We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try a different campground” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riverbend Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Fork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverbend Resort
Save
You added Riverbend Resort to your Saves list
33846 W. Hwy. 160, South Fork, CO 81154-1270   |  
Hotel amenities
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try a different campground”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

As stated by another reviewer, spaces are very close together. Location is also an issue. We had a space at the front of the campground(OK the cheaper sites). Road noise from the nearby highway was a problem both day and night. We found the campground manager/owner to be rather rude and insolent. Finally there are several campgrounds up toward Wolf Creeks with much better rates,better facilities, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here on our way back home for a couple of nights. The staff was super friendly! The facilities & campground were clean. Everyone was very nice & people seemed to want to get to know you. The sites are close together, so it is tight gettting your trailer in & out. The river is just below the campground & very easy to get to. We fished & hiked the area...lots of fun. We did enjoy our time there & would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We found South Fork in 2006 while passing through and have stayed at Riverbend every year since – in Lil’ Red cabin at first and Blue Spruce – the 3rd time will be this coming August. The cabins are clean, and, quiet nice views of the South Fork of the Rio Grande. The original ones, such as Lil’ Red, are rustic. Blue Spruce is a double-wide mobile home in good condition. The cabins are well-furnished - all you need is food. There’s none at the office. There are restaurants, grocery, ice, gas, fishing tackle and much more in South Fork 3 miles down the hill. On the way in, stock up at the larger groceries in Alamosa or Pagosa. Bring personal preference items – fan, favorite frying pan for fish, propane table-top grill or briquettes/starter. The campground is quiet, serene, and pleasant. We’ve been completely satisfied. The staff is helpful and friendly as are the other guests. There are no noisy children or dogs. Day trips to Creede, Lake City, the overlook above Wolf Creek Pass and other Forest Service Roads. Mesa Verde Natl. Park is a day’s round trip away. We go for the fishing and have limited out at Big Meadows Reservoir which is good bank fishing and has a boat ramp. Tucker Ponds is handicap accessible and has fair fishing. You can wade-fish (fly or spinner) on the Riverbend property, going either up or downstream. There’s several tent sites right along the river bank – neat. The other reviews are right-on-target (the positives anyway). It’s nice. By the way, it’s not a “resort” just fine Colorado camping.

Room Tip: The older cabins are rustic but we’ve been satisfied with Lil’ Red. It’s small. Blue Spruce is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We have stayed at Riverbend a couple of times this winter on ski trips. The location is great, and the cabins are well maintained even if they are on the older side. Cozy fireplace, full kitchen, and comfortable bed. For the price it is a great deal for a quiet and private place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I discovered Riverbend Resort in 2007 and return each year for skiing at Wolf Creek. We enjoyed our winter stays so much we made it our summer destination as well. The cabins are warm, cozy, comfortable and very clean. The owners Dan and Linda as well as their entire staff are incredible people and always make sure our stay is the best it can be. If you are looking for a winter or summer retreat you can't go wrong with Riverbend Resort, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We ran across River Bend and decided to stay and we didnt want to leave! We started out in the Blue Spruce then moved to the Hummingbird Cabin because it had a private Hot Tub. It was the best 2 days of our week long Colorado Trip. I recommend this place to every South Fork visitor.

Womack

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed on lot 6 and it was very small. When an RV was parked next to us, we had very little space to even move around the picnic table. The travel trailer next to us had a big red hose that definitely took away from the ambience along w/the hookups for that site that seemed to be part of our lot. The rest of the amenities were okay. Do not count on purchasing any food items you may have forgotten, like ketsup or marshmallows. The office only sells nicknacks which you do not need for camping. Also, you cannot just walk down to the river. You have to go to either end of the camping ground (not really a resort) to get safely to the river. We would not camp here again when there are so many resorts in CO w/lots of room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverbend Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Resort

Address: 33846 W. Hwy. 160, South Fork, CO 81154-1270
Location: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in South Fork
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River front cabins and camping, 3 miles from South Fork, CO. Modern log cabins have at least one bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, gas furnace, wood burning fireplace, flat screen TV, outdoor charcoal grill and a covered deck.Bedding and linens provided, Pet Friendly, Wi-Fi, Satellite TV, Laundry, Showers, Playground, Rec hall, Game Room, Gift Shop. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverbend Resort Colorado/South Fork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverbend Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.