Mountains private, on-call shuttle service. Those that did not ski/snowboard enjoyed private in-house massages and others went on snowmobiling, cross-country skiing and tubing excursions. All these activities are quickly and easily arranged with the fabulous staff at Moving Mountains and many include prearranged or on-demand transportation to make things simple.

Our group chose to cook for ourselves and the kitchen setups are perfect. High-end appliances, plenty of dinnerware and counter space allowed for easy meal preparation. Per Genevieve's fantastic recommendation, we hired a chef/caterer to prepare a birthday dinner. Everyone raved about the food quality, variety and presentation.

We had a few minor issues with the house upon arrival. The ice makers in both kitchens were not producing ice and one garage door needed a minor repair. These issues were addressed within hours. There is no other operation I've encountered that comes close to the quality of service that Moving Mountains provides. We first rented with Moving Mountains in 2004 and will keep coming back. My sincere thanks and shout outs go to Genevieve, Amber, Sarah, Maddie and Robin for all their help in making this birthday celebration the best yet!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Spacious, luxurious accommodations. All have private baths.
Liked least: We gathered more often on one side of the house, which became crowded quickly with 22. It just meant we had to split the group across the two dining areas instead of having everyone on one side. A minor nit at best.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
Kara

Thank you for the kind words! We are so happy that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed the 40th birthday celebration.
We are all looking forward to working with you on future visits to Steamboat Springs.

Thank you for being a part of the Moving Mountains family!

Best Regards,
Sarah

Sales Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CJ
CO
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2013
It is great to hear that you had such a good time with your family, and what a wonderful family you have. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mjteacher
Shawnee, Ok
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“All the comforts of your dream home, plus some!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We just enjoyed an awesome family reunion staying at brown and black bear chalet!! 23 of us loved everything about it. It had every conceivable amenity you could think of including nespresso machines!
Bedding was wonderful, toiletries smelled great, and hot tubs were inviting! The views are beautiful!! We loved it!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jpblooms
hartford ct
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing ski vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Traveled with 9 adults and stayed at Brown bear chalet. The home is just as awesome as pictures. Spacious yet warm and cozy. Moving mountains staff and shuttle drivers were extremely helpful and attentive

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The lay out
Liked least: Can't think of any issues
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2013
Thanks for another great review of the Bear Chalets. This is one of our most popular homes, so let us know early if we can accommodate you again in Steamboat.

Robin Craigen,
Owner / President
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jim Carmouche
La
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience and I will make sure to share with all the staff. You could not be more correct that the Luxury Catered Package is the way to spoil all Mom's/ wives (and of course Dad's!) so you can enjoy 100% of your vacation with your family and children versus dealing with the "hassles" of transportation and food.

As first timers to Steamboat, Moving Mountains AND the Catering Package, we are so pleased that everything was to your liking and we can't wait to welcome you back next year!

Warm regards,
Elisabeth Mullen
Reservations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Georgia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2013
I can't tell you what pleasure it brings us to have had your clan return again and that we were able to supersede your expectations.

As always, we were sad to see you go but we look forward to our paths crossing again.

Robin Craigen,
Owner / President
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,511
/ Night
Make Inquiry
Talk to the Manager
(970) 367-4180
Manager
Moving Mountains
(970) 367-4180
Speaks English, Spanish, French, Italian
Listed since : Jun 2008
Calendar Updated: 11 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this manager is unavailable.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing