We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Ski In/Out, Great Condo, Nice Staff, Use the Shuttle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass to your Saves list
Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   855 Carriageway, Snowmass Village, CO 81615   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“True Ski In/Out, Great Condo, Nice Staff, Use the Shuttle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were lucky because our room was one of the ones pictured. The 3 bedrooms are literally feet from the ski slope. We paid for a premier room (or gold) and that is what we got. Upgraded appliances, countertops, good furniture etc. We'd definitely visit again. We were on the ground floor and could walk from our patio aprox. 20 steps up a tiny hill and were standing on the slope. Daily maid service was a treat as that is not common in a condo rental. Staff very helpful and polite. The shuttle worked perfectly for us and I would recommend NOT renting a car. Simply not needed, we used the shuttle a dozen times. If you are really into hot tubs, that was not so ideal and we only used it once, it was empty, but it's across the street and really too far if it's cold. This didn't matter to us. Only thing I could complain about is that the mechanicals (heat, water) were very loud, clearly an old building. Our unit was remodeled and seemed modern, but it couldn't alter the old systems in the building. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    32
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
63
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We spent 5 nights slope side in a "silver" 2-BR unit, second floor and I am still puzzled by the many raving reviews. Wondering about the bronze units' features if our $600.00/night stay was considered an upgrade. The unit was very dark, bedroom blinds need to stay closed since the windows go out on the floor everybody walking by

Pros: great ski-in/out location, fast service (when required), free shuttle, remodeled kitchen/ bath

Cons: dated buildings from 70's, dark/ poor lighting, outdated furniture and carpet, problems with old outdated heating system, drain in master shower was plugged with hair from the previous guest (gross!!), some furniture covered in dust, several light bulbs burnt out, lounge chair broken, spotty to non-existing Wifi, Jacuzzi/hot tub /gym old and gross (carpet probably still from 70s), lobby area basic

While I am aware of Snowmass/Aspen's price level, it should not be listed as luxury - this is clearly misleading....... If you look for a moderate condo in a convenient location this might be for you

On a positive note, the location is good and all service calls were attended to promptly

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audrey K, Manager at Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with Destination Resorts Snowmass at the Top of the Village during your recent visit to Snowmass Village. We recognize there are a multitude of lodging options in Snowmass and appreciate your business. We have read your review and are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, as we strive to provide an enjoyable stay for everyone. We have discussed the items that you brought up in your review with our management team and are in the process of correcting the issues. Housekeeping has been apprised of the overlooked items and we will ensure our housekeeping supervisors inspect these areas more thoroughly in the future. We are also in contact with the owners of the condo in question and sharing your suggestions. The owners take pride in their condominums and are always open to thoughts on how to improve them. We know this does not change your experience but we hope that you can feel confident that we are addressing it with our team. Also, please keep in mind prior to your next stay that we do offer "premier' units as well, which typically provide for a more luxurious experience than those of our deluxe condominiums. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do hope that you give us another opportunity in the future to improve upon your past experience.
Sincerely, Audrey Krill, Assistant General Manager, Top of the Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This accommodation was fabulous. We had 3 families staying in 3 different condo's in Top of the Village. They were all different and had pros and cons. Some had ski in/out access from the balcony, others from the lift. Some where equipped for cooks who like to entertain in a homely environment, others those that like to eat out and eat in less..... we were lucky that ours all fitted the people in them well! We had Gold or premium level rooms and didn't get to see a lower level room. They were spacious in the living area and bedrooms, nothing more than that. Not a lot of storage for your suitcases, but they are serviced daily and they run an AMAZING shuttle service all over the town which you call and they will say "be there in 2 minutes" or "be there in 6 minutes... never had to wait more than 9 minutes and usually it was about 4... so fabulous.
Our family was 2 adults and 2 kids... and it worked perfectly. There are no drying rooms as such... we just left our skii's outside (we could have bought them to the room, but it wasn't a problem).... we put our ski boots by the heater every night and they were fine, but a drying room would have been better.
There is no "starter pack" of tea, coffee, sugar etc in the rooms.
We used www.skicountrygrocer.com who delivered our groceries and unpacked them for us on arrival... totally recommend it... fruit and veg were good quality to.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in SUMMIT - if you want to be the closest to the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Since this is our 8th time coming to Aspen, staying at Snowmass, I can tell you this is the very best condo for ski in ski out. no car needed, no packing up in the morning, kids come back when they want to. Ski right back to the elevator and go to your room. all rooms have a fireplace and well equipped. Most units are updated with granite new appliances, etc. The units are older probably about 30 years old but again the units are updated. The staff is excellent, they can get you anything. Great wireless. great bus shuttle, you call, they come. we have stayed at almost every ski area in North America and this place is great. Aspen has more great restaurants then any ski town. Keep your eyes peeled for celebrities if your into that kid of thing.

Room Tip: ask for on the point, its those units that are right on the trail for best views at night. Try book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Top of the Village in Snowmass

Positives

Ski in ski out
Laundry in condo
Assigned and covered parking a big plus
Quick response to requests
Gas fireplace in great room
Great view of slopes
Elevator to upper levels rather than steps

Negatives

All destinations are a car, taxi, or shuttle ride away
Minimal cleaning done
Need of a remodel
Hot and cold spots throughout the condo made some rooms uncomfortably hot while others were cold
Intermittent Internet coverage in condo
Need additional room humidifiers
Usual welcome basket with sugar, coffee, tea, etc. was not provided

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough great things about Top of the Village Condos. We stayed here from Dec 19 - Dec 26 and everything was marvelous! We stayed in Slope 210, a 4 bedroom silver-rated condo. The condo was clean and comfortable with TVs in every room. The kitchen was well-stocked and the location of the condo was perfect. It was directly across from the Gatehouse where the outdoor pool and hot tubs are located. The front desk was extremely helpful and the on-call shuttle was invaluable. You just call them and they are there within a few minutes to take you wherever you want to go. I highly recommend these condos for a perfect place to stay in Snowmass.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

i was really surprised at the quality and space of the condo we got last minute. i booked the night before on labor day wknd and got a great rate and a very nice 2bdrm condo. there was one spot for parking for us. we were on the 3rd floor directly across from check in building.
I was expecting old and shabby but everything seemed remodeled and the furnishings were all great quality. We were there only for one night so didnt get to fully experience all the facilities but this would be a great ski in ski out during the winter!
will definitely be returning for winter trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass

Address: 855 Carriageway, Snowmass Village, CO 81615
Location: United States > Colorado > Snowmass Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Snowmass Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering ski in/out convenience and impeccable slopeside views, top of The Village provides the ultimate accommodations for a winter vacation. Located at the top of Snowmass Village and surrounded on three sides by forests and mountains, Top of the Village condominiums reigns as one of the most prestigious ski-in, ski-out lodging options in Aspen/Snowmass. Top of the Village offers some of the largest accommodations in Snowmass with many of the amenities of a fine Colorado resort hotel, including full-service front desk with concierge services, over-night ski tuning and pre-arrival luggage storage. With an extensive network of trails directly outside your door, you can literally ski right onto the slopes in the winter and hike and bike the same trails all summer long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Of The Village Condominiums Hotel Snowmass Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top of the Village Condominiums by Destination Resorts Snowmass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.