We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Resort Get-a-Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Snowmass Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Snowmass Resort to your Saves list
The Westin Snowmass Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly The Silvertree Hotel & Conference Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Snowmass Village
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Resort Get-a-Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Westin Snowmass offered the perfect get-a-way, the property looks incredible tucked up in the mountains (ski in/out) at most locations around the hotel. The staff was eager to assist with our requests and kudos to the housekeeping team for keeping things extremely clean and tidy all week. Also, It was a great surprise to find Starbucks right in the center of everything, and you can charge to your room, so convienent. Overall a great vacation, thanks Westin Snowmass.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side offer incredible views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
-And thank you for such a fantastic review! We are delighted that you had such a wonderful vacation and that we were even able to surprise you with our new (and much loved) Starbucks. We look forward to welcoming you back to Snowmass for many more getaways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    95
    45
    30
    17
See reviews for
110
114
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

All in all we were impressed with the renovations by Westin of this older property. Our room was very comfortable and remarkably quiet as it was far from the front desk (room #893). The hot tub was much appreciated after a long day on the slopes. Getting there was a trek but wearing the bathrobes kept us warm and cozy. Issues: housekeeping was slow and unreliable. Westin has an "opt out" green program to conserve water and energy which we applaud but our room was forgotten for a couple of days and we had to call for housekeeping service. What we wanted was cleaning every other day which was not communicated to the staff. Even when they did clean, attention to detail was lacking. We also tired from seeing room service food trays throughout the hallways all day and night. The lobby bar needs to work on their overpriced and limited wine list but the bar food was very good. Order the mussels and crème brulée for a treat. All in all though these were minor disappointments during our otherwise great ski vacation.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden81615, Guest Experience Team at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Westin Snowmass Resort and for taking the time to provide feedback –not just on what went well but also on things that we can strive to improve upon. I have passed along your concerns to the housekeeping department. We hope to welcome you back in the future and provide you with service at the same level as our mussels and crème brulee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just completed a 6 night stay at the Westin. Reviews have been a little mixed so wasn't quite sure what to expect. Overall it was outstanding.

Location: couldn't be better. Right on the mountain. Ski concierge on bottom floor just off elevator. Plenty of help there, never any wait. Bring your skis/boots to you and take your shoes. Have to walk all of 30 feet or so to be on the slopes. Ski down to the Village Express lift or the Elk Camp Gondola. Never had a line during the entire trip. Also, part of the Snowmass Village Mall and a Gondola ride down to the Village. Short walk to shuttle to Aspen.

Hotel: Wendy has been mentioned before. Lucky enough to have her at check-in. Mentioned we really wanted a quiet location in hotel. She set us up in the area serviced by the South elevator, good walk from the front lobby. In area of rooms 888 to 898 Perfect. Top floor, overlooks slopes but set back. Didn't hear a sound from other guests even though rooms were occupied. Didn't mind walk at all. Many previous comments about the elevators being slow but hotel must have responded. Main elevator always quick to come. Usually took stairs from 5th to 8th floor but South elevator was always available quickly also.

Rooms: typical Westin, clean, nice bed/pillows/sheets. No tub in most rooms (apparently only in some double queen bedded rooms). Large 47 inch TV. No DVD player in room (we bring our own). Shower adequate. Single sink. Small refrigerator. Plenty of storage space for clothes. Large in room safe. Large desk area. Totally quiet heating system. Plenty of hot water. Main negative: no reading lights. Well, there were these strange cubes imbedded into the headboards which you could rotate out. Had a high intensity light. But, you would need to be imprinted into the headboard to use them. Very strange. Kept thinking they must extend or rotate but they didn't. Don't understand hotels that don't take into account people who might want to read in bed, especially when room is not equipped with a lot of space to sit and read.

Housekeeping: no problem here. Always had room cleaned while we were out and did a very good job. Plenty of towels, products, plastic glasses, free H2O.

Facilities: previous comments re Hot tubs not being hot enough. Again, seemed to have responded to these criticisms as they were quite appropriate. Two hot tubs available, one large pool. Always plenty of towels available. Water clean.

People friendly and helpful. Papers not delivered to room. Had USA Today and local papers laid out in lobby. They have NY Times and Wall Street Journal available but held behind front desk for first come first serve. Apparently not all staff know this as on a couple occasions asked for the papers and were told they don't carry them. Other staff came by to correct them. Up to about 11 AM, were always available.

