We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous retreat, excellent customer service, and immaculate grounds and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs to your Saves list
Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1036 Lincoln Avenue, PO Box 773118, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
“Fabulous retreat, excellent customer service, and immaculate grounds and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

The Nordic Lodge stay began with one of the owners warmly and personally greeting me at the front desk. This was followed by an explanation of the ammenities on the premises (hot tub and pool) and current information on what is happening in town. The owner even pointed out coupons and specials that restaurants within walking distance were running over the weekend. The owners and staff also made special accommodations in the breakfast schedule and check-out times for the marathon runners, opening an hour early at 5am to let runner eat before catching the buses.

I will most certainly return to the Nordic Lodge and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    103
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
93
182
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed at the Nordic Lodge this past Friday night and received exactly what we were looking for....A clean and centrally located place for the 4 of us. They allow pets but you can't tell there are any around, are right downtown within walking of all the great restaurants, shops, etc. Most importantly the owners were very helpful in recommending great hikes, places to eat, etc. This hotel is a great value if your objective is to have a well suited home base for a lot of outdoor activity with friends, family, and pets.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

This is a great place to stay -- clean, well-appointed rooms at a reasonable price combined with excellent service from the staff. The manager directed us to a local restaurant (which runs 2-for-1 specials) where we enjoyed an excellent meal . The pool/hot tub area looks completely new and is in a secluded area next to a stream.
The microwave and refrigerator in each room as well as the laundry facility further adds to the economy and convenience of the lodge. This is not the only place we've stayed in Steamboat but will definitely be the only place to which we return on future visits. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

I stumbled upon the hotel and thought it looked modernized and clean. I walked in and the owner was very nice and helpful. He instructed me on some great restaurants in the area. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. No Motel 6 bed going on here. I also liked that there was a plug above the nightstand for easy access rather than digging behind the bed.. Nice touches to room such as wooden computer desk and flat screen tv. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

I don't know why this hotel is so recommended. Other than its location downtown and a relatively inexpensive price, I would never stay here again nor would I recommend it. Think Motel 6 and you get the idea of the set up and room size. They had no record of my reservation...the rooms were musty...the breakfast was a couple of boxes of cereal and a box of donuts on the counter. No tea. No decaf coffee. (and nothing in the room). You always had to ring to find a desk clerk. There is road construction going on out front and the workers stay in hotel. I had workers clomping up and down the stairs at all hours and a big rig idling outside my window and when I told the clerk that I had not slept all night because of the noise and asked him to cancel the remainder of my stay, he was rude ( I believe he said, "I live here too and I didn't hear nothing"). I moved down to the Fairfield on the edge of town and they were terrific. A King suite for $75 (and I had paid $99 at the Nordic Lodge). A good breakfast. They had construction crews staying there as well but I did not hear any noise. They are also renovating their rooms but the workers came and left while I was out during the day. So I slept peacefully as the snowflakes fluttered down outside my window.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

My boyfriend and I had been planning our first trip to Steamboat for a few weeks, so I checked out plenty of reviews to get a feel for the town. From the other reviews, we narrowed our prospective lodging to two choices, but after calling the Nordic Lodge first, I didn’t even bother checking availability of the other hotel. Nordic was so helpful, with detailed and friendly answers to all of my questions, and very reasonable rates. Upon check-in, the owner Gregg asked about our plans – which were to rent snowshoes the first day– but instead, Gregg insisted that we borrow his 2 pairs! He also pointed us in the direction of some great trails, and we saved the rental $. The room was larger than I had expected, and very clean! The complimentary breakfast was relatively standard –fruit, granola bars, bagels, toast, donuts, pastries, waffles, pancakes, milk, cereal, juice, and coffee. The staff at the Nordic was super friendly and had excellent suggestions for everything: dining, shopping, outdoor activities, etc. If you are looking to stay in downtown Steamboat, I would absolutely suggest Nordic Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I'm a very choosy traveler, and loved the Nordic Lodge. This is an excellent lower price point hotel option for those wanting to ski in Steamboat.

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Motel, exterior door, type setup. Flat screen TV's, microwaves in room and comfortable beds.

The owner was VERY helpful and friendly. Very accomodating when we arrived before check in time to store our bags while we shopped locally.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs

Address: 1036 Lincoln Avenue, PO Box 773118, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Location: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Steamboat Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Steamboat Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best lodging downtown Steamboat. Top rated hotel, motel and condo units, outdoor pool, indoor hot tub, refrigerator and microwave, Free Wi-Fi, walking distance to 30 restaurants, Yampa River, parks, kayaking, hot springs, skiing, ice skating, fishing, biking, snowshoeing, walking, hiking, running trails, shopping, movies, local markets, Colorado Mountain College, soda Creek Elementary, favorite place to stay, new rooms, great reviews, best location, newest rooms downtown, close, convenient, comfortable, very clean, discounted rates and packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Lodge Of Steamboat Springs Hotel Steamboat Springs
Nordic Hotel Steamboat Springs
Nordic Motel Steamboat Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic Lodge of Steamboat Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.