We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, A+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Steamboat Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Steamboat Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Steamboat Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   2200 Village Inn Court, P.O. Box 774808, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Teaneck, NJ
1 review
“Overall, A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

In order to give each facet of the trip its fair share, I need to break it down:

The accommodations: We stayed in the villas. They are brand new and gorgeous. The dark wood, rich colors, beautiful marble and tasteful decorations give the villa the mountain feel that compliments the area of Steamboat Springs. We stayed in a 3bd villa with a view of the mountain. Each room had its own bedroom, two robes and beautiful linens. The living quarters were spacious and beautiful with a table for 8, a fireplace and a breakfast bar where our guests sat and hung out. The villas have their own private spas at the top floor which were beautiful, comfortable and would be wonderful on a crisp winter evening. Overall, beautiful.

The building: The hotel facade could use some updating but the inside is beautiful. The lobby, saddles lounge, business area and fitness center are all excellently updated.

The staff: Immediately we were greeted with warmth and comfort. The girl that checked us in surprised us by informing us that we had been upgraded to a 3bd instead of the 2bd that we booked. She asked us why we were in Steamboat and was so excited when we told her that we were getting married. We met with Wendy who gave us an intro to Steamboat and all its activities. After we told her that we did not want to do an owner's update because of a terrible experience at another resort, she assured us that the meeting would only be an hour to respect our time and we would be compensated very well. Allison, the woman handling the update, was friendly, warm, positive and respectful. It was a big difference from our other owner's update. The rest of the staff from the maintenance men to the bellhops were awesome and very helpful.

The location: It sits at the base of the mountain which in ski season is perfect. During the summer, it worked out perfectly as well. We walked to Cafe Diva, one of Steamboat's best restaurants just around the corner from the resort. There was a concert during our stay that we could see from the balcony of our villa. You are just a few blocks away from City Market, Walmart, and about 12 minutes away from downtown Steamboat where there are shops, restaurants, bars, etc. There are some great hikes as you step out of the property and quick access to other hiking, atv rides, fishing, etc. Overall, great location.

In conclusion: stay in the villas. We cannot speak for the hotel because they are separate but the villas are beautiful. The villa and the staff made our stay in Steamboat truly memorable. We will definitely look to stay here again and have even talked about buying here. It is that excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    115
    44
    15
    5
See reviews for
152
90
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We recently held our family reunion at this wonderful property! It's located perfectly: right on the mountain across from the gondola. We loved the condos we were in! Each were uniquely decorated and had all the comforts of home. We especially were pleased with how modern and well equipped they each were PLUS the beds were incredibly comfy! We enjoyed the pool, the fitness center and the hot tubs! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly!

The resort has a free shuttle to town and there's so much to do in Steamboat! We were there during the 4th of July and enjoyed all the town's events and dined in a number of restaurants.

Everyone in my family were extremely happy with our stay. The kids ranged from age 1 to 8 and all had the best time!

Thank you to all at the Sheraton Steamboat Resort for the hospitality! We couldn't have had a better time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TxTgrLly
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We had a comfortable room with a balcony and wonderful view of the ski slope and gondola area below. The hotel looked brand new and the lobby area was extra cozy looking with great seating/fireplaces. Four outdoor hot tubs meant one was always available with a view. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I noticed they had a game room in case you are traveling with kids. Bar/restaurant was cozy with options in comfortable seating. Shops/restaurants/entertainment options were available nearby just outside the hotel. I noticed there was a rock wall and other family activities going on in the Gondola Sq. just outside the hotel. You have to drive a short distance in to downtown but available covered self parking for a fee was convenient for coming and going. We wanted to be away from any hustle and bustle of town so it was a wonderful start to our Colorado/NM trip.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

As great as it is to be right next to the slopes, the Sheraton really blew it on our latest visit. We had a dog in the room across the hall that started barking around 8:00 pm. We called the front desk after 15 minutes of this and got the "we'll see what we can do". Two hours later and the dog is still barking every time someone walks down the hall, so we call again.

"Did you at least contact your guests that brought the dog?"

"No, it's not our policy to require our guest's phone numbers."

Needless to say, we won't be returning to the Sheraton. There are plenty of other equally convenient options around the base area.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSteamboat, Manager at Sheraton Steamboat Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2009
The Sheraton Steamboat Resort is a pet friendly hotel. Those guest’s who do visit with their best friend, are required to complete a “pet waiver” agreement at check-in which alerts the guest to our pet policies. Most importantly, guests are made aware that at no time is the pet to be left unattended. Although we do a good job of communicating our policies, not everyone respects them. In those cases, we will make every attempt to contact the guest, and should we not connect with the guest, we do reserve the right to have the pet removed from the premise by animal control. We do appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and we do apologize that your stay was made less comfortable due to this situation. We promise to do a better job of enforcing our policies in the future and reacting in more urgent manner to protect the peace of a good nights rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We returned from a short 5 night stay on March 23, 2009. I have been to Steamboat before but neve to the Sheraton. This hotel has the absolute best location, bar none, on the mountain if you are a skier. It is literally 50 feet from the chair lift or 50 feet from the Gondola. Coupled with location is perfect service. From the moment you arrive the bellman, concierge, front desk staff, even the restaurant staff are top notch. At breakfast, on our departure day, I asked the server if he knew how much snow they had received overnight. He left and one minute later returned with the printed snow report for the day.

The hotel has about 180 rooms, all either single king or two queen. The rooms are all brand new and as a Starwood Preferred Guest (free to join) we were on a higher floor (7th floor) overlooking the outdoor heated pool, four outdoor hot tubs, and the ski mountain. A perfect view. There are also about 19 privately owned condos which can be rented either directly from the owner (if you can find their website) or from Sheraton if they are available. They are also completing about 20 timeshare two and three bedroom units. I was shown both, in addition to the room we stayed in. The condos, as privately owned, differ with their furnishings and the one that we saw was 5 star. The timeshares are all the same and the three bedroom unit is absolutely stunning, with a master bath to die for.

When we were there the sun was out and the temperature was in the mid 60's each day. Interesting to tan and ski at the same time. No car is needed as the hotel runs a shuttle to town and they will drop you off at any address you request, including runs to the supermarket. No charge for the shuttle and when you call for a pickup they arrived within 10 minutes.

We were fortunate to combine some Starwood points with $$ to get the room for only $60 a night, a real steal. For skiers this is an excellent location. They even offer free ski storage on the lower level of the hotel at the ski rental shop. This is perfect as it is a 5 foot walk to the snow.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

My husband and I just got back from the Sheraton Steamboat! We had an amazing time. The rooms are all brand new and in amazing shape! We had a king room and it was great, plus the rooms have fridges so you can pick up some food to have in your room! The sheraton was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

The Sheraton has the best of everything for the skier in Steamboat. The best location - shortest walk to the gondola, easiest access when returning from a big day on the mountain. A great bar, restaurant, great staff, ski valet, etc. With the recent renovation, this has become an outstanding hotel (I stay in hotels 80-100 nights a year). The only slight downgrade was typical high prices for breakfast (yikes). Other than that, it's a truly great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Steamboat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Steamboat Resort

Address: 2200 Village Inn Court, P.O. Box 774808, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#6 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Steamboat Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the Rockies, the Sheraton Steamboat Resort in Steamboat Springs, CO offers skiing, hiking, horseback riding, an 18-hole golf course, and more. We also have ski packages and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Steamboat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Steamboat Hotel Steamboat Springs
Sheraton Steamboat Springs
Steamboat Springs Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Steamboat Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.