We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mountain lodge with a friendly touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpiner Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Alpiner Lodge to your Saves list
Alpiner Lodge
424 Lincoln Ave., Steamboat Springs, CO 80477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“mountain lodge with a friendly touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

i'm a fan. Loy, the front desk woman and manager, went out of her way to make us comfortable. she welcomed us with a cold beer upon check in. that was a nice touch. she also gave us the run-down of every place to eat, drink, hike, shop, and see in the area. the rates were extremely reasonable. and the place is under renovations, so i can't wait to see how things turn out when we go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
33
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Speaking as someone who's lived out of a suitcase for nearly two months -- The Alpiner Lodge was nothing short of an excellent, excellent hotel. It's note even a block from the main strip in Steamboat, and only about a 6 minute drive from Strawberry hot springs (which I would highly recommend). I was there during the summer - but the price is also low during ski season! The staff is incredibly nice, helpful and highly accommodating (they were totally ok, offered to let us check out late so we could shower after hiking, etc.) You are also greeted with beer or wine upon entrance, which I think adequately sums up the laid back atmosphere of the location. Rooms were updated and clean!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillcountry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The general manager and her entire staff deliver 5-star service. The Alpine is very clean and they take pride in that. The low cost of the room is possibly the best in town. Why spend twice as much elsewhere in this town on lodging when, with so many things to do, you're not going to spend much time indoors anyway? The location is the best! Right in a safe, nice part of town, with places to eat and visit at your doorstep. The Alpine is the most pet-friendly hotel in town. We spent 4 nights there; the money saved on lodging we spent at restaurants and attractions. We will stay there again on our next visit.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Staff was Nice, but I and My uncle stayed in adjoining rooms for four days and received room services only once and only because we finally asked where we should put the dirty towels. The downstairs was completely torn up (re-decorating) Not alot of parking, but the bedding was clean. Probably would not have stayed there if I would have known how torn up it was.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Alpiner is located right downtown in Steamboat with excellent access to shops and dining. It isn't a new place but it is clean and comfortable. Loy makes a point of making you feel welcome, like you are a couple of relatives who've just dropped in. She's excited to share information about Steamboat and then sends you on your way to enjoy the town. A great stay that beats the fancy places at the ski area with warmth and hospitality.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

the moment that tipped me over was watching the motorcycle group of guests dining outside their room after cooking on the hibachi. this property is in a great location. it's dated. expect warm hospitality in an attempt to cover for lacking amenities. the price is right but when you total up the savings you might come up short in satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I spent a night here. The price was good as it was out of season. The woman at the desk was very friendly, almost too friendly but helpful. She gave us all the advice we could want. The room was clean but not perfect. There was a little smudge on the wall I kept looking at. They were in the process of remodeling but that did not bother me. The hotel is a bit dated and didn't look as polished as some others but worked just fine.

BTW, the mexican restaurant across the stress is really good. No need to go somewhere else if u need a quick meal. We're vegetarians and they made us a variation of a platter on their menu that was really good and cheap. We shared a meal and were stuffed.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpiner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpiner Lodge

Address: 424 Lincoln Ave., Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpiner Lodge is a motel located in the heart of old town Steamboat. From the Alpiner you can walk to shops, restaurants, the hot springs pool, Howelsen ski area, the Yampa River Trail, the skateboard park, rodeo and museum. You will be greeted by a courteous staff who can assist you with your vacation plans. In the winter there is a cozy fire burning in the lobby were you can socialize with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Alpiner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpiner Hotel Steamboat Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpiner Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.