We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foothills Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Foothills Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   0035 Silver Thread Lane, South Fork, CO 81154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Keller
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We've been coming here for many years and love the South Fork area. We always have loved the accommodations here at the Foothills. This trip was special because of the fire that had threatened the area. The owners have just updated the rooms and cabins with new furniture and mattresses. You can tell they really care about this property. Not a trace of ash or soot - Clean! All our needs were provided for with a smile. Will be back again and again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    29
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
40
36
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I would definitely stay here again. Everything was clean and well stocked. The two bedroom cabin was just what we needed. Most of our time was spent away from the cabin but it sort of felt like we were "coming home" when we got back to South Fork each night.The beds were comfy and the price can't be beat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of Foothills Lodge and Cabins. We have many new enhancements and are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay. It is encouraging to know you will be back! Thank you for being such a great guest. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I travel through Colorado on our way to Utah from Dallas, TX. We decided to give Foothills Lodge and Cabins a try. Needless to say that we will be staying here from now on when we make our yearly trip. I actually would like to stay a few days next time and explore the local hiking trails. The cabin was spotless, had everything we needed, and the property was well organized and maintained. I also want to give a shout out to MIchael the Cat. He was the first one to greet us when we arrived and my daughter just loved him. See you guys next year!

Room Tip: The whole property is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We just purchased all new beds and had a recent face lift. It warms our hearts to have our guests notice our efforts. Michael is THE best greeter! He has been with us around 5 or 6 years having been dropped off here in the middle of winter. He was skin and bones ..... now he is quite the hefty feline. So glad you had a wonderful time. We love what we do here. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed here in the past and I will do it again. I have not been able to find a cleaner, better run property in this part of Colorado. I like to ski in the winter, bike, hike and raft in the summer and fall and Foothills in South Fork is the ideal place for me settle in for my vacations. The cabins have one and two bedrooms with futons in the living room to accommodate larger groups. The rooms are tastefully decorated in a rustic motif. Each cabin has a fridge, stove, microwave and a full complement of cooking utensils. Cable TV is also included and of course free WiFi. Oh and they have a hot tub.

Room Tip: My preference is staying in the stand alone cabins but the lodge cabins have the same amenities and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We have new management and are doing everything we can to promote great customer service. Looking forward to having you stay with us again. THANKS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I travel to South Fork a couple of times a year. We always stay at the foothills.. It's like being at home. There is a living room and kitchen with a full refrigerator. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen is stocked with dishware and pots and pans. It is very reasonably priced for what you get. I would highly recommend this place for comfort and relaxation.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and there is a restaurant within walking distance that is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We strive to give our guests more than their money's worth. As you know, we are the same owners but with fresh new management. We are working hard to "get it right." Thanks, again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent a week at this property and found it to be a pleasant surprise. We arrived late in the afternoon and asked to see the cabin before signing in. The lodge owner who was on site was more that happy to show us the 2 cabins that were still available. Both were well furnished, very clean and decorated with with rustic furniture. The kitchens had stoves, microwaves and refrigerators all of which were spotless. We selected a 2 bedroom cabin which also had a futon which could accommodate travelers with large families. We wanted to do some hiking and perhaps a raft trip during our stay. Again the staff was very helpful not only giving us a list of options but driving instructions and their opinions on which we would find most enjoyable based on our level of experience, which was minimal. All in all this was a great value for the money.

Room Tip: While all have cable TV's and Wifi only the cabins have fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen K, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your input. We are working hard to provide a quality stay for our guests at the most reasonable price possible. It helps to know when we live up to, or exceed, our guest expectations. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atchison
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband & I have stayed at the Foothills Lodge. It was clean, quiet, & the folks there went out of there way to make us comfortable. The room was so cozy. I felt better there then in some of the bigger chains. The price was very reasonable. PEOPLE...it is just North of the Wolf Creek Ski area...you can't go wrong. I HOPE to return to the Foothills Lodge as soon as these gas prices go down. Colorado is the most beautiful state...I want to return. Thank you Foothills Lodge for such a great stay.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had a KING size bed. Very comfortable, & better then a Queen. We're me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenk1210, Owner at Foothills Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and are constantly trying to improve our guest service. Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foothills Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foothills Lodge & Cabins

Address: 0035 Silver Thread Lane, South Fork, CO 81154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > South Fork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in South Fork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Foothills Lodge & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foothills Lodge and Cabins offers stand alone log cabins, lodge style cabins and a lodge room in the heart of South Fork, an all year outdoor sports destination location near fishing, Wolf Creek Ski Area, hiking, biking, Gold Medal fishing, ATVing, snowmobiling, snowshoeing and all the outdoor sports! Rafting, hot springs and Sand Dunes National Park a short drive from our location. NEW BEDS and many recent upgrades. FREE use of snowshoes, sleds, inflatable kayaks. Our location is back off of Highway 160,a much quieter location than most lodging properties in town. Amenities include free WIFI, flat screen TV, full kitchens in all log cabins and lodge cabins. Central hot tub, complimentary snowshoes, sleds. Offering ski packages saving $5 on all day adult ski tickets for our guests up at Wolf Creek Ski Area. Choose from one or two bedrooms, pet or non pet, fireplace or standard accommodations, more economical lodge cabins (4 to a building) or stand alone log cabins. Cabins accommodate 1-10 depending on your choice of accommodations. In South Fork, the closest town to Wolf Creek Ski Area. Plenty of parking for all your outdoor toys. Many of our guests have been staying with us over 30 years. We would love to add you to our list of return guests! Stay in a fully equipped cabin at the price of a local motel room. You'll understand why our guests return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Foothills Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foothills Lodge & Cabins Colorado/South Fork

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foothills Lodge & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.