We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumb Management that doesn't get it...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Snowmass Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Snowmass Resort to your Saves list
The Westin Snowmass Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly The Silvertree Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Snowmass Village
miami
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dumb Management that doesn't get it...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Yes, we booked on Hotwire, yes I know what that entails. Problem is the place is at about a 15 percent occupant rate at the moment yet they still made sure they stuck our two couples in the worst possible location of the hotel. Let me explain something to you, this hotel has some rooms that are no where near the entrance and only accessible via two elevators and then a maze to get to the back corner. Unless you are paying their premium rate you are in deep trouble and your stay will not be enjoyable. With a bare bones occupancy most hotels will be smart enough to try and earn your return. I would not recommend staying here...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you toad1212 for your feedback about your experience at our resort. The Westin Snowmass Resort is a property that was transitioned last year from another hotel. Due to our unique slopeside location on the mountain we do have rooms that require a longer distance for our guests to travel to get to. During lower occupancy days we attempt to keep our guests in the main wing of the building; however, over the last couple of weeks there have been many days when our property has exceeded 50% in occupancy, which will be the case for most of the Summer. We would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns with the service you received in more detail. Please feel free to email me at TripAdvisor.03730@westin.com at your earliest convenience. Again, thank you for the feedback you have provided for us and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    94
    45
    30
    17
See reviews for
109
114
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Spent our anniversary weekend at the Westin in Snowmass. Great location. Nicely remodeled. Close to Aspen but out of the way and out of the main summer Aspen traffic. Nice pool, hot-tub. Only negative is the hotel is a funky "L" shape. Getting to our 8th floor room required 3 elevators and walking the length of the hotel every time, which was very hard for my wife who is handicapped. Funny, but even the bellman with our bags couldn't find our room. And although the main part of the hotel faces out over Snowmass mountain, the L shape put the last wing where we stayed with little to no view. That was disappointing. Staff never mentioned this. Also room service wanted to clean our room at 9am Saturday when we were getting ready to shower. Asked then to come back in 45 minutes and they never did.

Room Tip: avoid floors 6 to 8. Takes 2 elevators to get to 6-7 and 3 elevators to get to 8th floor. Make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for writing a TripAdvisor review after your recent stay at The Westin Snowmass Resort. We are pleased to hear that you chose the Westin to celebrate your anniversary and that you liked the remodel and proximity to Aspen. We are trying to clearly communicate the location of rooms and offer to move guests to the main part of the building when occupancy allows. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the future and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel sits at the top of the mountain and offers wonderful views. The lobby is just lovely with the huge fireplace wall of windows.

I was paying a discounted corporate rate and I am not a premium Starwood member. So I'm pretty sure my room was the "low-end" offered by the hotel.

That being said: My room was perfect. It was spotless, tastefully decorated, with a balcony overlooking Snowmass Village. The lights are kind of funky because you have to use your key card to make them work. (Hard to explain...you'll understand when you get there.)

But most of all, I loved the staff. They were so nice.

The gentleman who greeted us when we first drove up was very helpful. He got our bags and brought them to the front desk.

I turned my back to get my wallet and give him a tip and he was gone. I mean...he was gone. He literally left.

He just deposited the bags and walked away...like helping me with my bags was his job.

When was the last time that EVER happened to you at a hotel????

And, keep in mind...I tip. I understand tipping. By the way, if I see him again...I will tip him heavily. Dude, you're awesome.

Westin: Give that man a raise. Or a promotion. Or something in customer service for goodness sakes.

But wait! There's more.

The gentleman at the front desk sped through the check in process and when we mentioned that we were starving he explained the restaurant was closing in 45 minutes (it's off-off-off season).

To make matters worse, we learned that nothing else was opened except a restaurant down the road...which would require getting back in our car.

Ugh. We groaned because we had been driving for hours and were starving.

Instead of giving the usual "sucks to be you" front desk shrug...he offered to watch our bags while we go to the restaurant for dinner before it closes. He then proceeded to take personal responsibility for our luggage so we could grab dinner before the restaurant closed.

Who does that?

The Westin Snowmass...that's who.

Stay at this hotel. The hotel is lovely. The rooms are tasteful. But the staff. Oh my! The staff makes the difference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed the newly renovated Westin Snowmass Resort, but most of all, we are so pleased to hear that you were so impressed by our fantastic associates. They truly strive to provide the best experience possible for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back often – You’ll have to come back in the summer when long days playing in the mountains are followed by outdoor concerts right on the slopes outside the Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Westin Snowmass renovation is beautiful and the staff did a great job during a recent meeting I attended there. Their food and beverage, from room service to closing reception for our meeting, was fabulous. The front door, front desk, bell desk & ski valet were all top notch. Love the new rooms and spa. Bravo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a beautiful late season stay at the Westin Snowmass and enjoyed everything there was to offer in the snowmass village. The hotel was a bit on the expensive side, but had nice facilities and a top notch ski valet service. Snowmass village was right on the bus route to go into Aspen (20-25 minute free bus ride), and the village itself had plenty to offer in terms of food and apres ski.

Room Tip: Slope side rooms have a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Westin and everything that Snowmass Village has to offer. We hope to welcome you back in the summer when there are wonderful concerts right on the slopes, and the hiking and biking can’t be beat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was in Snowmass attending a conference, adjacent to the Westin. The Westin was the group hotel and they offered a very reasonably rate for attendees. The staff went above and beyond in every aspect of my trip. I travel a lot for work and never have a hotel and staff impressed me as much as this property. I stayed at this property before the renovations and it needed to be updated. I liked the new décor and lobby area. I traveled during the end of ski season yet all staff was fresh and personably. The property is conveniently located in the village with easy access to the slopes, shopping and restaurants.
I would highly recommend this property to coworkers, family and friends

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We’re especially pleased to hear that you were impressed by the service you received from our associates. It was a fantastic ski season, and we really ended it on a high note with two very exciting groups. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Westin during the X Games in January, 2013. The hotel was experiencing significant growing pains. The food quality and service was poor (one off us got quite sick; cannot say for certain whether it was the food). The Lobby is quite loud but attractive. The rooms were clean and the house keeping staff was very good. The Bell staff was great. Two people stood out. Kevin OB, our driver was great. He got us to the airport inspite of a bad traffic jam and we made our flight. Bernard, at the front desk, was also great. He understood the problems that we experienced and he made amends.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. I apologize for your disappointment with the food quality and service and have passed on your concerns to the Food and Beverage Leadership Team. Thank you for recognizing the hard work done by the housekeeping team: As X Games is definitely one of the busiest weeks of the year for us, they work especially hard to keep the hotel looking beautiful during that time. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to Kevin and Bernard, and we hope to welcome you back when X Games returns in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Snowmass Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Snowmass Resort

Address: 100 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly The Silvertree Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
#4 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Snowmass Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Snowmass Village, the Westin Snowmass Resort offers guests ski-in/ski-out access to Snowmass Mountain, which has more trails than any other mountain in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Snowmass Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village
The Silvertree Hotel And Conference Center
Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Snowmass Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.