Room Tip: If interested in quiet, ask for rooms serviced by South elevator, ideally 8th floor. No one above yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim J, Director of Sales at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. We have been working hard to make improvements to our services and facilities as we learn of challenges in our inaugural year. Glad to hear we have been making the improvements in your opinion. The feedback from our guests is paramount as we continue to focus on providing a quality Westin experience. We will pass along your feedback on improvements we can make to the appropriate departments. Thank you for visiting The Westin Snowmass. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Snowmass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I recently took a trip Snowmas to ski with my sister and father. We chose the Westin for it's proximity to everything in Snowmas, and it really was great. The mountain was great for intermediate skiiers and the hotel accommodations - ski valet, ability to purchase our lift tickets and have them delivered to our room before we arrived was great. The rooms however were a bit small and the balconies TINY (you couldn't fit more than one person out there at a time).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim J, Director of Sales at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Westin Snowmass. We've had some good snow lately, so the spring skiing is great! Come check out Snowmass in the summer too. Beautiful evironment, lots of activities and great music and culinary events in the area all summer long. Next time, if you desire a little more space you should consider our One Bedroom or Two Bedroom suites. Much larger units with parlor areas separate from the private bedrooms. Enjoy the spring and summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A nice hotel which is well placed for on snow skiing.The horrifying incident was when our 11yo child got separated from us with skiing. He intelligently went straight to the hotel to enable the staff to contact us. Unfortunately as Australians (despite paying $3,500 for staying there 12 days), they would not contact me to let me know my child was safe ($1.00 text)-international calling. I spent an hour speeding down runs to find my child with pure horror. Eventually I hoped to find him there at the hotel and was lucky to find him...no thanks to The Westin. Unfortunately I feel completely disgusted as an international client that there was no facility to look after international clients.at all.....my cellphone was on but they failed to look after an eleven year old boy who was separated from his family. If he was an American child they would have immediately contacted the parents....however the $1.00 text of safety daunted them.Obviously the Westin needs to wise up to the fact that us internationals are discriminated against. I will never forget the trauma of my child missing and the hotel refusing on his request to contact me.Ironically if he was an American child they would have rung. This is so disgusting on so many levels and I hope someone from the hotel responds....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim J, Director of Sales at The Westin Snowmass Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm incredibly sorry to hear about you and your son being disconnected on the mountain. I have personally been in the same position with my son and know it can be scary. Fortunately he was intuative enough to go to the hotel. I'm surprised to hear that our staff would not contact you. I would expect that any of our management team would have contacted you if they had the correct number. I will be happy to research this for you further if you'd like me to do so. Please email me the details on who your son contacted when he arrived at the hotel and I will be happy to research further. It is our goal to provide superior service to our guests at all times and I certainly want to make sure there is a process in place to do so. Please contact me personally if you wish to do so. tim.johnson@westin.com. Tim Johnson - Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here with another couple the 3rd weekend in Feb. We had an awesome time. The staff at the Westin were great from the time we arrived to the time we had to leave. Great ski in location and the Westin had everything we needed. We will be back!

Room Tip: The closer to the lobby, the better or close to the exit to the jacuzzi or pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pittsburg, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The entire Westin Snowmass experience, from our pick up at the airport to the quality and comfort of the rooms, to the slopeside access and quality food, was excellent. I notice that much mention has been made on this site regarding the recent remodel but no aspect of this hotel said 'flashy and trendy'... every aspect of this hotel, from the room styling I remember in Alps ski chalets when I was young, to the gathering place feel of the lobby, was exactly as timeless as a ski hotel should be. Nothing and no one gets in the way of your ski experience at the Westin. Comfortable rooms,Great food Great skiing. Great personal service Great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Snowmass Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Snowmass Resort

Address: 100 Elbert Lane, Snowmass Village, CO 81615 (Formerly The Silvertree Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Snowmass Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in Snowmass Village
#4 Family Hotel in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Snowmass Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Snowmass Village, the Westin Snowmass Resort offers guests ski-in/ski-out access to Snowmass Mountain, which has more trails than any other mountain in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Snowmass Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village
The Silvertree Hotel And Conference Center
Silvertree Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Snowmass Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.