We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, very friendly, laid back, rustic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Spruce Lodge to your Saves list
Spruce Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29431 W. Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Vail, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place, very friendly, laid back, rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We were on a snowmobiling trip and called last minute. Wonderful room rate on a 2 Bedroom suite, included breakfast! Lots of dogs and cats around, fun to hang out with. Very friendly folks, casual atmosphere. They gave us plenty of advice on places to go, eating options, etc. There is a bar/restautrant right next door called the Shaft which worked out real well. Good food. Plenty of parking for trailers/RVs

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    27
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
50
43
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

In February 2010 we stayed what was to be 3 nights for a snowmobile trip. We have stayed at the Spruce quite a few times before.

About a day into the trip my wife severely sprained her wrist while out riding. This was one of those injuries that started off rather small but as time grew on it became apparent and disabling. Having booked numerous days we were in a tight spot as she couldn’t ride.

Dee, the owner, was extremely accommodating. As we checked out she had a check in hand for the difference. Most lodges once its booked and paid, that’s it, no doing back.

Thanks for your understanding and great customer service, Spruce Lodge is our destination in South Fork!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I always enjoy staying at the Spruce Lodge. The rooms are clean, spacious and private. The atmosphere is low keyed and comfortable. The price is great for a vacation getaway and Rob and Dee always treat me like family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at The Spruce Lodge. We snowmobiled in the area so your location was great. Your hospitality was greatly appreciated. The breakfast was very good also. Thanks again Ken & Joyce Schierbeek and Boys

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Dee and Rob the owners do a great job of running this lodge. The room's are great its close to the mountain. What makes this place stand out so much is its feel of a older lodge and the owners doing everything they can to make sure you have a great trip. I definitly will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Dee and Rob made us feel like part of the family during our stay over Christmas. This was our 3rd visit to the Spruce Lodge, and it just keeps getting better! The remodeled and updated suites are cozy and comfortable with plenty of room so it doesn't feel cramped with 2 people. The jacuzzi tubs in each suite are perfect after a day on the slopes at Wolf Creek Mtn. (the ski resort is about 17 miles west of the lodge) There is also a large hot tub for a more communal soaking experience. Rob and Dee have created a wonderful atmosphere at the Spruce, all the while keeping the cost very affordable. For my money they are the best value of any lodge I've stayed in near a ski area. In the end, its not about the money, we would stay there if it was more expensive, its about the way it just feels like a home away from home. I have to end by saying I recommend the Spruce to everyone I know who even might be going to that part of Colorado.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We have been staying at Spruce Lodge for 3 years now and love it! It is a great combination of down-home and luxurious. Rob and Dee, owners, are laid back and friendly and do everything they can to make your stay wonderful. The newly renovated suites with spa tubs and fireplaces are amazing. The history of the lodge is an added bonus. All this for a really reasonable price--a terrific value. So close to Wolf Creek Ski Resort, also a great value! Highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Spruce Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Lodge

Address: 29431 W. Highway 160, PO Box 159, South Fork, CO 81154
Location: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spruce Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spruce Lodge is now better than ever!! We have renovated even more rooms, added an outdoor firepit, new sidewalks and more! The Spruce Lodge is a laid back, mountain property with room to stretch out! Cabins, Hotel rooms, Bunkhouses and suites make up our unique historic property. Choose cheap and comfortable or pay a little more for a great upgrade to one of our newly remodeled suites. The Spruce Lodge has something for every budget and every family or group dynamic. Free continental breakfast is included of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Spruce Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hotel South Fork
Spruce Lodge Colorado/South Fork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.