We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely has improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cabin

The Cabin
2300 Mt Werner Cir, Steamboat Springs, CO
970 871 5550
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cabin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Definitely has improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Cabin's food has improved over the years and is now good enough that I would go back. For a lot of years they were in the fine dining category of expensive and didn't back it up with a consistently great delivery across the menu. They've now backed off the high prices some and improved the quality to what one might expect in a AAA 4-diamond hotel. It's a nice atmosphere as well. Lots of steak and interesting entrees like Elk (which I had and was really good), variety, and things for the kids. Keep in mind there are better places in Steamboat; I wouldn't call this "fine dining". I'd call it a notch below that but for the price (in this town) it's now a reasonable value. Their breakfast buffet is also good; they have an omelet station. The service at this restaurant though, always falls below the food - it has been that way for a decade and the same this year. On this trip, at breakfast I watched my waitress clearing a table while she hadn't even been to see us yet - and there was no need to clear a table because the place was 3/4 empty. Or they just disappear in back, while the place is mostly empty, and you can't find them. ...Perhaps they just hire inexperienced wait staff. But if you're not in a hurry, you can get over that. It's a little bit pricey for a family, but then again, this is Steamboat and probably not much more than any nice "family" place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Presentation could do with improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This looks like a fairly upmarket place in the Steamboat Grand hotel. Our server went into great detail about the menu (if anything, too much detail). The food was well cooked and tasty, but, perhaps because we chose the meatloaf and the half chicken, the presentation left a lot to be desired - it certainly didn't match the feel of the restaurant. Not somewhere we would rush to return to.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Buffet needs lots of work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Don't waste your money on the buffet, unless you like to get your food from a hall way outside the restaurant and then carry it back into the restaurant. Christmas dinner was so so, for the money you can do much better taking the shuttle to a real restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First timers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went here our first night was nice because we could walk. We had burgers and sandwiches which were good also meatloaf was great. Service could have been better but she had several large tables. Was good about bringing samples of beer so we could decide what we wanted.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the $$$$”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We wanted a 'special' Christmas dinner and what we got was an overpriced hotel experience. The buffet was mediocre at best but for the price, it should have been much, much better. Our server was exceptional, but could not make up for the feeling of getting completely ripped off just because it was Christmas. Next time, I'll choose one of the quality restaurants and stay away from The Cabin. Very dissapointed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cabin also viewed

 
Steamboat Springs, CO
Steamboat Springs, CO
 

Been to The Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.