We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Snowmass Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Snowmass Resort to your Saves list
The Westin Snowmass Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly The Silvertree Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nicely updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The renovation was definitely needed from Silvertree and for the most part, the updates were nicely done. Our room was nothing fancy and relatively basic but very clean. The staff, for the most part, were very helpful and friendly. The trip was for a meeting and overall, the experience was very positive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    93
    44
    30
    17
See reviews for
108
112
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I really liked this resort. One of the best I have been to. The mountain was great. Deep base, but I missed the powder witch is uncontrollable. Rooms looked brand new. Very clean. Service was great. A cocktail waitress by the name of Heather was really plesent every time I went into the Vue witch was the lobby bar. I would recommend this hotel to any one who wants a ski in ski out top notch all around expereance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass on your compliments to Heather – We’re lucky to have her on the team. Please keep us in mind for summer vacations as well – when we go from a ski-in, ski-out hotel to a “hike-in, hike-out” hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you like to ski this is the place to be. You are almost on the trail. You pick up the skis in the storage place and walk 10 yards and you are on the trail. Location is perfect. The rooms and bathroom are very nice and comfortable. The only con is that depending where your room is that you will have to walk quite a bit from the elevator to your room and even one of our friends have to get two elevators to his. You are so comfortable in this place that you will not go to the other mountains.

Room Tip: Ask how far the room is from the main elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are so excited to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Snowmass Resort. Snowmass is truly the best ski area around, and we are lucky to be sitting right on the slopes. –Though it does make it necessary for that second elevator to get to the rooms that are further up the mountain. We hope that we will see you again for many more ski trips in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel when it was the Silvertree. It was definitely in need of an update, so we expected good things. Our conference negotiated a set rate. I reserved 7/2012, spoke to ***, discussed rooms, booked for $295 per nite. Just before leaving for Snowmass, I checked the website: facility fee! Charging for internet, van ride, exercise room, ski valet, all the stuff that used to be free (except for the internet), now is $25 x7 nights = 175 extra, not included in $295/night. We get there, and our rate is quoted at $325 a night. Doesn't matter that I told them I talked to *** and booked at $295. Smoke and mirrors: the resort fee was "included" in the $325. Seems to me that $295 plus $25 is $320. We received a mysterious upgrade, which became clear when we realized they were not honoring the rate I booked it at. (They never sent a confirmation email, which I totally missed. Never again.)

Room was on the floor we wanted. It was also right next to a massive bank of mechanicals next to the slope. Heat and fans on 24/7. Not restful. The room was very nicely done. Good TV, beautiful decor. But they did not replace the sink, the bathtub, or the toilet (which in the old Silvertree never worked all that well in the first place. Imagine standing there, praying for the flush to get rid of...you know. Every time.)

The Vue bar was overpriced. Much better use of space than the old Conservatory, but we didn't go back after the first meal. Snowmass Kitchen was excellent, some of the best dining in Snowmass the first time, food wasn't warm enough the second time. Fun wine list.

Ski valets have yet to be taught customer service. They wanted us to leave our skis on the racks outside of the the door. No one is guarding them. I didn't want to do that. They gave me grief every single day. I finally asked the valet what would happen if my skis were stolen. He could not give me an answer that remotely resembled that the hotel would be responsible for replacing them. On the last two days, we gave up and just brought our skis upstairs. Who wants to run a ski valet gauntlet trying to get them to a safe spot?

Ran into the same issues with the 'green' program. Despite asking for Starwood points, we got the $5 voucher under our door each day, and had to turn that in at the desk. The day they were supposed to service our room, they didn't. Had to remind them.

We were delayed in our departure for a day. The hotel graciously honored the $325 rate for the extra night.

All in all, I don't think we will be back. The condos are far cheaper, just as convenient. We tried to talk to the manager while we were there. My husband spoke with him for about two minutes (by phone, despite the fact that we asked to speak to him in person). My husband said he offered no input, and did not appear interested in our feedback.

Room Tip: I'd say slopeside, but it is more expensive, and potentially noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin Snowmass Resort. Your detailed input is invaluable in our continued efforts to provide exceptional guest service. I have discussed your comments with the appropriate department heads, and we will make every effort to address your concerns. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the new décor and the new Snowmass Kitchen. The Resort Service Charge is $25/night during ski season, and it covers shuttle service to the Aspen Airport, in-room internet, ski valet storage, and local & 800 phone calls. Guests are able to opt-out of the charge and pay a la carte for individual services if they prefer. (The Westin Workout room is always a courtesy for our guests to use and is not part of the resort charge.) Thank you again for taking the time to post a review, and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future as a special guest and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Westin Snowmass Resort wants to be a 4 or 5 star hotel but falls somewhat short of the goal. The rooms are adequate but small even on the slope side; I guess they plan for guest only to sleep there. Do not bring a lot luggage, storage is tight. Rooms are clean. The walls are thin and you hear everyone and everything going on in the hall from the maids to running children. The lobby is great, and the fireplace is fascinating.
The hotel concierge was excellent and very knowledgeable. The spa was small, but the masseuse was well trained and does great work. Bar service at the hotel is very slow and every glass is wiped dry with the same bar towel, not to hygienic. The outdoor pool and hot tubs are great but of course will be noisy. I did observe one day for the entire day the pool staff did not remove the pool cover completely making a hazard for an adult and certainly a child to swim under the cover a possibly become panicked and not know how to get out. The pool cover should be completely retracted every day the pool is in use to avoid accidents.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you were impressed by our top-notch concierge team and our talented massage therapists. We truly appreciate all of your feedback and suggestions as it will help us to improve our services for you and future guests. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Snowmass Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here in January, shortly after they opened with new management. The hotel is beautiful with many amenities but just have a few kinks that need to straightened out. Things like having the room made up while you are away skiing .No one wants their room made at 5 p.m. or later when you are back and want to relax before dinner. The food service was very slow for breakfast. Also, we had pre-paid for breakfast when we made our reservation on-line, but no one, not even the manager knew about it. The hot tubs were too cold. The manager was getting flocked with various complaints from guests but still very nice about trying to accommodate us as best as possible. The whole staff was helpful and trying their best. I was given a free night's stay for all our trouble which was greatly appreciated. Once they straighten things out, this can be an awesome 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We have been listening to our guests’ feedback, and we have been working hard to provide the exceptional service that is expected. I am glad to hear that the manager was able to address your concerns while you were here, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had a great time here at the hotel. We did pay extra for a slope view and it was well worth it. The rooms were comfortable though they lacked a few things like a wine opener and shower caps, but overall comfortable.
The service in the bar area was lacking, it took a long time to get service if you were sitting in the fire area. Unfortunately the Snowmass Kitchen was very poor, I know they have good reviews too, perhaps it was an off night.
If you are coming in the summer you will be disappointed by the size of the balcony, we didn't use it of course, but if you go in the summer they are tiny. One 4 leg chair and enough for another person to stand.
You can't beat the location for skiing, the valets were helpful and we never had to wait long to get our skis. Also the mountain was great too; we were skiing with an 8 yr old so its perfect for kids, lots of long blue runs if you are into that!
Would I return here? Maybe as you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Snowmass Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Snowmass Resort

Address: 100 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly The Silvertree Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Snowmass Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Snowmass Village, the Westin Snowmass Resort offers guests ski-in/ski-out access to Snowmass Mountain, which has more trails than any other mountain in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Snowmass Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silvertree Hotel And Conference Center
The Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village
Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Snowmass Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.